# MEMORANDUM

# November 16, 2022

То:	Mercer County Board of Elections
From:	Thad Hall, Elections Director
Subject:	Two-Percent Election Audit

On Tuesday, November 15, 2022, the two (2) percent audit of ballots cast in the 2022 General Election was conducted.

## Precincts Selected for Auditing

Election Day ballots in six (6) precincts were randomly selected for the audit, with the Democratic Party selecting three (3) precincts and the Republican Party selecting three (3) precincts. The precincts were selected in the following order:

- 1. Pymatuning Township 1
- 2. Sharon 2-2
- 3. Farrell 2-3
- 4. Jackson Center Borough
- 5. Farrell 1-3
- 6. East Lackawannock Township

East Lackawannock Township was not counted because the two (2) percent threshold was satisfied with the first five (5) precincts. The total number of Election Day ballots in the five (5) precincts audited equal 2.9 percent of the ballots cast in the 2022 General Election.

#### Audit Teams

The audit was conducted by bipartisan teams of individuals appointed by the political parties, with each party appointing four (4) individuals. The teams are listed below.

Democratic Party	Republican Party
Tom Moore	Bud Jennings
Beverly Graham	Jean Gilliland
Ron Monaco	Kathy Mondak
Deborah Fischer	Donna Laver

#### Audit Method

The audit was a hand count of each precinct, with each race counting using a stacking method. For each race, the team members reviewed the candidate choice on the ballot and sorted the ballots it into piles. There was one (1) pile for each candidate. After the sorting process was complete, the team members counted each pile into stacks of 10, with the remainder on top. One team member entered the number of ballots in each stack onto the Audit Tally Sheet.

An election office staff person checked the hand count totals against the unofficial election results for that precinct. If a discrepancy was identified, the team re-counted the race to determine the issue.

#### Results

The audit involved the hand counting a total of 1,321 ballots. For every precinct, the hand count results matched the results of ballots scanned at the precinct on Election Day. The tally results for each precinct is attached.

# Precinct: Farrell 1-3

RACE	HAND COUNT	MACHINE COUNT
U.S. SENATOR		
JOHN FETTERMAN	125	125
MEHMET OZ	33	33
ERIK GERHARDT	3	3
RICHARD L WEISS	1	1
DANIEL WASSMER	3	3
GOVERNOR		
JOSH SHAPIRO	127	127
DOUGLAS V MASTRIANO	34	34
MATT HACKENBURG	0	0
CHRISTINA DIGIULIO	2	2
JOE SOLOSKI	1	1
US REPRESENTATIVE IN CONGRESS		
DAN PASTORE	124	124
MIKE KELLY	39	39
SENATOR, District 50		
RIANNA CZECH	107	107
MICHELE BROOKS	55	55
REPRESENTATIVE, District 7		
TIMOTHY M MCGONIGLE	132	132
PARKE WENTLING	33	33
REPRESENTATIVE, District 17		
TIM BONNER	Not Applicable	Not Applicable

TEAM MEMBERS:

Bud Jennings (R)

Tom Moore (D)

# Precinct: Farrell 2-3

RACE	HAND COUNT	MACHINE COUNT
U.S. SENATOR		
JOHN FETTERMAN	187	187
MEHMET OZ	62	62
ERIK GERHARDT	5	5
RICHARD L WEISS	0	0
DANIEL WASSMER	2	2
GOVERNOR		
JOSH SHAPIRO	188	188
DOUGLAS V MASTRIANO	62	62
MATT HACKENBURG	2	2
CHRISTINA DIGIULIO	1	1
JOE SOLOSKI	3	3
US REPRESENTATIVE IN CONGRESS		
DAN PASTORE	172	172
MIKE KELLY	77	77
SENATOR, District 50		
RIANNA CZECH	161	161
MICHELE BROOKS	86	86
REPRESENTATIVE, District 7		
TIMOTHY M MCGONIGLE	193	193
PARKE WENTLING	61	61
REPRESENTATIVE, District 17		
TIM BONNER	Not Applicable	Not Applicable

TEAM MEMBERS:

Jean Gilliland (R)

Beverly Graham (D)

# Precinct: Jackson Center Borough

RACE	HAND COUNT	MACHINE COUNT
U.S. SENATOR		
JOHN FETTERMAN	33	33
MEHMET OZ	42	42
ERIK GERHARDT	2	2
RICHARD L WEISS	0	0
DANIEL WASSMER	1	1
GOVERNOR		
JOSH SHAPIRO	34	34
DOUGLAS V MASTRIANO	44	44
MATT HACKENBURG	2	2
CHRISTINA DIGIULIO	0	0
JOE SOLOSKI	0	0
US REPRESENTATIVE IN CONGRESS		
DAN PASTORE	28	28
MIKE KELLY	51	51
SENATOR, District 50		
RIANNA CZECH	21	21
MICHELE BROOKS	59	59
REPRESENTATIVE, District 7		
TIMOTHY M MCGONIGLE	Not Applicable	Not Applicable
PARKE WENTLING	Not Applicable	Not Applicable
REPRESENTATIVE, District 17		
TIM BONNER	64	64

TEAM MEMBERS:

Bud Jennings (R)

Tom Moore (D)

# Precinct: Pymatuning Township 2

RACE	HAND COUNT	MACHINE COUNT
U.S. SENATOR		
JOHN FETTERMAN	134	134
MEHMET OZ	308	308
ERIK GERHARDT	8	8
RICHARD L WEISS	5	5
DANIEL WASSMER	2	2
GOVERNOR		
JOSH SHAPIRO	138	138
DOUGLAS V MASTRIANO	315	315
MATT HACKENBURG	3	3
CHRISTINA DIGIULIO	3	3
JOE SOLOSKI	0	0
US REPRESENTATIVE IN CONGRESS		
DAN PASTORE	133	133
MIKE KELLY	324	324
SENATOR, District 50		
RIANNA CZECH	78	78
MICHELE BROOKS	379	379
REPRESENTATIVE, District 7		
TIMOTHY M MCGONIGLE	129	129
PARKE WENTLING	330	330
REPRESENTATIVE, District 17		
TIM BONNER	Not Applicable	Not Applicable

### TEAM MEMBERS:

Ron Monaco (D)

Kathy Mondak (R)

# Precinct: Sharon 2-2

RACE	HAND COUNT	MACHINE COUNT
U.S. SENATOR		
JOHN FETTERMAN	174	174
MEHMET OZ	170	170
ERIK GERHARDT	5	5
RICHARD L WEISS	2	2
DANIEL WASSMER	1	1
GOVERNOR		
JOSH SHAPIRO	179	179
DOUGLAS V MASTRIANO	164	164
MATT HACKENBURG	5	5
CHRISTINA DIGIULIO	1	1
JOE SOLOSKI	2	2
US REPRESENTATIVE IN CONGRESS		
DAN PASTORE	169	169
MIKE KELLY	182	182
SENATOR, District 50		
RIANNA CZECH	138	138
MICHELE BROOKS	214	214
REPRESENTATIVE, District 7		
TIMOTHY M MCGONIGLE	202	202
PARKE WENTLING	150	150
REPRESENTATIVE, District 17		
TIM BONNER	Not Applicable	Not Applicable

#### TEAM MEMBERS:

Donna Laver (R)

Deborah Fischer (D)