The Governor's 30-day extension of the 45-day period for appointed notaries to get sworn in and record the bond/oath/commission with the Recorder of Deeds and to register the notary signature with the Prothonotary is coming to an end.
The last day to complete the process is found IN BOLD on the appointment letter (for appointees) and the commission (for Recorders).
Appointed notaries whose last day to record is up to and including August 31, 2021 will receive the full 30-day extension until September 30, 2021. Those whose appointment letter and commission state a last day between September 1 – 29, 2021 will be the last group of appointees to get any extra time and the extra time will diminish each day (with no extension surpassing September 30). Appointed notaries whose last day to record falls on or after September 30, 2021 will no longer receive an extension. These notaries will have the normal 45-day period to get sworn in and record the bond/oath/commission with the Recorder of Deeds and to register the notary signature with the Prothonotary.
The Division of Commissions, Legislation and Notaries of the Bureau of Commissions, Elections and Legislation administers the duties imposed on the Department of State by Pennsylvania's notary public law, the Revised Uniform Law on Notarial Acts. The Division works on behalf of the Secretary of the Commonwealth to appoint, commission and regulate all notaries public in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. For over 200 years, notaries public have been officially recognized by the Commonwealth, with the power to administer oaths and affirmations, take acknowledgments, take verifications on oath or affirmation, witness or attest signatures, certify copies or depositions, and note protests of negotiable instruments. Notaries public in Pennsylvania perform acknowledgments, certifications and verifications for hundreds of thousands of important documents each year. More than 85,000 men and women hold notary public commissions in Pennsylvania.