
 

July 29, 2020 

 

Pennsylvania Waives Certain Requirements for Cosmetology Students and 
Cosmetology Schools During COVID-19 Emergency 

The coronavirus pandemic has had a significant impact on the entire cosmetology industry. 
Affected individuals include those who are or were in the process of training to become 
licensed cosmetologists or one of the following related “limited license” types: estheticians, nail 
technicians and natural hair braiders. Cosmetology salons and schools in Pennsylvania were 
closed for most of March 2020 thru July 2020 due to COVID-19. 

Many cosmetology students were unable to complete in-person hours during the closure. This 
unfortunate circumstance has, in turn, delayed these individuals from taking the required 
licensure examination. That delay prevented them from entering the workforce in their chosen 
occupation. 

Cosmetology schools that are now in the process of reopening face significant hurdles. There 
are critical health and safety requirements that must be met.  

Limit on the Number of Credit Hours Per Day/Week: The Cosmetology Law and regulations 
limit the number of hours cosmetology students may earn each day and per week. For day-time 
students in a licensed school of cosmetology, the maximum allowance is eight hours of credit 
per day and 40 hours of credit per week. Night-time students are permitted to earn a maximum 
of four hours per night and 20 hours per week. An increase in the maximum allowable earned 
hours per day and week for both day-time and night-time students would benefit both 
cosmetology schools and their students. Specifically, the Department proposed increasing 
these maximums for day-time students to 10 hours per day and 50 hours per week, and for 
night-time students to five hours per day and 25 hours per week. The Governor approved this 
request to allow school to increase the maximum hours.  

Requirement That Training Be Completed in Four Years: Additionally, again as a result of 
school closures, there may be some students who were, or will be, unable to complete their 
hours of training within the four years required by the Cosmetology Law. Absent a waiver, 
these students would be required to start their entire education from the beginning, a result 
that would carry with it several negative consequences − not the least of which would be 
having to pay tuition for the second time. To allow those students who were unable to 
complete their education during the pandemic, the Department requested that the mandatory 
four-year period be increased to five years. The Governor approved this request. 



Square Footage Requirements: Another challenge cosmetology schools face is a shortage of 
classroom space resulting from adherence to social distancing requirements that require six 
feet of separation. Due to the nature of cosmetology instruction in general, there is a limit to 
the amount of subject matter that can be taught virtually. Moreover, Pennsylvania is one of the 
few states that does not require applicants to take and pass a practical examination in order to 
become licensed. Therefore, it is critical that the practical aspects of cosmetology training be 
taught in a traditional manner. 

For each cosmetology school, the physical location itself is licensed by the Board and is subject 
to the requirements set forth in the Cosmetology Law and Board’s regulations. A school license 
is valid only for the location stated on the license. The regulations also contain a minimum 
square footage requirement of 2,750 square feet for a school with a 25-student maximum 
enrollment. 

Normally, cosmetology schools are inspected and licensed not only for a specific address but 
also for the classes that will be offered at that location (there are space, equipment and other 
requirements). The Department requested – and the Governor granted – a waiver to suspend 
square footage requirements for temporary classroom space only so that schools may secure 
additional temporary space to accommodate social distancing. This will permit schools to use 
temporary classroom space in addition to the licensed school space. Schools must notify the 
Cosmetology Board in writing of the address of any temporary locations, and the instruction 
that will occur at such space (e.g. theory, practical). 

The temporary classroom space will still have to meet all the other requirements − other than 
the square footage requirements − as set forth in the Board’s regulations and will be subject 
to inspection to ensure it meets the safety and equipment standards. This would allow, for 
example, a school located in a shopping center to rent temporary space located in the same 
shopping center for classrooms. Suspending the square footage requirements will increase a 
school’s ability to finish training the students who should have graduated by now, and at the 
same time, begin to train newly enrolled students. 

These suspensions and waivers shall extend for the duration of the COVID-19 emergency plus 
an additional 90 days after the emergency ends. 

 


