Real Estate Salespersons may be granted licensure by the standard method once they have completed and passed both portions of the Salesperson Examination. Real Estate Salespersons who have held an active salesperson license in another state within the last five years do not need to complete the General/National portion of the examination in order to be eligible for licensure in PA. However, all applicants by the standard method must contact PSI Exams prior to applying for licensure in order to register for, sit for, and pass the examination relevant to the license they seek. Please visit the Helpful Links section of this guide for the link to PSI Exams website, where you must register. Before registering for the exam, make sure you meet the education requirements.
To qualify to sit for the examinations, applicants must complete 75 hours (5 credits) of basic real estate courses from an accredited college or an approved real estate education provider in this Commonwealth. Courses must have been completed within 5 years prior to the date of successful completion of the licensing examination. You may also qualify if you received a bachelor’s degree with a major in Real Estate from an accredited college, a juris doctor degree from an accredited law school, or completed 75 hours of pre-licensure coursework in another state or other jurisdiction that was approved to meet the requirements for licensure in that state or other jurisdiction. Please read section 35.272 of the Real Estate Commission regulations for all information about educational requirements.
If you are currently licensed in another state and wish to be licensed in Pennsylvania, you must first contact PSI Exams to register to sit for the Pennsylvania State portion of the examination only. You must first meet the educational requirements outlined in section 35.272 of the Real Estate Commission regulations. Once you have passed the PA State portion of the exam, you are able to apply for licensure.
If you have never been licensed in any state or jurisdiction, you must complete the education requirements as outlined in section 35.272 of the Real Estate Commission regulations before registering for the exams. Please read the full section of the regulations for all information about educational requirements. Once you have passed both portions of the exam you may apply for licensure.
To help reduce your processing time, please note the following suggestions and information:
Prospective applicants must have an employing broker willing to certify that they will supervise and train the applicant once they are granted a license. You may not apply for a Real Estate Sales license until you have an employing broker who holds a valid PA Real Estate Broker license. Once issued, a physical copy of your license will be printed and mailed to your broker’s main office, even if you work from a branch office of the company. You may not come to the Commission’s office to pick up a copy of your license. It must be mailed to your employing broker.
The Real Estate Commission cannot pre-review application materials or qualifications. Please do not contact the Commission with questions about whether you qualify or whether you would be granted licensure under any particular circumstance, such as past criminal conviction history. You must meet the education and examination requirements and apply for the license, then submit an application with all required documentation to receive a determination as to your qualifications and eligibility for licensure.
An official state criminal history record check (CHRC) is required from your current state of residence. For applicants living, working, or completing training in Pennsylvania, your CHRC will be generated automatically as part of your application and the required fee will be included at checkout.
In addition to the background check from your current state of residence, you will need to submit official state CHRCs from every state where you have lived, worked, or completed training during the last 5 years. An FBI background check can be submitted in lieu of state checks where you previously lived, worked or trained. No record checks can be dated more than 90 days prior to the date you submit your application.