Skip Navigation LinksPennsylvania Department of State > Professional Licensing > Boards & Commissions > Act 31

Act 31 of 2014 Child Abuse Recognition and Reporting Continuing Education Providers

 Frequently Asked Questions (PDF)

 
All health-related licensees/certificate holders and funeral directors are considered “mandatory reporters” under section 6311 of the Child Protective Services Law (23 P.S. § 6311).  Therefore, all persons applying for issuance of an initial license or certificate from any of the health-related boards (except the State Board of Veterinary Medicine) or from the State Board of Funeral Directors are required to complete, as a condition of licensure, 3 hours of training approved by the Department of Human Services (DHS) on the topic of child abuse recognition and reporting.
 
As a condition of biennial renewal, you are required to complete 2 hours of approved training on the topic of child abuse recognition and reporting from an approved provider. If your license is close to expiration, we recommend that you check with the approved provider of your course to confirm the time-frame in which they plan to submit the results.   
 
Continuing education results must be submitted electronically from the provider.  This process can take up to seven days. If you have questions regarding the submission of the continuing education, please contact the approved provider directly before contacting the Board. 

 

For more information on the mandatory reporting requirements, please visit http://keepkidssafe.pa.gov/.
 

 

Provider Approved Number of Hours Approved for Continuing Education Credit for Professional Licensees Audience Approved to Train Method of Delivery
Pennsylvania Child Welfare Resource Center 3 Yes Mandated and Permissive Reporters Online at   www.reportabusepa.pitt.edu 
PA Family Support Alliance 3 Yes Mandated and Permissive Reporters Online - 3 hour  In-Person 3 and 6 hours available (Only 3 hours applicable)  www.pa-fsa.org
PA Dental Association 2 and 3 Yes Dental Profession In Person                                     www.padental.org/Act31andAct124
PA State Nurses Association 2 and 3 Yes Any Health Related Licensee-Initial Application or Renewal In-Person  Or 2 hour online at www.psna.org
PA Psychological Association 2 Yes Licensed Psychologists, Nurses, Physicians and Mental Health Professionals Home Study and In Person  www.papsy.org
Lehigh County Office of Children and Youth 2 and 3 Yes Mandated and Permissive Reporters In-Person  www.lehighcounty.org
J&K Seminars 3 Yes Mandated and Permissive Reporters In-Person, Live Webinar and Home Study jkseminars.com
Bala Institute of Oral Surgery 2 Yes Dental Profession and Mandated and Permissive Reporters In-Person  www.snorenet.com
PA Coalition Against Rape 2 and 3 Yes Mandated and Permissive Reporters In-Person  mandatedreporting@pcar.org
PA Chapter American Academy of Pediatrics 2 and 3 Yes Pediatric and Family Medicine Primary Care Professionals and PA Hospital Employees In-Person  www.paaap.org
Cedar Crest College 2 Yes Mandated and Permissive Reporters In-Person  www.cedarcrest.edu
Philadelphia Society of Clinical Psychologist 3 Yes Mandated and Permissive Reporters In-Person  info@philadelphiapsychology.org
Lehigh Valley Health Network 2 Yes Physicians, Nurses, Social Workers, Clergy In-Person   www.lvhn.org
Harrisburg Area Community College 2 and 3 Yes Mandated and Permissive Reporters In-Person  www.hacc.edu
Pittsburgh Institute of Mortuary Science 2 and 3 Yes New and Existing Licensees as Funeral Directors In-Person  www.pims.edu
NetCE 3 Yes Health Care Professional Seeking Licensure Home Study and   Online http://www.netce.com/pachildabusetraining          
