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RENTAL LISTING REFERRAL AGENT  

SOLE PROPRIETOR INITIAL APPLICATION 
 

Make sure this is the most recent application by checking our website.  Failure to submit a current 

application could result in delays while processing your application. 

 

PLEASE READ THE FOLLOWING BEFORE PROCEEDING WITH THE APPLICATION PROCESS 

 

If a pending application is older than one year from the date submitted and the applicant wishes to 

continue the application process, the Commission shall require the applicant to submit a new application 

including the required fee. 

  

In order to complete the application process, many of the supporting documents associated with the 

application cannot be more than six months from the date of issuance.  All background check documents 

cannot be older than 90 days from the date of issuance. 

 

Failing to answer any questions or providing false answers may result in the refusal of a license or 

subsequent disciplinary action once the license is issued.   

 

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER DISCLOSURE:  NOTICE: Disclosing your Social Security Number on this 

application is mandatory in order for the State Boards to comply with the requirements of the Federal 

Social Security Act pertaining to Child Support Enforcement, as implemented in the Commonwealth of 

Pennsylvania at 23 Pa.C.S. § 4304.1(a). At the request of the Department of Human Services (DHS) the 

licensing boards must provide to DHS information prescribed by DHS about the licensee, including the 

social security number.  

 

Licenses are not forwarded.  Provide your current address to receive correspondence from the 

Commission.  It is the applicant’s responsibility to inform the Commission of an address or name change 

within ten (10) days of the change.  Refer to the “Name/Address Change” form located on our website. 

INSTRUCTIONS 

 

1. The application responses must either be typed or printed in blue or black ink. 

 

2. If you are practicing under a fictitious name, that name must first be registered with the 

Pennsylvania Corporation Bureau.  Questions about fictitious names should be directed to the 
Corporation Bureau at www.dos.pa.gov/corps.  Fictitious names may not be false, misleading, or 

deceptive.  

 

3. Signs must include the phrase “Rental Listing Referral Agent.” 

 

APPLICATION CHECKLIST 
 

Attach the following documents to this application: 

 

 Check or money order made payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. 

 INITIAL LICENSURE – $169.50 – Includes $94.50 licensure fee and $75.00 

application fee. 

 If you have NEVER held a Pennsylvania real estate license, add $10.00 for the recovery 

fund fee = $179.50. 

 All fees are NON-REFUNDABLE regardless of whether a license is issued.  A $20.00 

processing fee will be charged for any returned unpaid check. 

 

STATE REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 

PO Box 2649 
Harrisburg PA 17105-2649 

 

Phone Number 717-783-3658 

Fax Number: 717-787-0250 
www.dos.pa.gov/estate 

http://www.dos.pa.gov/corps
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 Official Transcripts evidencing 60 hours (4 credits) of basic real estate courses – 

Courses must comply with 49 Pa. Code § 35.275(b) AND must be completed within 10 years of 

the passing date of both portions of the examination. 
 

 Exam Results from the testing service evidencing a passing score on both portions of 

the real estate salesperson examination within 3 years of the date this application is 

received in the Commission Office – Applicants who have held a current license from 

another state within the last 5 years must provide proof of passing the state portion of the 

examination.  They are not required to retake the national portion of the examination. 
 

 Certification of Licensure/Letter of Good Standing – If you hold a current license from 

another state, or have been licensed within the last 5 years in another state, a Certification of 

Licensure or Letter of Good Standing can be submitted in lieu of scores for the national portion 

of the examination, provided you passed the national portion of the examination in the other 

state. 
 

 Criminal Background Check completed by the State Police where the applicant resides 

and dated within 90 days of the date this application is received in the Commission 

office. 

 If you reside in Pennsylvania, background checks may be obtained online at: 

https://epatch.state.pa.us    

 If you reside outside the state of Pennsylvania, you must obtain a background check 

from the State Police in that state. 

 The background check must contain the Applicant’s date of birth and social security 

number. 

