Begin Main Content Area

Cemetery Broker

Pennsylvania Licensure Requirements


Completion of Commission - Approved Curriculum


2 Examination


3 Years of Experience


No Continuing Education Requirement


169.50 Initial Fee


126.00 Renewal Fee

An individual or entity holding either a standard or reciprocal license, that is engaged as, or carrying on the business or acting in the capacity of, a broker exclusively within the limited field or branch of business that applies to cemetery lots, plots and mausoleum spaces or openings.

Degree Requirement: 

Completion of Commission-Approved Curriculum

The applicant shall have completed four credits, or 60 hours, in real estate instruction in areas of study prescribed by the rules of the commission, which requires instruction in professional ethics. The applicant must be 21 years of age or older. 

A candidate with a Juris Doctor degree, bachelor's degree in real estate, or a bachelor's degree that included coursework equivalent to a major in real estate will be deemed to have met the education requirement.

Examination Requirement: 

2 Examination

A candidate for licensure must pass both portions of the Salesperson Examination (National and PA State).

An applicant who has been actively licensed as a cemetery broker by another state within the last five years shall take and pass only the Pennsylvania portion of the examination. A reciprocal licensee who is converting that license to a standard cemetery broker’s license is only required to pass the state portion of the examination.

Experience:

  3 Years

A candidate for licensure must pass both portions of the Salesperson Examination (National and PA State). 

An applicant who has been actively licensed as a cemetery broker by another state within the last five years shall take and pass only the Pennsylvania portion of the examination. A reciprocal licensee who is converting that license to a standard cemetery broker’s license is only required to pass the state portion of the examination.


Continuing Education: 

No Continuing Education Requirements
No continuing education requirements for licensure.

Initial Licensing Fee: 

Application and license fees vary based on the type of license:

Cemetery Broker Sole-Proprietor = $169.50 
Cemetery Broker Corporation, LLC, or Partnership = $179.50 
Cemetery Broker of Record - $119.50 
Cemetery Associate Broker - $97.00 
Cemetery Broker Examination Fee = $40.00

Licensure Renewal Fee: 

$126.00 

Biennial renewal of license for Broker Sole-Proprietor, Broker Corporation, LLC, or Partnership, and Broker Multi-Licensee (Broker of Record)

$96.00 

Cemetery Associate Broker 

Licensure by Reciprocity & Licensure by Act 41:

Any person who holds a current license to provide real estate services as a salesperson or cemetery broker issued by another state and whose principal place of business for the provision of those services is outside of this Commonwealth may be issued a reciprocal license under the Real Estate Licensing and Registration Act.

Act 41 allows for portability of out-of-state professional licensees coming to work in Pennsylvania. Act 41 does this by granting all boards and commissions within the Commonwealth the authority to endorse licensees from other states, territories, or jurisdictions (with substantially equivalent licensing requirements) who are active, in good standing and without discipline against their license or criminal conviction.



 Content Editor ‭[2]‬