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STATE BOARD OF EXAMINERS IN SPEECH-LANGUAGE PATHOLOGY AND AUDIOLOGY 

P O BOX 2649 
HARRISBURG, PA  17105 

717-783-1389 
www.dos.pa.gov/speech        st-speech@pa.gov  
 
Reciprocity Application instructions for Licensure in Audiology or Speech Language Pathology.  

Must hold current certification or license in a state which has standards at least equivalent to 
those required for licensure in this Commonwealth. 

 
 

1. Complete pages 1 and 2.  An original signature is required; a faxed copy will not be accepted. 
 

2. Attach $20.00 application fee payable to Commonwealth of PA.   
 
3. Complete page 3 only if you will have a Pennsylvania Employer.   Complete top section of page 3.  

Provide this form to the Pennsylvania Employer.  This form must be submitted directly to the Board 
office to the address listed above in an official sealed envelope.  (This form must be mailed in a sealed 
envelope that includes the employer’s return address matching the employer name listed in the 
paragraph on page 3.) 
 

4. Request letter(s) of good standing to be forwarded directly in an official sealed envelope, to the Board 
from any other state in which you have ever held a license to practice.   
 

5. Provide a copy of the law and regulations in effect at the time you obtained licensure from the state in 
which you are requesting reciprocity. 

 
6. Request the examination results be sent from the NTE (1-800-772-9476) directly to the State Board 

Office in an official sealed envelope.  (Use code 8053 for Pennsylvania when requesting scores.) 
 
7. Attach a Curriculum Vitae listing all periods of employment or any other activities (i.e. child rearing, 

etc.) from graduation to the date of the application.  The list must be in chronological order and include 
dates of employment/activities and must provide a list of duties. 
 

8. If a different name is used on documentation submitted to the Board, a copy of a legal name change 
document (marriage certification, court order, divorce decree) showing change of name is required. 

 
9. The Bureau of Professional and Occupational Affairs (BPOA), in conjunction with the Department of 

Human Services (DHS), is providing notice to all health-related licensees and funeral directors that are 
considered “mandatory reporters” under section 6311 of the Child Protective Services Law (CPSL) (23 
P.S. § 6311), as amended, that EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2015, all persons applying for issuance of 
an initial license shall be required to complete 3 hours of DHS-approved training in child abuse 
recognition and reporting requirements as a condition of licensure.  Please review the Board website 
for further information on approved CE providers.  Once you have completed a course, the approved 
provider will electronically submit your name, date of attendance, etc., to the Board. Child Abuse 
Continuing Education Providers Information can be found here.  

 
10. Effective July 1, 2016, provide a Self-Query from the National Practitioner Data Bank completed within 

6 months of submission of this application to the Board. A Self-Query can be requested online at 
https://www.npdb.hrsa.gov/. When you receive the “Self-Query Response” from the National 
Practitioner Data Bank, forward it to the Board office. (Verify that “Self-Query Response” is sent to the 
Board and not a discrepancy notice.)  
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

PLEASE NOTE: 
If a pending application is older than one year from the date submitted and the applicant 
wishes to continue the application process, the Board shall require the applicant to submit a 
new application including the required fee. 
 
In order to complete the application process, many of the supporting documents associated 
with the application cannot be more than six months from the date of issuance.   
 

http://www.dos.pa.gov/speech
mailto:st-speech@pa.gov
http://www.dos.pa.gov/ProfessionalLicensing/BoardsCommissions/Pages/Act-31-Mandated-Child-Abuse-Recognition-and-Reporting-Continuing-Education-Providers.aspx
http://www.dos.pa.gov/ProfessionalLicensing/BoardsCommissions/Pages/Act-31-Mandated-Child-Abuse-Recognition-and-Reporting-Continuing-Education-Providers.aspx
https://www.npdb.hrsa.gov/


 

 
STATE BOARD OF EXAMINERS IN SPEECH-LANGUAGE PATHOLOGY  

AND AUDIOLOGY 
Phone:  717-783-1389 

Fax:  717-787-7769 
 
Regular Mailing Address       Courier Delivery Address 
P O Box 2649        2601 North Third Street 
Harrisburg, PA  17105-2649      Harrisburg, PA  17110 

 
 

APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE BY RECIPROCITY 
MUST HOLD CURRENT CERTIFICATION OR LICENSE IN A STATE WHICH HAS 

STANDARDS AT LEAST EQUILVALENT TO THOSE REQUIRED FOR LICENSURE IN THIS 
COMMONWEALTH. 

 
Attach $20.00 application fee (non-refundable) payable to the Commonwealth of PA. (Please 
note- A processing fee of $20.00 will charged for any check or money order returned unpaid by  the 
bank, regardless of the reason for non-payment.)   
 
Type of License- Check one:   
     
______ Audiology      ____ Speech Language Pathology  
 
List state in which you are requesting reciprocity from:__________________________ 
        
 
 
Last Name    First   Middle   Maiden Name 
 
 
 
 
Street Address          Email address 
 
 
 
 
City      State     Zip Code 
 
 
 
 
Date of Birth          Social Security Number 
 
 
 
 
Home Telephone          Work Telephone 
 
 
 
Name of Pennsylvania employer-if not employed in Pennsylvania, please write “unemployed” 
 
 
 
______________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
Name of Educational Institution   Date Graduated (month/year)   Degree Earned 
 
 

1 
 



 

 
 

The following questions must be answered, please check the appropriate box Yes No 
1. Do you hold, or have you ever held, a license, certificate, permit, registration or other 

authorization to practice any health-related profession in any state or jurisdiction?  
 