 The background check must either state “No Record” or “Record Exists.” Background 

checks that reflect “Pending”  “Under Review,” or “Under Request” cannot be 

submitted.  Questions regarding the status of a background check must be directed to 

the State Police. 

 If “Record Exists”—submit originals of the following for EACH conviction: 

o The conviction summary information provided by the State Police;  

o Certified copies of court documents; 

o Letter from the probation office, dated within 90 days, indicating current 

probationary status/completion date; 

o Police incident reports; 

o Employment History (resume); 

o Detailed description (in applicant’s words) of the circumstances surrounding the 

conviction, the basis for the conviction and the disposition of the conviction; 

o A signed and dated reference letter from the employing broker, on the company’s 

letterhead, indicating that the broker is aware of all conviction(s) and is willing to 

hire the applicant; 

o Two signed and dated character references from individuals who are not 

related to or residing with the applicant. 
 

 Documentation regarding discipline (if applicable).  If your real estate license in 

another state or other professional license in any state has been the subject of discipline, 

submit all documentation related to the disciplinary action.   
 

PROCESSING INFORMATION 

 

Please see the Commission’s website www.dos.pa.gov/estate  for additional information about 

licensure and application requirements. 
To check the status of your application or to apply online visit www.mylicense.state.pa.us  

 
A $55.00 RE-INSPECTION FEE WILL BE CHARGED WHENEVER THERE IS A 

FAILED INSPECTION. 
 

YOU MAY NOT PRACTICE UNTIL THE COMMISSION ISSUES YOUR LICENSE  

https://epatch.state.pa.us/
http://www.dos.pa.gov/estate
http://www.mylicense.state.pa.us/
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RENTAL LISTING REFERRAL AGENT 

SOLE PROPRIETOR INITIAL APPLICATION 
 

1. Applicant’s Legal Name: 

 

2. Applicant’s Trade Name: 

 

3. Applicant’s Office Address: 

(Street) 

 

 

(City)         (State)   (Zip) 

 

4. Applicant’s Home Address: 

(Street) 

 

 

(City)         (State)   (Zip) 

  

5. Applicant’s Email Address: 
 Check here if you would like to receive communications regarding your 

application via email.  If you check this box, please be sure to add       

ra-realestate@pa.gov to your address book. 

 

6. Applicant’s Social Security Number:  __ __ __ - __ __ - __ __ __ __ 

 

7. Applicant’s Date of Birth:  __ __ / __ __ / __ __ __ __ 

 

8. Applicant’s Phone Number:  (__ __ __) __ __ __ - __ __ __ __ 

 

9. Office Phone Number:  (__ __ __) __ __ __ - __ __ __ __ 

 

10. Phone Number where the applicant can be contacted directly:  (__ __ __) __ __ __ - __ __ __ __ 

 

11. Does the rental listing referral agent’s contracts contain the following statement in bold print:   

“WE ARE A REFERRAL SERVICE ONLY.  WE ARE NOT ACTING AS REAL ESTATE 

SALESPERSONS OR BROKERS.  WE DO NOT GUARANTEE THAT THE PURCHASER WILL 

FIND A SATISFACTORY RENTAL UNIT THROUGH OUR SERVICES.  OUR ONLY PURPOSE 

IS TO FURNISH THE PURCHASER WITH LISTS OF AVAILABLE RENTAL UNITS.” 

 No   Yes 

 

12. Do you hold, or have you ever held, a license, certificate, permit, registration or other authorization          
to practice a profession or occupation in any state or jurisdiction?   No      Yes 

 

13. If you answered yes to the above question, please provide the profession and state or jurisdiction.  

Please do not abbreviate the profession. ____________________________________________ 

 

14. Have you had disciplinary action taken against a professional or occupational license, certificate, 

permit, registration or other authorization to practice a profession or occupation issued to you in any 

state or jurisdiction or have you agreed to voluntary surrender in lieu of discipline?  No      Yes 

 

15. Do you currently have any disciplinary charges pending against your professional or occupational 
license, certificate, permit or registration in any state or jurisdiction?  No      Yes 

 

