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The Pennsylvania Board of Medicine is presenting a free
CME course on Extended-Release and Long- Acting
(ER/LA) Opioid Analgesics Risk Evaluation and
Mitigation Strategy (REMS). This course qualifies as
FDA REMS-compliant training.

Opioid abuse is considered a national epidemic and
Pennsylvania ranks in the top 10 of states experiencing
overdose deaths and overdose related hospital
admissions. Studies have shown that health care
practitioner assessment and management of patient pain
continues to be inadequate while rates of misuse and
abuse resulting in addiction, drug poisoning, and
overdose deaths are rising.

The Board of Medicine strongly encourages all licensees
who prescribe ER/LA Opioids to attend this course.
Chronic pain is a major public health problem in the
United States and has been estimated to affect up to a
third of Americans.

Date: September 16, 2014 at 9:00 am -
12:00 pm
Location: Convention
Center

Pennsylvania

1101 Arch St. Philadelphia, PA 19107

Lecturer: Michael Ashburn, MD, MPH,
MBA
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TARGET AUDIENCE:

This activity is intended for health care professionals
who prescribe ER/LA Opioids.

CREDIT DESIGNATION:

Physicians and Physician Assistants

The University of Nebraska Medical Center, Center for
Continuing Education designates this live activity for a
maximum of 3 AMA PRA Category 1 Credit(s)™. The
AOA Council on Continuing Medical Education,
through its accredited CME sponsor, the American
Osteopathic Association of Medical Informatics, has
designated this live activity for a maximum of 3 AOCA
Category 2B credits. Participants must complete the
entire course to obtain credit.

OTHER PRESCRIBERS:

CRNPs will be provided a certificate of attendance from
the University of Nebraska Medical Center, Center for
Continuing Education, an ACCME-accredited provided.

METHOD OF PARTICIPATION / HOW TO
RECEIVE CREDIT

1. There are no fees for participating in and receiving
credit for this activity.
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2. Review the activity objectives and CME/CE
information.

3. Complete the CME activity.

4. Complete the CME evaluation/attestation form, which
provides each participant with the opportunity to
comment on how participating in the activity will affect
their professional practice; the quality of the
instructional process; the perception of enhanced
professional effectiveness; the perception of commercial
bias; and his/her views on future educational needs.

5. Your CME/CE certificate will be mailed to you within
90 days.

*This course will be offered in Pittsburgh as well,
tentatively scehduled for September 30, 2014. Time
and location TBD.

SPECIAL NOTICE TO ALL
HEALTH-RELATED
LICENSEES
AND FUNERAL DIRECTORS

ACT 31 OF 2014 - INITIAL TRAINING AND
CONTINUING EDUCATION IN CHILD ABUSE
RECOGNITION AND REPORTING
REQUIREMENTS

The Bureau of Professional and Occupational Affairs
(BPOA), in conjunction with the Department of Public
Welfare (DPW), is providing advance notice to all
health-related licensees and funeral directors that are
considered “mandatory reporters” under section 6311 of
the Child Protective Services Law (CPSL) (23 P.S. §
6311), as amended, that EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1,
2015, all persons applying for issuance of an initial
license shall be required to complete 3 hours of DPW-
approved training in child abuse recognition and
reporting requirements as a condition of licensure.
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Additionally, EFFECTIVE WITH THE FIRST
LICENSE RENEWAL AFTER JANUARY 1, 2015, all
health-related licensees and funeral directors applying
for the renewal of a license issued by the Board shall be
required to complete at least 2 hours of Board-approved
continuing education in child abuse recognition and
reporting requirements as a condition of renewal.

Please note that Act 31 applies to all health-related
licensees, regardless of whether they are subject to the
continuing education requirements of the applicable
board.

More information regarding this requirement will be
posted on the BPOA website when it is available.
Act 31 may be reviewed at the following link:

http://www.legis.state.pa.us/cfdocs/Legis/LI/uconsCheck
.cfm?txtType=HTM&yr=2014&sessind
=0&smthLwInd=0&act=31.
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