Content Editor 
UPDATED 06/11/2021 (ORIGINALLY POSTED: 05/17/2021) - BPOA has received many questions from licensed professionals about what happens to licensing waivers if the COVID-19 emergency disaster declaration is ended. With the Governor's signing of HB 854 (now Act 21 of 2021), licensing waivers will remain active until September 30, 2021, unless ended sooner. We will provide additional updates as more information becomes available.
State Board of Accountancy
The State Board of Accountancy regulates the practice of public accountants and certified public accountants in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. The Board’s functions include the regulation of the licensure and registration of public accountants and the licensure and certification of certified public accountants. The Board promulgates, amends and enforces requirements for continuing education and standards of professional conduct applicable to public accountants and certified public accountants.
Information on the Governor’s Plan to Reopen Pennsylvania
The plan for Pennsylvania can be found here:
More information on the full process to Reopen Pennsylvania can be found here
Learn more about the coronavirus (COVID-19) outbreak.
NASBA testing shutdown due to COVID-19 outbreak:
Exam Credit Extensions
Due to the COVID-19 emergency disaster declaration signed by the Governor on March 6, 2020, a waiver was granted of the requirement that CPA candidates must complete all parts of the CPA examination within an 18-month period. Candidates whose exam credits expire during the time of the emergency declaration will be granted an extension which lasts for the duration of the emergency plus an additional 180 days from the end of the emergency. This exam credit extension replaces the 90 day extension that was recently granted to CPA candidates by way of letter from the Board.
The Bureau of Professional and Occupational Affairs (BPOA) received reports that a person pretending to be from the State Board of Accountancy (Board) is calling licensees about the status of their license. The scammer asks for credit card information. Persons who give their credit card information may not only lose their money, but also can become a victim of identity theft.
Licensees are urged to avoid becoming a victim of credit card fraud or identity theft:
- BPOA and/or Board will NOT call licensees asking for payment over the phone.
- If you get a text message or call asking for your credit card information, hang up.
- Do NOT give your personal or financial information over the phone.
- If you feel that you are a victim of any type of scam, you should immediately notify your local or state police.
Please note that neither
the Board/Commission, nor its staff or counsel, are permitted to provide legal
advice or advisory opinions, including interpretations of the
law or regulations, or any indication as to how the Board would vote on any
given case or scenario. You are invited to contact a private attorney or
professional organization for advice or guidance.