Pennsylvania Pharmacists Association 2 Yes Pharmacists  In Person   http://www.papharmacists.com/?page+childabuse
The Practice Mechanic         3            Yes       Mandated and Permissiv Reporters  In Person   www.practicemechanic.com
 E-Learning for Therapists, Inc. 3 Yes  Medical and Behavioral health service  Online                      
Scenario Learning/Safe School 3 Yes  Online
Three Rivers Adoption Council 3 Yes Mandated and Permissive Reporters  In person  www.3riversadopt.org           
Wild Iris Medical Education Inc. 2 and 3 Yes Mandated and Permissive Reporters Online   https://wildirismedicaleducation.com
West Chester University 3 Yes Pharmacist and Registered Nurse In Person  www.wcupa.edu
OnCourse Learning 2 Yes Medical and Behavioral Health Service Fields Online  www.continuingeducation.com/
​Western Schools ​2 ​Yes ​Nursing, Dental, Behavioral Health and Allied Health Fields ​Online or self study  www.westernschools.com
​Salus University ​2 and 3 ​Yes ​PA Licensed Health Care Providers ​In Person  www.salus.edu
​Pennsylvania Medical Society ​2 and 3 ​Yes ​Physicians Online  www.pamedsoc.org
​InforMed ​3 ​Yes ​Physicians and Health Care Providers ​Self Study and Online www.child.cme.edu
​CEUFast.com Inc. ​2 and 3 ​Yes Mandated and Permissive Reporters ​Online www.CEUFast.com
Western PA Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery ​3 ​Yes Dentists, Hygienists, dental assistants and dental receptionists In Person  724-223-1579
 The Horsham Clinic  3  Yes Mandated Reporters  In Person
​ATrain Education, Inc. ​3 ​Yes ​Mandated Reporters ​On line www.atrainceu.com/course/pa-child-abuse-149
​MyFreeCE.com ​3 ​Yes ​Healthcare Professionals  http://www.myfreece.com/Applet/Course/BrowseCourse2.aspx?SiteCourseId=7506       ​Online  www.MyFreeCE.com
​The Wise DC, Inc ​2 ​Yes ​Chiropractors ​Online www.thewisedc.com
​The Field Center ​3 ​Yes All Mandated Reporters ​Online www.fieldcenteratpenn.org
​Villanova University Driscoll Hall ​3 ​Yes ​Healthcare Professionals ​Online http://www1.villanova.edu/villanova/nursing/ce/courses/ca_recog_report.html
​Pharmacist's Letter/Therapeutic Research Center ​2 ​Yes ​Pharmacists and Technicians ​ Online http://www.trchealthcare.com/
Got Your Back 2 Yes Massage Therapist 610-834-3992
Elite Professional Education LLC 2 Yes Mandated and Permissive Reporters www.pachildabusetraining.com
Millersville University 3 Yes Mandated and Permissive Reporters www.millersville.edu
Center for Excellence in Advocacy Support Center for Child Advocates 3 Yes Mandated and Permissive Reporters www.advokid.org
Medbridge 3 Yes Occupational and Physical Therapists, Speech-Language therapists, Pathologist, Audiologists and Athletic Trainers www.medbridgeed.com
PDH Academy 2 Yes Licicensed Professionals 888-564-9098
NASW, Pennsylvania Chapter 3 yes Licensed Social Workers and Mandated Reporters In Person
DHS University 2 and 3 Yes Mandated and Permissive Reporters In Person
The Wright Center 3 Yes Mandated and Permissive Reporters In Person or Online
Family Behavioral Resources 3 Yes Mental Health Field Staff In Person
Rowan University School of Osteopathic Medicine 2 Yes All Health Care Professionals www.rowan.edu/som/cme 
Healthcare Training Institute 2 Yes Mandated and Permissive Reporters Mentalhealthces@gmail.com  317-348-0121
Last Minute CEU's 2 Yes Respiratory Therapists www.lastminuteceus.com
Continued 2 Yes Mandated and Permissive Reporters  1-888-698-2913
Western PA Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery 3 Yes Dentists, Hygienists, Dental Assistants, Dental Receptionists 724-223-0579