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BROKER and CEMETERY BROKER EXAMINATION APPLICATION 
 

Make sure this is the most recent application by checking our website.  Failure to submit a current 
application could result in delays while processing your application. 

 
PLEASE READ THE FOLLOWING BEFORE PROCEEDING WITH THE APPLICATION PROCESS 

 
If a pending application is older than one year from the date submitted and the applicant wishes to 
continue the application process, the Commission shall require the applicant to submit a new application 
including the required fee. 
 
In order to complete the application process, many of the supporting documents associated with the 
application cannot be more than six months from the date of issuance. 
 
Failing to answer any questions or providing false answers may result in the refusal of a license or 
subsequent disciplinary action once the license is issued.   
 
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER DISCLOSURE:  NOTICE: Disclosing your Social Security Number on this 
application is mandatory in order for the State Boards to comply with the requirements of the Federal 
Social Security Act pertaining to Child Support Enforcement, as implemented in the Commonwealth of 
Pennsylvania at 23 Pa.C.S. § 4304.1(a). At the request of the Department of Human Services (DHS), the 
licensing boards must provide to DHS information prescribed by DHS about the licensee, including the 
social security number.  
 
Licenses are not forwarded.  Provide your current address to receive correspondence from the 
Commission.  It is the applicant’s responsibility to inform the Commission of an address or name change 
within ten (10) days of the change.  Refer to the “Name/Address Change” form located on our website. 

 
INSTRUCTIONS 

 
1. The application responses must either be typed or printed in blue or black ink. 

   
2. An applicant with a bachelor’s degree with a major in real estate, a bachelor’s degree that included 

coursework equivalent to a major in real estate, or juris doctor degree will be deemed to have met 
the education requirement. 

 
3. Courses must be completed within 10 years of the passing date of both portions of the examination. 

 
4. Non-licensed applicants who gained their 3 years of experience in an exempt setting, such as 

attorneys, must document their experience on a detailed resume listing specific experiences in a 
combination of, but not limited to, the following: 

a. Counseling in real estate issues or areas where the advice is not primarily legal in scope 
b. Negotiations other than for legal issues 
c. Sale, purchase, management or lease of real estate. 

 
*If you are using experience as an attorney, a Certificate of Good Standing from the Supreme Court 
must accompany your resume. 

 
  

STATE REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 
PO Box 2649 
Harrisburg PA 17105-2649 

 
Phone Number 717-783-3658 

Fax Number: 717-787-0250 
www.dos.pa.gov/estate  
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APPLICATION CHECKLIST 
 

Attach the following documents to this application: 
 

 Check or money order made payable to the “Commonwealth of Pennsylvania” for 
$40.00.  All fees are NON-REFUNDABLE regardless of whether examination approval is 
issued.  A $20.00 processing fee will be charged for any payment returned by your bank. 

 
 Official transcripts evidencing completion of the required real estate instruction (if 

applicable) 
 
 Certificate of License History (if applicable) 

 
 Applicable completed experience chart 

 
 Resume (if applicable) 

 
 Certificate of Good Standing from the Supreme Court (if applicable) 

 
• You should maintain a copy of this application until a license has been issued. 
• Please see the Commission’s website, www.dos.pa.gov/estate, for additional information about 

licensure and application requirements. 
• To check the status of your application or to apply online, go to www.mylicense.state.pa.us 

 
Broker Applicants: 

 
1. Applicants must be at least 21 years of age and have a high school diploma or its equivalent. 

 
2. Applicants must complete 16 credits/240 hours (1 credit = 15 hours) of real estate instruction.        

Applicants who have completed the credits through a Commission-approved education provider must 
take the following Commission-developed courses: 

a. Real Estate Office Management (at least 2 credits) 
b. Real Estate Law (at least 2 credits) 
c. At least 6 credits in 3 of the following Commission-developed courses: 

 
Valuation of Income-Producing 
Property  
Valuation of Residential Property 
Residential Construction 
Real Estate Sales 

Real Estate Investment  
Real Estate Finance 
Non-Residential Property Management  
Residential Property Management 

 
d. The remaining 6 credits can be completed in any of the above courses or other elective courses.  

Please note a maximum of 4 credits is allowable per course.  Courses completed in another 
state must have been completed through an education provider who is approved in that state. 

 
3. If you held an active broker’s license from another state within the last 5 years, you must submit a 

Certificate of License History from that state, dated within 90 days of the date this application is 
received in the Commission office.  The certificate: 

a. Exempts you from retaking the national portion of the examination in this state. 
b. May provide an educational exemption or credit. 

• If the certificate documents 16 credits/240 hours of education or that you have held an 
active license as a broker for more than 8 years, you will not need to show proof of your 
education. 

