Content Editor 
UPDATED 06/11/2021 (ORIGINALLY POSTED: 05/17/2021) - BPOA has received many questions from licensed professionals about what happens to licensing waivers if the COVID-19 emergency disaster declaration is ended. With the Governor's signing of HB 854 (now Act 21 of 2021), licensing waivers will remain active until September 30, 2021, unless ended sooner. We will provide additional updates as more information becomes available.
POSTED: 05/14/2021 - On 5/13/21, the CDC provided guidance that fully vaccinated individuals can resume activities that they did prior to the pandemic without wearing a mask or physically distancing except where required by law, rule, and regulations, including local business and workplace guidance. Masking requirement will still be in place for unvaccinated individuals until 70 percent of Pennsylvanians age 18 and older are fully vaccinated.
For more information please read the CDC guidance and the DOH press release.
The Department's offices in the North Office Building remain closed to the public. The Department of State continues to serve the public during the COVID-19 disaster declaration.
The processing of licenses and permits for health care practitioners continues to be a priority. Please refer to www.pals.pa.gov/verify to check the status of a license or permit.
For more details visit:
If you are a member of the immigrant, refugee, or asylee community and you:
- have worked in a licensed profession or applied for a professional license in PA; OR
- moved to PA in the last 5 years.
Please help us improve the licensure process for new Pennsylvanians by taking our survey, which is available in: English, Arabic, Chinese, French, Hindi, Korean, Russian, Spanish and Vietnamese.
Updated 5/19/20: Guidance for Appraisers, Notaries, Title Companies, and Home Inspectors.pdf
Learn more about the coronavirus (COVID-19) outbreak
PSI testing closure notice
Pennsylvania Provides Limited Suspension of In-person Regulatory Requirements for Notaries for Real Estate Transactions
"Starting Monday, March 16th the front lobby will be closed to the public. For assistance, please visit www.pals.pa.gov or call Toll Free: 1-833-DOS-BPOA (1-833-367-2762)"
The Bureau of Professional and Occupational Affairs (BPOA) received reports that a person pretending to be from the State Real Estate Commission is calling licensees about the status of their license. The scammer asks for credit card information. Persons who give their credit card information may not only lose their money, but also can become a victim of identity theft.
Licensees are urged to avoid becoming a victim of credit card fraud or identity theft:
- BPOA and/or Board will NOT call licensees asking for payment over the phone.
- If you get a text message or call asking for your credit card information, hang up.
- Do NOT give your personal or financial information over the phone.
- If you feel that you are a victim of any type of scam, you should immediately notify your local or state police.
State Real Estate Commission
The Real Estate Commission grants and renews licenses to persons who bear a good reputation for honesty, trustworthiness, integrity and competence to transact the business of broker, salesperson, cemetery broker, cemetery salesperson, campground membership salesperson, time-share salesperson, builder-owner salesperson or rental listing referral agent, in such a manner as to safeguard the interest of the public.
Among its other functions, the Commission administers and enforces the laws of the Commonwealth relating to real estate activities for which licensing is required; activities involving cemeteries, cemetery companies, and promotional property for which registration is required; and campground membership activity for which licensing is required.
The Commission establishes requirements for continuing education to be met by licensed real estate brokers and real estate salespersons as a condition of license renewal. Also, any school which offers instructions in real estate must obtain the Commission’s approval and follow the rules and regulations of the Commission.
**Please note that neither the Board/Commission, nor its staff or counsel, are permitted to provide
legal advice or
advisory opinions, including
interpretations of the law or regulations, or any indication as to how the Board would vote on any given case or scenario. You are invited to contact a private attorney or professional organization for advice or guidance.**
PLEASE NOTE THAT THERE WILL BE NO GRACE PERIOD FOR RENEWALS OF ANY LICENSE OR REGISTRATION BEGINNING JANUARY 1, 2020. ANY LICENSE OR REGISTRATION THAT EXPIRES ON OR AFTER JANUARY 1, 2020 WILL BE REQUIRED TO REACTIVATE OR RE-REGISTER IF A COMPLETED RENEWAL APPLICATION HAS NOT BEEN PROPERLY SUBMITTED TO THE COMMISSION BY THE EXPIRATION DATE.