 If yes, please list all professions and states where you have been licensed and request a letter 
of   good standing be sent from each state board to the Pennsylvania Board.  

 
 
 

  

2. Have you had disciplinary action taken against a professional or occupational license, certificate, 
permit, registration or other authorization to practice a professional or occupation issued to you in 
any state or jurisdiction or have you agreed to voluntary surrender in lieu of discipline? 

  

3. Do you currently have any disciplinary charges pending against our professional or occupational 
license, certificate, permit or registration in any state or jurisdiction?   

  

4. Have you withdrawn an application for a professional or occupational license, certificate, permit or 
registration, had an application denied or refused, or for disciplinary reasons agreed not to apply 
or reapplication for a professional or occupational license, certificate, permit or registration in any 
state or jurisdiction? 

  

5. Have you been convicted (found guilty, pled guilty or pled nolo contendere), received probation 
without verdict or accelerated rehabilitative disposition (ARD), as to any criminal charges, felony 
or misdemeanor, including any drug law violations?  Note: You are not required to disclose any 
ARD or other criminal matter that has been expunged by order of a court. 

  

6. Do you currently have any criminal charges pending and unresolved in any state or jurisdiction?   

7. Do you have any mental or physical condition that would prevent you from practicing as a Speech 
Language Pathologist, Audiologist, or Teacher of the Hearing Impaired with reasonable skill? 

  

8. Do you currently engage in or have you ever engaged in the intemperate or habitual use or abuse 
of alcohol or narcotics, hallucinogenics or other drugs or substances that may impair judgment or 
coordination? 

  
 

9. Have you ever had provider privileges denied, revoked, suspended or restricted by a Medical 
Assistance agency, Medicare, third party payor or another authority? 

  

10. Have you ever had practice privileges denied, revoked, suspended or restricted by a hospital or 
any health care facility? 

  

11. Have you ever been charged by a hospital, university, or research facility with violating research 
protocols, falsifying research, or engaging in other research misconduct? 

  

 
IF YOU HAVE ANSWERED YES TO ANY QUESTIONS 2 THROUGH 11, PLEASE ATTACH AN 8 ½ X 11 SHEET OF PAPER 
PROVIDING A DETAILED EXPLAINATION OF THE CIRCUMSTANCES AND THE OUTCOME.   INCLUDE CERTIFIED 
COPIES FROM THE COURT IF YOU ANSWERED YES TO #4.  
 

VERIFICATION 
I verify that this application is in the original format as supplied by the Department of State and has not been altered 
or otherwise modified in any way.  I am aware of the criminal penalties form tampering with public records or 
information under 18 Pa.C.S .§ 49.11.   I verify that the statements in this application are true and correct to the 
best of my knowledge, information and belief.  I understand that false statements are made subject to the penalties 
of 18 Pa. C.S. Section 4904 (relating to unsworn falsification to authorities) and may result in the suspension, 
revocation or denial of my license, certificate, permit or registration.  
 
_____________________________________________________ ______________________ 

APPLICANT'S SIGNATURE       DATE 
 

NOTICE:   Disclosing your Social Security Number on this application is mandatory in order for the State Boards to 
comply with the requirements of the Federal Social Security Act pertaining to Child Support Enforcement, as 
implemented in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania at 23 Pa.C.S. § 4304.1(a).  At the request of the Department of 
Human Services (DHS), the licensing boards must provide to DHS information prescribed by DHS about the 
licensee, including the social security number.   In addition, Social Security Numbers are required in order for the 
Board to comply with the reporting requirements of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, National 
Practitioner Data Bank.     
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STATE BOARD OF EXAMINERS IN SPEECH-LANGUAGE PATHOLOGY AND AUDIOLOGY 

Regular Mail         Courier Delivery 
P O BOX 2649         2601 N THIRD ST 
HARRISBURG, PA  17105       HARRISBURG, PA  17110 
717-783-1389 
 

CURRENT PENNSYLVANIA EMPLOYER 
 
 
APPLICANT – Complete top section and send to Pennsylvania employer.  If you have more than one 
employer, make copies of this page and send a copy to each one.  If you do not have a current 
Pennsylvania employer, you are not required to submit this page. 
 
 
 
Last Name    First    Middle   Maiden Name 
 
 
 
Date of Birth         Social Security Number 
 
 
EMPLOYER – Complete bottom section and submit directly to the Board office to the 
address listed above in an official sealed envelope.  (Form must be mailed in a sealed 
envelope that includes the employer’s return address matching the employer name listed 
in the below paragraph). 
 
 In accordance with Sections 16 and 17 of the Speech-Language and Hearing Licensure 
Act of December 21, 1984, PL 1253, 63 P.S. § 1716 and 1711, I the undersigned, being duly 
authorized, certify that _______________________________________________, is the name  
   (Name of corporation, partnership, trust, association, company or organization must be listed here) 
of a corporation, partnership, trust, association, company, or organization, which engages in the 
practice of Speech Language Pathology or Audiology by the employment of individuals licensed 
under the provisions of this act, submits itself to the rules and regulations of the State Board of 
Examiners in Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology and the provisions of the Act which 
the Board considers applicable. 
 

VERIFICATION 
 

I verify that the statements on this page are true and correct to the best of my knowledge, 
information and belief.  I understand that false statements are made subject to the penalties of 
18 PA C.C § 4904 (relating to unsworn falsification to authorities) and may result in the 
suspension or revocation of my license.  (Notarization not required.) 
 
 
Pennsylvania Employer’s Signature    Title     Date 
 
 
___________________________________________________________________________________________ 
Mailing Address of Place of Employment   City     State, Zip Code 
 
 
 
Print or type name of Pennsylvania Employer 
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