COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA DEPARTMENT OF STATE BUREAU OF PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL AFFAIRS STATE BOARD OF CERTIFIED REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS P. O. BOX 2649 HARRISBURG, PA 17105-2649

October 8, 2014

RE: Continuing Education for Licensed Appraiser Trainees

Dear Licensed Appraiser Trainee:

The Appraisal Subcommittee (ASC) recently conducted their biennial audit of the State Board of Certified Real Estate Appraisers. ASC notified the Board that beginning January 1, 2015 every existing credential holder, including Licensed Appraiser Trainees, will be required to complete 14 hours of continuing education (CE) for each year of licensure preceding the renewal date. Pennsylvania credential holders expire on June 30, 2015. All credential holders who have held a certificate for more than one year must complete 28 hours of continuing education. Those who have held a credential less than one year have a partial CE requirement. All credential holders who must complete CE must <u>include</u> the 7-hour National USPAP Update Course and at least 2 hours on Pennsylvania law.

The total number of hours of continuing education that a licensed appraiser trainee will be required to complete will vary based on how long he or she has held a license. The list below explains the required number of continuing education credits you will be required to complete by June 30, 2015:

- License Issue Date <u>before</u> July 1, 2014: Any Licensed Appraiser Trainee to whom the Board issued a license on or before June 30, 2014 will be required to complete **28** hours of continuing education as a condition of renewal of licensure, including the 7 hour National USPAP Update Course and 2 hours on Pennsylvania Law.
- License Issue Date from July 1, 2014 to December 27, 2014: Any Licensed Appraiser Trainee to whom the Board issued a license on or after July 1, 2014 but before December 28, 2014 will be required to complete 14 hours of continuing education as a condition of renewal of the license, including the 7 hour National USPAP Update Course and 2 hours on Pennsylvania Law.
- License Issue Date from December 28, <u>2014</u> to June 30, <u>2015</u>: Any Licensed Appraiser Trainee to whom the Board issues a license on or after December 28, 2014 will not be required to complete any continuing education in order to qualify for renewal of the license June 30, 2015.

A listing of approved providers and courses is available on our website under Education Information at www.dos.state.pa.us/real.

Sincerely,

State Board of Certified Real Estate Appraisers