PENNSYLVANIA STATE BOARD OF DENTISTRY



February 2010

www.dos.state.pa.us

Maximum Fines Increased To \$10,000

On July 17 **Governor Edward G. Rendell** signed Act 25 into law, adding a provision raising the maximum fine the State Board of Dentistry may impose for violations of the licensing laws or regulations from \$1,000 to \$10,000, as well as authorizing the licensing boards to impose the costs of investigation.

"BPOA has been working to pass this legislation since 2004," **Commissioner Basil L. Merenda** said.

"This is an important law because the new maximum fine acts as a very strong deterrent to unlawful activity by licensees, which in turn will enable us to more effectively protect the health, safety and welfare of every consumer in the commonwealth, and the integrity of the dental health professions in Pennsylvania."

At the signing of SB 142, Governor Rendell, center, is joined by (pictured from left to right) Sen. Tomlinson, Commissioner Merenda, Director Biggica and Rep. McGeehan.

Act 25 will affect all 29 boards supported by the Bureau of

Professional and Occupational Affairs. Furthermore, the act provides privilege protection to Department of State investigative files, as well as confidentiality requirements.

Future plans for legislation include proposals to create a statutory obligation for a licensee to cooperate with investigators and prosecutors in disciplinary matters and authorizing the boards' authority to expunge a disciplinary history of a license for minor violations such as failure to complete the continuing education requirement.

Other News:

Disciplinary Actions

Governor's Newsletter

<u>Sign up now</u> to receive the weekly enewsletter from Governor Rendell on important issues facing Pennsylvania.

Contact Us

Report Unethical Activity

Renew Your License

Meet the Board

PHMP