Licensed Appraiser Trainees
Pennsylvania Licensure Requirements
79 Classroom Hours
No Examination Requirement
No Experience Requirement
28 Continuing Education Hours (when renewing license)
75.00 Initial Fee
150.00 Biennial Renewal
A person who holds a license issued under the Real Estate Appraisers Certification Act and is authorized to assist a certified residential real estate appraiser or certified general real estate appraiser in the performance of an appraisal.
79 Classroom Hours -
An applicant shall submit evidence to the Board of having completed 75 classroom hours in appraisal curriculum, and the 4 hour Trainee/Supervisor Appraiser course:
- 30 HOURS BASIC APPRAISAL PRINCIPLES
- 30 HOURS BASIC APPRAISAL PROCEDURES
- 15 HOURS NATIONAL USPAP OR EQUIVALENT
- 4 HOURS TRAINEE/SUPERVISOR APPRAISER COURSE *NOTE* SUPERVISORY APPRAISERS MUST ALSO COMPLETE THIS COURSE.
No examination requirement for licensure.
No experience requirement for licensure.
Continuing Education (when renewing license):
28 Hours - Licensed appraiser trainees shall be subject to the same continuing education requirements for licensure renewal as residential and general appraisers. Certified Pennsylvania Appraisers are required to complete 28 continuing education hours every 24 months including the National USPAP Update Course, or equivalent (7 hours) and 2 hours focusing on Real Estate Appraisers Certification Act and the Board's regulations and policies. A licensee is not required to complete continuing education if initially licensed January 1st through April 30th every odd numbered years.
Initial Licensing Fee:
Licensure Renewal Fee:
$150.00 Biennial renewal - Limitation on license renewal. An appraiser trainee license may not be biennially renewed more than four times unless the Board, for good cause shown and on a case-by-case basis, should determine that one or more additional renewals is warranted.
Licensure by Act 41:
Act 41 allows for portability of out-of-state professional licensees coming to work in Pennsylvania. Act 41 does this by granting all boards and commissions within the Commonwealth the authority to endorse licensees from other states, territories or jurisdictions (with substantially equivalent licensing requirements) who are active, in good standing and without discipline against their license or criminal conviction.