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Disciplinary Actions 

 
ATTENTION ALL ACTIVE OCCUPATIONAL THERAPISTS 

 
Dear Occupational Therapy PA licensee, 

 

There have been two significant changes to the rules 

and regulations for occupational therapy 

practitioners in recent months. Your licensure board 

has been working for several years to craft 

meaningful continued competency regulations. The 

work of many, many people and many hours has 

come to fruition and all licensed occupational 

therapists will need to document 24 hours or more 

of activities that promote continued competency 

when they renew their licenses in 2015! While all 

24 hours may be completed using approved 

continuing education activities, licensees are 

reminded that continued competence is different 

than continuing education. For a complete 

explanation of methods for documenting 24 hours, 

licensees are encouraged to read the complete 

regulation via the following official link: 

http://www.pabulletin.com/secure/data/vol43/43-

25/1117.html 

At this time the regulation pertains to 

occupational therapists, not occupational 

therapy assistants. Further information is posted 

on the board website at 

http://www.portal.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/comm

unity/state_board_of_occupational_therapy/12518 

The following insurance requirement came as result 

of changes to the OT Practice Act which was 

initiated and enacted by the PA legislature. This 

necessitated a change to the regulations to comply 

with the law.   The professional liability insurance 

requirement was not initiated by the OT board.    

Professional Liability (Malpractice) Insurance:  

Act 138 of 2012 took effect on September 10, 2012 

and requires that ALL occupational therapists in 

Pennsylvania obtain and maintain professional 

liability insurance as a condition of licensure 

effective July 1, 2013. Currently, this requirement 

does not apply to occupational therapy assistants. 

The requirement does apply to ALL licensed OTs, 

regardless of the number of hours spent in direct 

patient care. 

 

The italicized text below is verbatim from the 

application for licensure. The Practice Act (Law) 

can be found on the website for the licensure board 

at 

http://www.portal.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/comm

unity/state_board_of_occupational_therapy 

  

  

“Under the Occupational Therapy Law, 

in order to hold an occupational therapy 

license in the Commonwealth of 

Pennsylvania, you are required to have 

professional liability insurance in the 

minimum of one million dollars 

($1,000,000) per occurrence or claims 

made.  

 

Therapists renewing their licenses will need to attest 

to having insurance by checking the box when they 

renew. Proof of malpractice insurance does not 

need to be sent to the State Board by those 

renewing their licenses. The State Board of 

Occupational Therapy Education and Licensure will 

randomly audit renewed licensees and request they  

http://www.pabulletin.com/secure/data/vol43/43-25/1117.html
http://www.pabulletin.com/secure/data/vol43/43-25/1117.html
http://www.portal.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/state_board_of_occupational_therapy/12518
http://www.portal.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/state_board_of_occupational_therapy/12518
http://www.portal.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/state_board_of_occupational_therapy
http://www.portal.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/state_board_of_occupational_therapy
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submit insurance documentation. Failure to provide 

verification when audited will result in automatic 

suspension of the license by law.Therapists 

applying for new licenses (temporary or permanent) 

and those re-activating a license will need to obtain 

coverage as part of the application process:  

Acceptable coverage shall include:  

1) Personally purchased medical 

professional liability insurance;  

2) Self-insurance;  

3) Medical professional liability 

insurance coverage provided by the 

occupational therapist’s employer.  

  

For new licensees, you have 30 days from the date 

your license is issued to provide proof of 

acceptable coverage which may include a 

certificate of insurance issued by the insurer or a 

copy of the declarations page of the professional 

liability insurance policy or a letter from the 

applicant’s professional liability insurance carrier 

indicating that the applicant will be covered against 

professional liability in the required amounts 

effective upon the issuance of the applicant’s 

license to practice occupational therapy in this 

Commonwealth. For professional liability insurance 

coverage through the occupational therapist’s 

employer, documentation must reflect you as a 

named insured. Failure to do so shall result in 

automatic suspension of your professional 

license.” 

The licensure board welcomes your questions as 

you work to implement these changes into your 

practice.  

Board Administrator, State Board of Occupational 

Therapy Education and Licensure, P.O. Box 2649, 

Harrisburg, PA  17105-2649, (717) 783-1389.  Or 

e-mail:  ST-OCCUPATIONAL@pa.gov  

 

 

Sincerely, 

State Board of Occupational Therapy Education and 

Licensure 

                Continued Competency: 

The Continued Competency regulations for 

occupational therapists became final in June 

of 2013, making them effective for the 2015 

renewal. Therapists will need to document 24 

contact hours prior to renewal in June of 

2015!  

Serving the Profession as a Licensure 

Board Member: 

Ever wondered how the licensure board 

members are selected? As the chairperson, I 

am often asked how one gets on the board. 

The Pennsylvania Board of Occupational 

Therapy Licensure and Education is 

comprised of five professional members, two 

public members, a board administrator, and 

several board counsel (state lawyers) and the 

Commissioner for the State. The five 

professional members must be PA licensed 

occupational therapy practitioners (OT or 

OTA) and have an interest in serving. The 

two public members need to have primary 

residence in PA and have an interest in 

serving. The remaining members are 

employees of the State and are appointed to 

their positions. The process for nominating 

professional and public members is the same 

and is briefly described in the following. 

Anyone may nominate a professional or 

public member, including an individual 

themselves. A person can be nominated by an 

organization, an employer, or independently.  

 

mailto:ST-OCCUPATIONAL@pa.gov
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The nominations are sent to the Governor’s 

Office , typically a resume and letter of 

interest serves as a nomination. Once 

nominated, the individual’s Pennsylvania 

State Senator must bring the nomination to 

the floor of the senate for confirmation. Many 

senators will request a meeting to meet a 

nominated individual. If more than one 

nomination is received at the same time, the 

senator’s seniority may influence the 

confirmation process. The senator decides 

when and whether or not to proceed with the 

confirmation process.  

Once confirmed, the individual serves a three 

year term. At the conclusion of the three year 

term, the individual may step down or be re-

confirmed (same process as the 1st term) for 

another three year term. Individuals serve on 

the board until a replacement is confirmed. 

The nomination/confirmation process is not 

quick; it may take as long as six months or 

even a year. Often individuals serve on the 

board much longer than six years total due to 

the length of the process.                 

 

The board is currently working with four 

professional members and two public 

members. Interested individuals should 

contact the Governor’s Office or POTA for 

assistance with the process. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/PADepartmentofState 

Twitter: https://twitter.com/penndos 
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