• If the certificate documents less than 16 credits/240 hours of education, 2 credits will be 
awarded for each year of active practice as a broker in the licensing state. 
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4. Licensed applicants must also complete and document a minimum of 3 years of real estate experience 

by documenting 200 points using the following point system: 
• Sale (Commercial or Residential) ................................................................. 5 points 
• Exclusive listing which sold (Commercial or Residential) ................................. 5 points 
• Unsold exclusive listing (Commercial or Residential). ........................................ 1 point 
• Lease (Commercial) ................................................................................... 5 points 
• Lease (Residential) ....................................................................................... 1 point 
• Property Management Assistance (Commercial or Residential)…. ........... 6 points/month 

 
If you are a licensed salesperson in another state, and you are using experience from that state, 
you must submit a Certificate of License History from that state. 
 
If your experience has been earned under more than one employer, you must complete a separate 
chart for each and have the chart signed by the broker/builder. 
 
DOES NOT APPLY TO APPLICANTS WHO ARE ALREADY LICENSED AS A BROKER IN 
ANOTHER STATE   

 
 

Cemetery Broker Applicants: 
 

1. Applicants must be at least 21 years of age. 
 

2. Applicants must complete 4 credits/60 hours (1 credit = 15 hours) of real estate instruction.  The 
credits may be earned in one of the following ways: 

a. Completing Real Estate Fundamentals and Real Estate Practice from an approved education 
provider; 

b. Completing basic real estate courses in another state from an approved provider in that state. 
 

3. If you held an active salesperson’s license from another state within the last 5 years, you must submit 
a Certificate of License History from that state, dated within 90 days of the date this application is 
received in the Commission office.  The certificate/letter: 

a. Exempts you from retaking the national portion of the examination in this state; 
b. Exempts you from providing education transcripts IF it documents 4 credits/60 hours of 

instruction. 
 

4. Applicants must also complete and document a minimum of 3 years of real estate/cemetery 
experience.  Licensed applicants must demonstrate their experience by documenting 200 points using 
the following point system: 

• Plot Sale ......................................................................................................... 5 points 
• Mausoleum sale ............................................................................................... 5 points 
• Crypt sale ....................................................................................................... 5 points 
• Sale (Commercial or Residential) ....................................................................... 5 points 
• Exclusive listing which sold (Commercial or Residential) ........................................ 5 points 
• Unsold exclusive listing (Commercial or Residential) ............................................... 1 point 
• Active/Expired lease (Commercial) ..................................................................... 5 points 
• Active/Expired lease (Residential) ........................................................................ 1 point 
• Property Management Assistance (Commercial or Residential) ..................... 6 points/month 

 
If your experience has been earned under more than one employer, you must complete a separate 
chart for each and have the chart signed by the broker/builder. 
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BROKER EXAMINATION APPLICATION 
 

1. Applicant’s Legal Name: 
 

2. Applicant’s Address: 
(Street) 

 
 

(City) (State) (Zip) 
 

3. Applicant’s Social Security Number:  __ __ __ - __ __ - __ __ __ __ 
 

4. Applicant’s Date of Birth:  __ __ / __ __ / __ __ __ __ 
 

5. Applicant’s Phone Number:  (__ __ __) __ __ __ - __ __ __ __ 
 

6. Applicant’s Email Address: 
 Check here if you would like to receive communications regarding your 
application via email.  If you check this box, please be sure to add 
ra-realestate@pa.gov to your address book. 

 
7. Are you a high school graduate or do you hold a GED?   Yes    No    Cemetery Broker 

 
8. Have you ever been issued a real estate license by the Pennsylvania Real Estate Commission? 

 No  Yes – Type of License: License Number: 
 

9. Have you ever been issued a real estate license in another state? 
 No  Yes – Type of License: State: License Number: 

 
 
APPLICANT’S CERTIFICATION 
 

By submitting this information, I verify that this application is in the original format as supplied by the 
Department of State and has not been altered or otherwise modified in any way.  I am aware of the 
criminal penalties for tampering with public records or information under 18 Pa.C.S. § 4911. I verify that 
the statements in this application are true and correct to the best of my knowledge, information and 
belief.   I understand that false statements are made subject to the penalties of 18 Pa.C.S. § 4904 
(relating to unsworn falsification to authorities) and may result in the suspension, revocation or denial of 
my license, certificate, permit or registration. 
 
 
(Applicant’s Signature) (Date) 

   

STATE REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 
PO Box 2649 
Harrisburg PA 17105-2649 

Phone Number 717-783-3658 
Fax Number: 717-787-0250 

www.dos.pa.gov/estate 
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BROKER EXPERIENCE CHART 
Complete a separate chart for each employer and have the broker/builder sign the certificate below.  Make 
additional copies of the chart, as needed.  List each activity separately. 
 

