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CE REQUIREMENTS FOR ATHLETIC TRAINERS 

 
 
In order to renew an athletic trainer license, completion of continuing education in the preceding 
two (2) year period, which runs from January 1 of the odd year through December 31 of the next 
even year, will be required for all athletic trainers.  
 

• EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2015, Per Act 31 of 2014, two (2) hours of Board-approved continuing 
education in child abuse recognition and reporting requirements must be completed for renewal 
or reactivation of a license.  Details and a list of Board-approved providers can be found at 
www.dos.pa.gov. Verification of completion must be sent electronically and directly from the 
course provider. It may take up to 7 days for the provider to submit the records to the Board’s 
office. 
 

• In order to be in compliance with the board’s continuing education requirements, you must hold a 
current BOC certificate. 

 
The following exemptions apply for certain athletic trainers: 
 

• An athletic trainer applying for certification in this Commonwealth for the first time shall be exempt 
from the continuing education requirement for the biennial renewal period in which initial 
certification is acquired. 

• An athletic trainer holding a temporary license (and who has not passed the BOC certification 
examination) within the renewal cycle shall be exempt from the continuing medical education 
requirement.  

• An athletic trainer who is on inactive status shall be exempt from the continuing medical 
education requirement. 

• An athletic trainer who is seeking to reinstate an inactive or lapsed license shall show proof of 
compliance with the continuing education requirements for the preceding renewal period. 

 
Waiver of the CE requirements may be permitted as follows: 
 

• The board may grant a hardship waiver in cases of serious illness, military service or other good 
cause provided that the public’s safety and welfare will not be jeopardized by the granting of the 
waiver. 

• A request for waiver must be made in writing, with appropriate documentation and include a 
detailed description of circumstances sufficient to show why compliance is impossible.  

• Waiver requests will be evaluated by the board on a case-by-case basis.  The Board will send 
written notification of its approval or denial of a waiver request. 

• The waiver request must be submitted to the board 90 days prior to the end of the biennial 
renewal period for which the waiver is being sought. 

 
 
For additional information regarding continuing education course providers, the following 
websites may be helpful: 
 
Pennsylvania Osteopathic Medical Association  www.poma.org 
American Osteopathic Association   www.aoa-net.org 
Pennsylvania Medical Society    www.pamedsoc.org 
American Medical Association    www.ama-assn.org/go/cme 
Board of Certification for the Athletic Trainer  www.bocatc.org  
 
 
 
 
 

http://www.dos.pa.gov/
http://www.poma.org/
http://www.aoa-net.org/
http://www.pamedsoc.org/
http://www.ama-assn.org/go/cme
http://www.bocatc.org/


 
 
 
Additional information regarding continuing education, and a copy of the Board’s law and 
regulations, can be found on the website of the Board under which you are licensed: 
 
State Board of Medicine      www.dos.pa.gov/med  
State Board of Osteopathic Medicine   www.dos.pa.gov/ost  
 
 
PLEASE NOTE:  THE BOARD DOES NOT RECOMMEND OR ENDORSE CME COURSES. 
 
IT IS THE LICENSEE’S RESPONSIBILITY TO MAINTAIN/TRACK THEIR PERSONAL CME CREDIT HOURS. 

 
LICENSEE SHALL RETAIN PROOF OF COMPLETION OF CME FOR AT LEAST 2 YEARS AFTER COMPLETION 
OF THE CME OR AFTER THE COMPLETION OF THE BIENNIAL REGISTRATION FOR WHICH THE CME WAS 
REQUIRED, WHICHEVER IS LATER. 

 

http://www.dos.pa.gov/med
http://www.dos.pa.gov/ost

