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BROKER SOLE PROPRIETOR CHANGE APPLICATION 
CHANGE OF LOCATION – CHANGE OF NAME - REACTIVATION 

STANDARD AND RECIPROCAL  
 

Make sure this is the most recent application by checking our website.  Failure to submit a current 
application could result in delays while processing your application. 

 
PLEASE READ THE FOLLOWING BEFORE PROCEEDING WITH THE APPLICATION PROCESS 

 
If a pending application is older than one year from the date submitted and the applicant wishes to 
continue the application process, the Commission shall require the applicant to submit a new application 
including the required fee. 
  
In order to complete the application process, many of the supporting documents associated with the 
application cannot be more than six months from the date of issuance.  All background check documents 
cannot be older than 90 days from the date of issuance. 
 
Failing to answer any questions or providing false answers may result in the refusal of a license or 
subsequent disciplinary action once the license is issued.   
 
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER DISCLOSURE:  NOTICE: Disclosing your Social Security Number on this 
application is mandatory in order for the State Boards to comply with the requirements of the Federal 
Social Security Act pertaining to Child Support Enforcement, as implemented in the Commonwealth of 
Pennsylvania at 23 Pa.C.S. § 4304.1(a). At the request of the Department of Human Services (DHS), the 
licensing boards must provide to DHS information prescribed by DHS about the licensee, including the 
social security number.  
 
Licenses are not forwarded.  Provide your current address to receive correspondence from the 
Commission.  It is the applicant’s responsibility to inform the Commission of an address or name change 
within ten (10) days of the change.  Refer to the “Name/Address Change” form located on our website. 

 
To qualify for a reciprocal license, you must meet both of the following requirements: 
 
1. Hold a current, active equivalent or broker license in another state, having been so obtained by 

examination in a state that has entered into a reciprocal agreement with this Commission 
2. Your principle place of business is in another state 

 
Note:  You must maintain a current license in your primary state in order to renew your reciprocal 
Pennsylvania license.  You are required to notify the Commission within 30 days of any change to your 
primary license.  If your primary license is not active at the time of renewal, you cannot renew, and must 
apply for a standard license and pass the state portion of the Real Estate Examination 

 
INSTRUCTIONS 

 
1. The application responses must either be typed or printed in blue or black ink. 
 
2. Members of a real estate association or organization may use a name that connotes membership 

in the association/organization, provided that membership is continued. 
 

3. If you are practicing under a fictitious name, that name must first be registered with the 
Pennsylvania Corporation Bureau.  Questions about fictitious names should be directed to the 
Corporation Bureau online at www.dos.pa.gov/corps. 
 
 

STATE REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 
PO Box 2649 
Harrisburg PA 17105-2649 

 
Phone Number 717-783-3658 

Fax Number: 717-787-0250 
www.dos.pa.gov/estate 

http://www.dos.pa.gov/corps
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4. The applicant must disclose whether they engaged in practice as a sole proprietor while the 

license was inactive or expired.  An additional $5.00 per month must be paid for each month the 
applicant practiced without a current license. 

 
APPLICATION CHECKLIST 

 
Attach the following documents to this application: 
 
 Check or money order made payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. 

• Reactivation of an Expired License - $201.00 
• $5.00 per month late fee, if the business practiced on an 

expired/inactive license.  
• NAME CHANGE 

1. $75.00 for the main location 
2. $20.00 for each licensee, including associate brokers and salespersons. 

• ADDRESS CHANGE 
1. $75.00 for the main location 

• $20.00 for each licensee, including associate brokers and salespersons. 
• A $55.00 reinspection fee will be charged whenever there is a failed 

inspection. 
• All fees are NON-REFUNDABLE regardless of whether a license is issued.  A $20.00 

processing fee will be charged for any returned unpaid check. 
 

 All original wall certificates, including the sole proprietor and any associate broker or 
salespersons licenses, must be returned. 

 
 Criminal Background Check completed by the State Police where the applicant resides 

and dated within 90 days of the date this application is received in the Commission 
office. 

• If you have a current Pennsylvania license, it is not necessary for you to 
obtain a background check. 

• If you reside in Pennsylvania, background checks may be obtained online at: 
https://epatch.state.pa.us   

• If you reside outside the state of Pennsylvania, you must obtain a background check 
from the State Police in that state. 

• The background check must contain the Applicant’s date of birth and social 
security number. 

• The background check must either state “No Record” or “Record Exists.” 
Background checks that reflect “Pending”  “Under Review,” or “Under Request” 
cannot be submitted.  Questions regarding the status of a background check must be 
directed to the State Police. 

