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The Pennsylvania Health Alert Network (PA-HAN) is one
of the major ways the Pennsylvania Department of
Health (PADOH) rapidly distributes information on
emerging public health issues (e.g. disease outbreaks)
to health care providers, hospitals, emergency
management officials, and other public health agencies.
In a typical year, PADOH distributes 20-25 HAN
messages to providers via email, fax, or cell phone,
depending on user preference. PADOH feels it is
important that all health care providers have access to
HAN messages directly or through their health care
facility in order to receive critical public health messages.
This assures that public health is protected and allows
Pennsylvania’s health care providers to give the best
care to your patients and community.

In mid-2011, PADOH switched to a new software vendor
to support and improve the PA-HAN. The updated
system was completed in July and the new version of
the PA-HAN can be found at the following link
https://han.pa.gov/. During the conversion process,
some users were removed from the system and cannot
be reinstated to the user list without re-registering.
PADOH therefore requests that any previous user who is
not currently receiving HAN messages register as a
Health Alert recipient in the new system. In addition, any
provider who would like to receive HAN messages for
the first time should also register in the new system.

To access the new PA-HAN Registration Site, click on
the following link: https://han.pa.gov/. Under the second
paragraph there is a gray ‘Register Now' button. This
option will walk the user through the registration process.
If you have any questions about the HAN system or the
registration requirements, please ask for Stacey
Kalinoski in the PADOH at 717-265-8890 or
skalinoski@pa.gov.
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Kathleen McConnell, DC - Chairperson, State
Board of Chiropractic

As board members, we often hear of unfortunate
circumstances where Doctors of Chiropractic are either
unaware of legal requirements or have missed
deadlines for items that are required to maintain one’s
ability to serve the public through the practice of
chiropractic. For further information on these and
other subjects, go to the State Board of Chiropractic
website for both the Practice Act and Rules and
Regulations:

http://www.portal.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/

community/state board of chiropractic/12506

1. License Renewal
License renewal deadline for this cycle is Sept.
1, 2012. 24 hours of APPROVED continuing
education must be completed prior to this
deadline. Do yourself a favor and renew early!
It is your responsibility.

2. Specialist Designation
The board may refuse to issue a license or may
suspend or revoke a license of a licensed
chiropractor for holding himself/herself out as a
specialist unless he/she possesses a post-
graduate certification in that specialty.

3. Reporting of Disciplinary Action
Doctors of Chiropractic that are also licensed to
practice chiropractic in any other state,
territory, possession or country must report any
disciplinary action taken in such other
jurisdiction to the board on the biennial
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registration application or within 90 days of
final disposition; whichever is sooner.
Supportive Personnel

Section 601 of the Practice Act states “Nothing
in this act shall prohibit a licensed chiropractor
from utilizing the assistance of unlicensed
supportive personnel performing under the
direct-on-premises supervision of a licensed
chiropractor, provided that a chiropractor may
not delegate any activity or duty to such
unlicensed individuals which requires formal
education or training in the practice of
chiropractic or the knowledge and skill of a
licensed chiropractor.”

Child Abuse Required Reporting

In the case of suspected child abuse, a licensed
chiropractor who has reasonable cause to
suspect on the basis of their professional or
other training or experience, which a child
coming before them in their professional or
official capacity is a victim of child abuse, SHALL
report via:

I. Oral reports of suspected child abuse
shall be made immediately by telephone to
ChildLine, (800) 932-0313

Il. Written reports need to be created
within 48 hours after the oral report is made by
telephone. These reports shall be made on
forms available from a county children and
youth social service agency.

-Written reports shall be made
in the manner and on forms prescribed
by the Department of Public Welfare.
The following information shall be
included, if available:

A. The names and addresses of
the child and the parents or other
person responsible for the care of the
child, if known.
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B. Where the suspected abuse
occurred.

C. The age and sex of the
subjects of the report.

D. The nature and extent of the
suspected child abuse including any
evidence of prior abuse to the child or
siblings of the child.

E. The name and relationship of
the persons responsible for causing the
suspected abuse, if known, and any
evidence of prior abuse by those
persons.

F. Family composition.
G. The source of the report.

H. The person making the
report and where that person can be
reached.

I. The actions taken by the
reporting source, including the taking of
photographs and x-rays, removal or
keeping of the child or notifying the
medical examiner or coroner.

J. Other information which the
Department of Public Welfare may
require by regulation.

-There are further requirements regarding
photographs and x-rays of the child, reporting the death
of the child, immunity from liability, waiver of
confidentiality, and licensure and criminal sanctions for
noncompliance in the Regulations. Become familiar
with all of the provisions of the relevant laws and
regulations.
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