Skip Navigation LinksPennsylvania Department of State > Professional Licensing > Boards & Commissions > Medicine

State Board of Medicine

The State Board of Medicine regulates the practice of medicine through the licensure, registration and certification of members of the medical profession in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania.  The Board regulates medical doctors; physician assistants; radiology technicians; respiratory therapists; nurse-midwives; acupuncturists; practitioners of oriental medicine; perfusionists; behavioral specialists; and athletic trainers.  The Board also has authority take disciplinary or corrective action against individuals it regulates.
 
The Board periodically reviews the character of the instruction and the facilities possessed by each of the medical colleges and other medical training facilities offering or desiring to offer medical training in accordance with the laws of the Commonwealth.  The Board also reviews the facilities and qualifications of medical colleges and other medical facilities outside the Commonwealth whose trainees or graduates desire to obtain licensure, certification or graduate medical training in the Commonwealth.
 
VERIFICATION OF OPIOID EDUCATION FOR MEDICAL PHYSICIAN AND SURGEON,
MEDICAL PHYSICIAN ASSISTANT, AND LICENSED NURSE-MIDWIFE APPLICATIONS AND RENEWALS SUBMITTED AFTER JULY 1, 2017
Section 9.1(a) of ABC-MAP* requires that all prescribers or dispensers, as defined in Section 3 of ABC-MAP, applying for licensure/certification complete at least 4 hours of Board-approved education consisting of 2 hours in pain management or the identification of addiction and 2 hours in the practices of prescribing or dispensing of opioids. Medical physician and surgeons, medical physician assistants, and licensed nurse-midwives who hold prescriptive authority approval fall within ABC-MAP’s definition of prescribers or dispensers.
Requirements for initial applicants and additional prescriptive authority approvals
Medical physician and surgeons, medical physician assistants, and licensed nurse-midwives seeking prescriptive authority approval on or after July 1, 2017, must document, within one (1) year from issuance of the license or prescriptive authority approval, that they completed this education either as part of their professional degree education program, or through a stand-alone course from a nurse-midwife advanced pharmacology course provider, authorized by § 18.6(6) of the Board’s regulations, or a continuing education course from a nurse-midwife continuing education provider, listed in § 21.334 (a) of the State Board of Nursing Board’s regulations and its completion attested to when applying for renewal. The four (4) hours of Board-approved education needs to be completed only once.
Where this education is part of the professional degree educational program, verification of completion from the Program may be included within the Verification of Medical Education (for all medical physicians), Verification of Graduation from a Physician Assistant Program (for medical physician assistants), or Verification of Advanced Pharmacology (for nurse-midwives). Where this education is part of a stand-alone Board-approved nurse-midwife advanced pharmacology course authorized by § 18.6(6) of the Board’s regulations, verification of completion from the nurse-midwife advanced pharmacology provider may be included within the Verification of Advanced Pharmacology. Where the education is completed as stand-alone opioid education, verification of completion from a nurse-midwife program, a nurse-midwife advanced pharmacology provider or a nurse-midwife continuing education provider may be documented on the Verification of Opioid Education or on a Certificate of Completion that includes the name of the course, the specific number of hours in each of the required content areas and the date completed. The Verification forms will be available on the website at www.dos.pa.gov/med.
Renewals
In order for medical physician and surgeons, medical physician assistants and nurse-midwives with prescriptive authority to renew their license or prescriptive authority approval for the next renewal period, section 9.1(a)(2) of ABC-MAP requires that they complete at least two (2) hours of continuing education in pain management, the identification of addiction or the practices of prescribing or dispensing of opioids. The continuing education requirements of ABC-MAP will count towards the total number of continuing education credits required for renewal. For physicians, this continuing education must be in AMA PRA Category 1 or 2 approved activities.  For medical physician assistants, this continuing education must be acceptable for credit by the National Commission on Certification of Physician Assistants (NCCPA).  For nurse-midwives, this continuing education must be taken from a State Board of Nursing-approved pharmacology continuing education provider listed in section 21.334 (a) of the Nursing Board’s regulations Nurse midwives with prescriptive authority need to be completed this two-hour requirement only once per renewal period, regardless of the number of prescriptive authority approvals being renewed.
*The Achieving Better Care by Monitoring All Prescriptions Program Act (ABC-MAP)(also known as Act 124 of 2016), 35 P.S. § 872.3, is available on the Legislature’s website at:
Sections 21.283(b)(1) and 21.334 (a) of the Nursing Board’s Regulations are available on the State Board of Nursing’s website at: www.dos.pa.gov/nurse.
 
Section 18.8(6) of the Medical Board’s regulations are available on the State Board of Medicine’s website at www.dos.pa.gov/med.