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Credits
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If you are a licensed dental health professional you can
be sure of three things . . . death, taxes, and continuing
education requirements! No one can say for sure when
the first will occur, but we all know that taxes are due
every year and that a specific number and type of
continuing education credits are required as a condition
of the biennial renewal for your professional licenses,
permits and certificates to practice in the Commonwealth
of Pennsylvania. Credits must be completed during each
biennial license period.

The intent of this regulation is to assure that
Pennsylvania’s dentists, dental hygienists and EFDAs
maintain our skills, preserve our ethical and professional
integrity, and keep abreast of the almost daily changes
taking place in our beloved profession. To achieve the
goal of such regulations, the required CE credit hours
must be completed in subjects that contribute directly to
maintaining clinical competence in the fields of dentistry,
dental hygiene, public health dental hygiene, and
expanded function dental assisting. Examples include:
diagnosis and treatment of oral pathosis, clinical and
technological subjects, emergency  procedures
(excluding hours required for CPR certification), infection
control, abuse and neglect, medical and scientific
subjects, laws and regulations pertinent to dentists,
dental hygienists and EFDAs. Courses in non-clinical
subjects, which may be helpful in other aspects of
practice, are excluded from the list of approved subject
areas and will not count towards CE credit requirements
for re-licensure. Examples include: office management,
billing and practice building, among others.
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Specific requirements for Dentists

e Dentists must complete 30 hours of continuing
education each biennial period to maintain their
license to practice dentistry.

Note: Dentists who do not hold a permit to administer
anesthesia who maintain offices where general
anesthesia, deep sedation and/or conscious sedation is
administered to their patients by a permit holder or
another regulated practitioner, must complete 5 hours of
continuing education in courses relating to general
anesthesia, deep sedation and/or conscious sedation.

Specific requirements for Dentists who hold an
Anesthesia Unrestricted or Restricted Permit |

e Dentists who hold an Anesthesia Unrestricted
Permit must complete 15 of the required 30
hours of continuing education in courses related
to general anesthesia, deep sedation and/or
conscious sedation.

e Dentists who hold an Anesthesia Restricted
Permit | must complete 15 of the required 30
hours of continuing education in courses related
to conscious sedation.

Specific requirements for Dental Hygienists

e Dental hygienists must complete 20 hours of
continuing education each biennial period to
maintain their license to practice dental hygiene.

e Dental hygienists may complete no more than 3
of the required 20 hours of continuing education
in courses relating to communication skills.

e Dental hygienists holding local anesthesia
permits must complete 3 of the required 20
hours of CE in courses related to the
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administration of local anesthesia, including
pharmacology or other related courses.

e Public health dental hygiene practitioners must
complete 5 of the required 20 hours of CE in
public health-related courses.

Specific requirements for Expanded Function Dental
Assistants

e Expanded function dental assistants must
complete 10 hours of continuing education each
biennial period to maintain their certification.

e Unless an exemption applies, expanded function
dental assistants must complete 3 of the
required 10 required hours of continuing
education in the area of coronal polishing.
*Note: These credits may not me met through
video, online or distance education. They must
be completed by physical attendance at a
hands-on clinical training course offered by an
approved program sponsor or an approved
EFDA education program.

CPR requirements

Under the Board’s Regulations, every licensee is
required to maintain current Infant, Child and Adult CPR
certification through the American Red Cross, American
Heart Association or an agency substantially similar
approved by the Board. You are required to certify that
you have met this requirement on your renewal
application. The Board also conducts a random audit
requesting you to show compliance with this
requirement. Please be advised that online CPR is not
accepted to fulfill this requirement nor may credits
earned through CPR courses be applied to the
continuing education credit requirements.

Additionally, Anesthesia Unrestricted and Restricted
Permit | holders are required to maintain current ACLS
and/or PALS certification to maintain these anesthesia
permits.

Documenting, Submitting and Maintaining Records
of Required Continuing Education

At the time of licensure renewal, each licensee must
certify that he or she has fulfiled the continuing
education requirements in accordance with the Board’s
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Regulations. If selected for participation in the Board’s
random audit, the licensee will be requested to submit to
the Board proof of completion of the required continuing
education courses as outlined above. Under the Board’s
Regulations, you are required to maintain the
appropriate documentation/certificates for a minimum of
4 years. Certificates must include, but are not limited to,
your name, the date and title of the course, number of
credit hours completed, the type of c.e. (live/home
study), the name of the approved program sponsor, etc.
For other methods such as serving as an instructor of a
continuing education course through an approved
program sponsor or professional writing, appropriate
documentation will be required for verification in order to
receive the appropriate credit.

As a licensed practitioner, you have the responsibility of
completing the required number of credits each biennial
period in accordance with the Board’s Regulations and
for maintaining those records. Failure to provide the
Board with the acceptable documentation may result in
disciplinary action.

Additionally, any false statement made is subject to the
penalties of 18 PA C.S. 4904 relating to unsworn
falsification to authorities and may result in your license
being disciplined.  Therefore, it is important that you
verify that you completed the required continuing
education prior to certification on your renewal
application.

For the Board’s Regulations relative to continuing
education, please visit our website at
www.dos.state.pa.us/dent and click on Rules and
Regulations.

By John F. Erhard, D.D.S.

Licensed dentists in Pennsylvania are obligated to verify
that all employees/associates who are required by law to
hold active licenses in the Commonwealth (dentists,
dental hygienists, and EFDAS) possess current, active
licenses, and display those licenses openly in the office.

Licensure can be verified electronically at
www.licensepa.state.pa.us
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