• If “Record Exists”—submit originals of the following for EACH conviction: 
o The conviction summary information provided by the State Police;  
o Certified copies of court documents; 
o Letter from the probation office, dated within 90 days, indicating current 

probationary status/completion date; 
o Police incident reports; 
o Employment History (resume); 
o Detailed description (in applicant’s words) of the circumstances surrounding 

the conviction, the basis for the conviction and the disposition of the 
conviction; 

o A signed and dated reference letter from the employing broker, on the 
company letterhead, indicating that the broker is aware of all conviction(s) 
and is willing to hire the applicant; 

o Two signed and dated character references from individuals who are not related 
to or residing with the applicant. 
 

https://epatch.state.pa.us/
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 Photocopy of the Pennsylvania Corporation Bureau-approved Fictitious Name 

Registration (if applicable) - Fictitious names may not be false, misleading, or deceptive.   
 
 Bank Escrow Verification Letter – Sole proprietors must have an escrow account, regardless 

of whether the account will be used.  The broker must be an authorized signatory on the 
account.  Applicants must submit an original letter from their bank verifying the entity name 
and identifying authorized signatories on the account. 

 
 Certification of Licensure (if applicable) – If the entity maintains its office in another state, 

a Certificate of Licensure or Letter of Good Standing from that state’s Real Estate Commission 
must be submitted.  The Certification must be dated within 90 days of the date the application 
is received in this office. 

 
 Documentation regarding discipline (if applicable) 
 
 Official Transcripts – (if applicable) Showing completion of 14 hours of Commission-

approved continuing education courses completed within 2 years preceding the date of 
submission of this application UNLESS the applicant holds another current Pennsylvania real 
estate license.  Courses used to reactivate a license may not be reused to renew the license at 
renewal time.  An additional 14 hours of continuing education will be required. 

 
If your license is currently inactive or expired, you have five years from the date of 
inactivity or expiration to reactivate your license without taking the licensing 
examinations.  Your completed application for reactivation must be received in our 
office before your five year deadline.  A completed application includes the 
reactivation fee, criminal background check, conviction documents (if applicable), 
and continuing education certificates.  Applications will not be considered complete if 
they are faxed or emailed, as a fee cannot be submitted in this manner. 

 
 Exam Results – (if applicable) If the license was expired for more than 5 years, 

submit original notices from the testing service evidencing a passing score on both 
portions of the real estate broker examination within 3 years of the date this 
application is received in the Commission Office – Applicants who have held a current 
license from another state within the last 5 years, and are not applying for reciprocity, must 
provide proof of passing the state portion of the examination only. 
 

Per Section 501(b) of the Real Estate Licensing and Registration Act, “Any person 
who remains inactive for a period of five years without renewing his license shall, 
prior to having a license reissued to him, submit to and pass the examination 
pertinent to the license for which the person is reapplying”. 

 
PROCESSING INFORMATION 

 
• You should maintain a copy of this application until a license has been issued. 
• Please see the Commission’s website www.dos.pa.gov/estate  for additional information about 

licensure and application requirements. 
• To check the status of your application or to apply online visit www.mylicense.state.pa.us  

 
STANDARD LICENSE APPLICANTS - YOU MAY NOT PRACTICE UNTIL YOU 

HAVE RECEIVED TEMPORARY AUTHORIZATION FROM THE INSPECTOR AFTER 
PASSING INSPECTION. 

A $55.00 RE-INSPECTION FEE WILL BE CHARGED WHENEVER THERE IS A 
FAILED INSPECTION. 

RECIPROCAL LICENSE APPLICANTS – YOU MAY NOT PRACTICE UNTIL AFTER 
A LICENSE HAS BEEN ISSUED.  

http://www.dos.pa.gov/estate
http://www.mylicense.state.pa.us/
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BROKER SOLE PROPRIETOR CHANGE APPLICATION 
SELECT APPLICATION TYPE: 

   CHANGE OF LOCATION    CHANGE OF NAME      REACTIVATION 
 

1. Applicant’s Legal Name: 
 

2. Applicant’s Trade Name: 
 

3. Applicant’s License Number: 
 

4. If reactivating an inactive or expired license, have you provided real estate services as a sole 
proprietor while this license was inactive or expired? 
 No  Yes – When: __ __ / __ __ / __ __ __ __ to __ __ / __ __ / __ __ __ __ 
 

5. Applicant’s Office Address: 
(Street) 

 
 

(City) (State) (Zip) 
 

     a. Please list the date of relocation to this address (if changing location):_______________________ 
 

6. Applicant’s Home Address: 
(Street) 

 
 

(City) (State) (Zip) 
 

7. Applicant’s Email Address: 
 Check here if you would like to receive communications regarding your 
application via email.  If you check this box, please be sure to add 
ra-realestate@pa.gov to your address book. 

