To help reduce your processing time, please note the following suggestions and information:
State Board of Medicine applications are processed in the order they are received. Please
submit your application as soon as possible.
An official state criminal history record check (CHRC) is required from your current state of residence. For applicants living, working, or completing training in Pennsylvania, your CHRC will be generated automatically as part of your application and the required fee will be included at checkout.
- In addition to the background check from your current state of residence, you will need to submit official state CHRCs
from every state where you have lived, worked, or completed training during the last 10 years. An FBI background check can be submitted in lieu of state checks where you previously lived, worked or trained. No record checks can be dated more than 90 days prior to the date you submit your application.
You are required to complete
three hours of Board-approved continuing education on the topic of child abuse recognition and reporting. Learn more about
Approved Child Abuse CE Providers. Confirmation of the course completion must be sent directly to the Board from the education provider. When registering for a course, please be sure to indicate that you are applying for Pennsylvania licensure to ensure your confirmation is sent to the Board.
Any application that includes criminal history, disciplinary action taken in another state, malpractice complaints, etc., must be accompanied by a written explanation from you explaining the circumstances of the situation. Every page of any requested documents must be submitted; partial copies are not acceptable. This includes copies of all legal or court documents, disciplinary action from another Board, or a complete copy of a malpractice complaint filed in court.
The Board accepts the Federation Credentials Verification Service (FCVS) through the Federation of State Medical Boards to verify
medical education, post graduate training, ECFMG Certification, Verification of Fifth Pathway, and examination scores. Please note, that the FCVS must receive documents via their primary source (i.e., directly from the medical school, etc.).
If you have current ECFMG certification and ECFMG verified your medical education at the time you received certification, you DO NOT need to request the record of graduation, educational transcript, and diploma from your medical school. The verification of your medical education through ECFMG will satisfy these requirements. If ECFMG DID NOT verify your medical education at the time you received ECFMG certification, your school MUST provide these items.
By law and regulation, the Board must verify that applicants must have completed at least 1 full year of training at an approved PGY Level 1, a PGY Level 2, and PGY Level 3. For applicants still in PGY 3, the program director may not sign and date the form more than 30 days prior to the completion of the approved training.
License verifications are required from any states or jurisdictions where you hold or have ever held a health-related professional license, registration, authorization, or permit to practice. Verifications are required regardless of the current status of the license. Additionally, verifications are required for training licenses or permits.
Within a year of obtaining initial licensure, you must document completion of at least 4 hours of Board-approved education consisting of 2 hours in pain management or the identification of addiction and 2 hours in the practices of prescribing or dispensing of opioids. The Board does not approve continuing education programs but accepts continuing education programs accredited as AMA PRA Category 1, AMA PRA Category 2, and AOA Category 1A, 1B, or 2.