A. ACTIVITY TYPE:  Sale, Exclusive listing sold, exclusive listing unsold, lease, property 
management 

B. DATE TRANSACTION COMPLETED:  If you listed and sold the same property, provide both dates 
 
APPLICANT’S NAME: 
 
ACTIVITY 

TYPE 
PROPERTY 

TYPE 
LOCATION 

Street, City, State 
REPRESENTATION 

(Circle all that apply) 
DATE 

M/D/YY 
POINTS 
EARNED 

 Residential 
 

Commercial 

 Buyer Lessee 
 
Seller Lessor 

  

 Residential 
 

Commercial 

 Buyer Lessee 
 
Seller Lessor 

  

 Residential 
 

Commercial 

 Buyer Lessee 
 
Seller Lessor 

  

 Residential 
 

Commercial 

 Buyer Lessee 
 
Seller Lessor 

  

 Residential 
 

Commercial 

 Buyer Lessee 
 
Seller Lessor 

  

 Residential 
 

Commercial 

 Buyer Lessee 
 
Seller Lessor 

  

 Residential 
 

Commercial 

 Buyer Lessee 
 
Seller Lessor 

  

 Residential 
 

Commercial 

 Buyer Lessee 
 
Seller Lessor 

  

 Residential 
 

Commercial 

 Buyer Lessee 
 
Seller Lessor 

  

 Residential 
 

Commercial 

 Buyer Lessee 
 
Seller Lessor 

  

 Residential 
 

Commercial 

 Buyer Lessee 
 
Seller Lessor 

  

 
BROKER/BUILDER CERTIFICATION 

 
I do hereby certify that the applicant, __________________________________________, was 
employed by me as a salesperson from ____________ to ____________ and hereby certify that the 
listed documentation of activity under my employ is true and correct.  I understand that any false 
statement made by me is subject to the penalties of 18 Pa. C.S. Section 4904 (relating to unsworn 
falsification to authorities) and may result in the suspension or revocation of my license. 
 
 
(Broker/Builder’s Name) (License Number) (Broker/Builder’s Signature) (Date) 
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CEMETERY BROKER EXPERIENCE CHART 
Complete a separate chart for each employer and have the broker/builder sign the certificate below.  Make 
additional copies of the chart, as needed.  List each activity separately. 
 

A. ACTIVITY TYPE:  Sale, Exclusive listing sold, exclusive listing unsold, lease, property 
management 

B. DATE TRANSACTION COMPLETED:  If you listed and sold the same property, provide both dates 
 
APPLICANT’S NAME: 
 

ACTIVITY 
TYPE 

PROPERTY 
TYPE 

LOCATION 
Street, City, State 

REPRESENTATION 
(Circle all that apply) 

DATE 
M/D/YY 

POINTS 
EARNED 

 Residential 
Commercial 
Cemetery 

 Buyer Lessee 
 
Seller Lessor 

  

 Residential 
Commercial 
Cemetery 

 Buyer Lessee 
 
Seller Lessor 

  

 Residential 
Commercial 
Cemetery 

 Buyer Lessee 
 
Seller Lessor 

  

 Residential 
Commercial 
Cemetery 

 Buyer Lessee 
 
Seller Lessor 

  

 Residential 
Commercial 
Cemetery 

 Buyer Lessee 
 
Seller Lessor 

  

 Residential 
Commercial 
Cemetery 

 Buyer Lessee 
 
Seller Lessor 

  

 Residential 
Commercial 
Cemetery 

 Buyer Lessee 
 
Seller Lessor 

  

 Residential 
Commercial 
Cemetery 

 Buyer Lessee 
 
Seller Lessor 

  

 Residential 
Commercial 
Cemetery 

 Buyer Lessee 
 
Seller Lessor 

  

 Residential 
Commercial 
Cemetery 

 Buyer Lessee 
 
Seller Lessor 

  

 Residential 
Commercial 
Cemetery 

 Buyer Lessee 
 
Seller Lessor 

  

 
BROKER/BUILDER CERTIFICATION 

 
I do hereby certify that the applicant, __________________________________________, was 
employed by me as a salesperson from ____________ to ____________ and hereby certify that the 
listed documentation of activity under my employ is true and correct.  I understand that any false 
statement made by me is subject to the penalties of 18 Pa. C.S. Section 4904 (relating to unsworn 
falsification to authorities) and may result in the suspension or revocation of my license. 
 
 
(Broker/Builder’s Name) (License Number) (Broker/Builder’s Signature) (Date) 
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