State Board of Barber Examiners P.O. Box 2649 Harrisburg, PA 17105-2649 Website: <u>www.dos.state.pa.us/barber</u> Board E-mail: <u>ra-barber@state.pa.us</u> Telephone: 717-783-3402 Board Fax Number: 717-705-5540

[	FEINISTEVANA LICENSING REQUIREMENTS:
BARBER	• 1250 hours in a licensed barber school under a licensed barber teacher, or in a licensed barber shop under a licensed barber manager or barber teacher.
	Hours must be earned within no less than nine months
	8 <sup>th</sup> grade education or equivalent required
	• Hours completed out of state must be certified on a letter from the State Licensing Board. This letter must have the state seal affixed and verify a minimum 1250 hours earned in not less than 9 months.
	State Board Examination required which consists of theory and practical.
	• Any barber licensed prior to 1976 was required to earn 1250 hours in a student program, pass an apprentice examination and then earn 1250 hours in an apprentice program before taking the barber examination.
	• Licensed cosmetologists are credited with 555 hours under the crossover program. They must earn 695 hours in a barber school or barber shop.
	• A barber license by reciprocity (without examination) can be granted to those individuals possessing a current barber license in a State with which Pennsylvania has an agreement of reciprocity. A certification letter from the licensee's State licensing board must be submitted verifying the current license status.
	• A barber license by endorsement examination (theory only) can be granted to those individuals currently licensed as a barber in a State with which Pennsylvania does not have an agreement of reciprocity. A certification letter from the licensee's State licensing board must be submitted, verifying the current license.
BARBER MANAGER	<ul> <li>To be eligible for the exam, must show proof of working as a licensed barber in a licensed barber shop or cosmetology salon for at least one year.</li> <li>8<sup>th</sup> grade education or equivalent is required</li> </ul>
	State board examination (consisting of theory only)
	• Any licensed barber engaged in the practice of barbering was licensed as a barber manager without examination if they filed an application for such prior to January 1, 1981.
	• A barber manager is qualified, without the need for additional licensure, to perform the functions of a barber manager or barber.
BARBER TEACHER	• Must either have had a minimum of 5 years of experience as a licensed barber in a licensed shop or must be a barber manager who has trained for 1250 hours under a licensed barber teacher in a licensed barber school as a teacher trainee.
	Must be a high school graduate or equivalent
	State Board examination required which consists of theory and practical
	• A barber teacher is qualified, without the need for additional licensure, to perform the functions of a barber teacher, barber manager or barber.

**PENNSYLVANIA LICENSING REQUIREMENTS:** 

The State Board of Barber Examiners cannot supply any information beyond that provided on the certification of licensure. It is not possible for the certification of licensure to reflect the name of the barber school attended, dates of attendance, total number of hours earned beyond those required by law, or test scores. There are no board records available to verify whether a barber earned their hours through a licensed school or a licensed shop. If additional information is required beyond the data provided on the certification of licensure, it is incumbent upon the licensee to provide the additional documentation.

Pennsylvania's examinations (theory and practical) are developed, administered and scored by a professional testing organization for development, administration and scoring of the theory and practical licensing examinations. Examinations are developed utilizing subject matter experts (SME's). As of June 1997 the testing company was LGR. As of September 1999 the testing company was Experior Assessments which later became Thomson Prometric. As of March 2006 the testing company was Professional Credential Services. As of July 2011, the testing company is Pearson VUE.

## PENNSYLVANIA NO LONGER PARTICIPATED IN THE NIC NATIONAL EXAM AS OF JUNE 1997 PENNSYVLANIA RESUMED PARTICIPATING IN THE NIC EXAM BETWEEN MARCH 2006 AND JULY 2011 PENNSYLVANIA DOES NOT PARTICIPATE IN THE NIC EXAM AS OF JULY 2011

Reciprocity (licensure without examination) can be granted to individuals licensed in those states with which Pennsylvania has an understanding of reciprocity. To qualify for licensure by reciprocity, an individual must have a current license from the state that he/she is applying from. If the applicant does not meet the requirements for reciprocity, the Pennsylvania examination (theory and practical) must be successfully completed.