 
8. Applicant’s Social Security Number:  __ __ __ - __ __ - __ __ __ __ 

 
9. Applicant’s Date of Birth:  __ __ / __ __ / __ __ __ __ 

 
10. Office Phone Number:  (__ __ __) __ __ __ - __ __ __ __ 

 
11. Phone Number where the Broker can be contacted directly:  (__ __ __) __ __ __ - __ __ __ __ 

 
12. Does the exterior sign list the name under which the entity is doing business?   No      Yes  

 
13. Does the office have a location where business can be conducted in a confidential manner?  

 No      Yes 
 

14. Where is the office located?   A commercial building     A private dwelling 
 

15. If located in a private dwelling, does the office have a separate entrance from the dwelling? 
 No      Yes 

 
16. Does the office have an escrow account?   No      Yes 

 

 

STATE REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 
PO Box 2649 
Harrisburg PA 17105-2649 

Phone Number 717-783-3658 
Fax Number: 717-787-0250 

www.dos.pa.gov/estate 

mailto:ra-realestate@pa.gov
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APPLICANT BACKGROUND INFORMATION: 
 
17. Do you hold, or have you ever held, a license, certificate, permit, registration or other authorization 

to practice a profession or occupation in any state or jurisdiction?    No     Yes 
 

18. If you answered yes to the above question, please provide the profession_______________ and 
state or jurisdiction _______________.  Please do not abbreviate. 
 

19. Since your initial application or last renewal, whichever is later, have you had disciplinary action 
taken against a professional or occupational license, certificate, permit, registration or other 
authorization to practice a profession or occupation issued to you in any state or jurisdiction or have 
you agreed to voluntary surrender in lieu of discipline?   No  Yes 
 

20. Do you currently have any disciplinary charges pending against your professional or occupational 
license, certificate, permit or registration in any state or jurisdiction?   No  Yes 
 

21. Since your initial application or last renewal, whichever is later, have you withdrawn an application 
for a professional or occupational license, certificate, permit or registration, had an application 
denied or refused, or for disciplinary reasons agreed not to apply or reapply for a professional or 
occupational license, certificate, permit or registration in any state or jurisdiction?   No    Yes 
 

22. Since your initial application or last renewal, whichever is later, have you been convicted (found 
guilty, pled guilty or pled nolo contendere), received probation without verdict or accelerated 
rehabilitative disposition (ARD), as to any criminal charges, felony or misdemeanor, including any 
drug law violations?  Note: You are not required to disclose any ARD or other criminal matter that 
has been expunged by order of a court.   No  Yes 
 

23. Do you currently have any criminal charges pending and unresolved in any state or jurisdiction?  
 No  Yes 
 

Disciplinary action includes any revocation, suspension, voluntary surrender, reprimand, probation, civil 
penalty or any restriction in practice.  If any disciplinary action has been taken against any license in any 
state, submit all documentation about the disciplinary action.  
 
Conviction includes a finding or verdict of guilt, an admission of guilt, a plea of nolo contendere or 
receiving probation without verdict, disposition in lieu of trial or an Accelerated Rehabilitation Disposition 
in the disposition of criminal charges. Only felony and misdemeanor convictions must be reported to the 
Commission.  If a conviction has occurred in any state that has not yet been reported to the Commission, 
submit all documentation about the conviction. If you answered “Yes” to any of the disciplinary or 
conviction questions, provide complete details as well as certified copies of relevant documents. 

 
 

APPLICANT’S CERTIFICATION 
By submitting this information, I verify that this application is in the original format as supplied by the 
Department of State and has not been altered or otherwise modified in any way.  I am aware of the 
criminal penalties for tampering with public records or information under 18 Pa.C.S. § 4911. I verify that 
the statements in this application are true and correct to the best of my knowledge, information and 
belief.   I understand that false statements are made subject to the penalties of 18 Pa.C.S. § 4904 
(relating to unsworn falsification to authorities) and may result in the suspension, revocation or denial of 
my license, certificate, permit or registration. 
 
 
(Applicant’s Signature) (Date) 


