

January 16, 2024

TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN:

This letter is in response to your letter requesting information on the requirements for licensure of physicians and other allied health professionals and how primary verification of credentials is conducted by the Board. The following is provided:

- Podiatry Education Form in the application must be completed by the school and sent directly from the school to the Board.
- Licensure examination Scores must be sent directly from the examination agency to the board.
- Other state licensure Verification/Certification of Licensure must be provided from all states where an applicant has ever held a health-related license, registration, certification, or permit to practice.

Sincerely,

Pennsylvania State Board of Podiatry



PENNSYLVANIA STATE BOARD OF PODIATRY

Licensure Verification & Application Information

Does the Board issue a separate license to participate in an American Podiatry Association approved residency program?

No - Full, unrestricted licensure is needed to participate in a training program.

What is the period of time a license is valid in Pennsylvania?

2 Years—All licenses expire on the same date

What is the biennial period?

January 1, ODD to December 31, EVEN

Does the Board provide a grace period to its licensed practitioners when their license expires?

No

Is Continuing Education required by the Board?

Initial Licensure:

Yes

All licensees regulated by the Board must complete 3 hours of Board-approved continuing education in child abuse recognition and reporting.

All prescribers or dispensers applying for licensure/approval must complete at least 4 hours of Board-approved education consisting of 2 hours in pain management or the identification of addiction and 2 hours in the practices of prescribing or dispensing of opioids. Applicants must document, within one year from issuance of the licensure/approval, that they completed this education either as part of an initial education program, a stand-along course from a Board-approved course provider, or a continuing education course from an approved continuing education provider.

Renewal:

All licensees regulated by the Board must complete 2 hours of Board-approved continuing education in child abuse recognition and reporting.

*Additional requirements are posted on the Board's website at www.dos.pa.gov/pod.

Can a license be renewed/reactivated prior to completion of continuing education?

No

Does the Board have a website where license information can be verified?

Yes at www.pals.pa.gov/verify

How often is the information on your website updated?

Daily



Is there a fee to obtain written verification of a license to another licensing board with issue date, expiration date, current status and possible disciplinary information and what is the fee?

Yes

Certification/Verification of Licensure - \$15

Requests must be submitted online at www.pals.pa.gov.

Is the information on the website the same information that would be provided in a verification of licensure?

Yes

Are disciplinary actions available on the Board's website?

Yes

Is the information provided on the Board's website considered electronically secure as well as a primary source for license verification?

Yes

Is the Board's website considered a secure site?

Yes

How often is information regarding verification of licensure on the Board's website updated?

24-48 hours

Is the Board's current newsletter as well as previous versions available on the website?

Yes

If the applicant has a license in another state, do you verify current status (primary source verification) prior to issuing a license?

Yes

Does the Board verify all education/graduation (primary source verification directly from the school to the Board) prior to

issuing a license?

Yes

Does the Board accept the Federation of State Medical Boards FCVS credentials verification service?

No

Does the Board verify examination scores (primary source verification directly from the examination agency to the Board) prior to issuing a license?

Yes

Can we obtain a list of all licensed practitioners on a CD/Disk/Emailed? Is there a fee?

Yes - Go to www.pals.pa.gov - Other Services - List Sales

Is disciplinary information available?

Yes – This information is available on the Board's website – www.pals.pa.gov - Verify a License – Disciplinary Search.

For copies of an action(s), contact the Prothonotary's Office at 717-772-2686

Pennsylvania State Board of Podiatry