STATE REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 

PO Box 2649 
Harrisburg PA 17105-2649 

Phone Number 717-783-3658 

Fax Number: 717-787-0250 
www.dos.pa.gov/estate  

mailto:ra-realestate@pa.gov
http://www.dos.pa.gov/estate
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16. Have you withdrawn an application for a professional or occupational license, certificate, permit or 

registration, had an application denied or refused, or for disciplinary reasons agreed not to apply or 

reapply for a professional or occupational license, certificate, permit or registration in any state or 
jurisdiction?  No      Yes 

 

17. Have you been convicted (found guilty, pled guilty or pled nolo contendere), received probation 

without verdict or accelerated rehabilitative disposition (ARD), as to any criminal charges, felony or 

misdemeanor, including any drug law violations?  Note: You are not required to disclose any ARD or 
other criminal matter that has been expunged by order of a court.  No      Yes 

 

18. Do you currently have any criminal charges pending and unresolved in any state or jurisdiction?  
 No      Yes 

 

Disciplinary action includes any revocation, suspension, voluntary surrender, reprimand, probation, civil 

penalty or any restriction in practice.  If any disciplinary action has been taken against any license in any 

state, submit all documentation about the disciplinary action.  

 

Conviction includes a finding or verdict of guilt, an admission of guilt, a plea of nolo contendere or 

receiving probation without verdict, disposition in lieu of trial or an Accelerated Rehabilitation Disposition 

in the disposition of criminal charges. Only felony and misdemeanor convictions must be reported to the 

Commission.  If a conviction has occurred in any state that has not yet been reported to the Commission, 

submit all documentation about the conviction.  If you answered “Yes” to any of the disciplinary or 

conviction questions, provide complete details as well as certified copies of relevant documents to the 

Commission. 

 

 Check box if claiming a Business fee exemption for veteran-owned and reservist-

owned small business under Act 135 of 2016 (51 Pa.C.S. §§ 9610-9611) 

 

Under Act 135 of 2016, veterans and reservists starting or opening a small business in the Commonwealth 

are exempt from the payment of a business fee effective January 2, 2017. Therefore, the board will waive 

the initial application fee for veteran- or reservist-owned small businesses as follows: 

 

1. The veteran/reservist owner(s) must certify below that they are starting a small business in the 

Commonwealth.  A small business must be independently owned, not dominant in its field of 

operation and employ 100 or fewer employees.  The business must be owned AND controlled by a 

veteran or reservist.  For businesses with multiple owners, at least 51% of the ownership interest 

must be held by veterans/reservists to claim the exemption. 

 

2. The veteran/reservist owner(s) must attach proof of the veteran's or reservist's status at the time 

the initial application is submitted. Such proof includes a legible photocopy of: 

 A Federal DD-214 form 

 A Federal NGB-22 form 

 A valid Federal Veterans' Administration card or 

 A valid Department of Defense-issued military identification card 

 

CERTIFICATION STATEMENT: 

 

I hereby certify that I am applying for this license in order to start or open a small business in the 

Commonwealth of Pennsylvania as defined above, that I am a veteran or reservist as evidenced by the 

attached documentation, and that at least 51% of the ownership of the small business is veteran- or 

reservist-owned. 

 

 

______________________________________________  __________________ 

Signature of veteran/reservist applicant     Date 

 

______________________________________________   

Printed name of veteran/reservist applicant 

** Use additional sheets as necessary for each veteran/reservist owner 
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APPLICANT’S CERTIFICATION 

 

By submitting this information, I verify that this application is in the original format as supplied by the 

Department of State and has not been altered or otherwise modified in any way.  I am aware of the 

criminal penalties for tampering with public records or information under 18 Pa.C.S. § 4911. I verify that 

the statements in this application are true and correct to the best of my knowledge, information and 

belief.   I understand that false statements are made subject to the penalties of 18 Pa.C.S. § 4904 

(relating to unsworn falsification to authorities) and may result in the suspension, revocation or denial of 

my license, certificate, permit or registration. 

 

 

(Applicant’s Signature) (Date) 


