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SSTTAATTEE  BBOOAARRDD  OOFF  PPOODDIIAATTRRYY    

RREEAACCTTIIVVAATTIIOONN  oorr  SSTTAATTUUSS  CCHHAANNGGEE  AAPPPPLLIICCAATTIIOONN  
                                                                                                                                                                                                   

 

Send to:      

 

STATE BOARD OF PODIATRY 

P.O. BOX 2649 

HARRISBURG, PA 17105-2649 

www.dos.pa.gov/pod  

or 

2601 NORTH THIRD STREET 

HARRISBURG, PA  17110 

 

 

Full Name 
 

Last First Middle 

 

 

Address 
 

 

 

 

Address 
 

 

 

 

Address 
 

City State Zip 

 

 

Email: 
 

 
 

 

License No. 
 

 

 

 

Telephone No. 
 

 

Name Change 

For a name change, indicate new name below and attach an 8 ½ x 11 photocopy of a legal document verifying the name change (i.e., 
marriage certificate, divorce decree, legal document indicating retaking of a maiden name, etc.). 
 
New Name (Please Print):    __________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

 

LICENSES EXPIRE EVERY EVEN NUMBERED YEAR  

REGARDLESS OF REINSTATEMENT DATE 
 

APPLICANTS MUST COMPLETE THE FOLLOWING: 

1. 

 

 

Enclose a check or money order made payable to the "Commonwealth of Pennsylvania” for $420 (which includes the $395 
registration fee and $25 reactivation fee).  If you have been practicing in Pennsylvania beyond the expiration date, include a 
late fee of $5 per month or part of a month. 
 

FEES ARE NOT REFUNDABLE.   Check or money order must be in “US funds.”  Note:  A processing fee of $20.00 will 
be charged for any check or money order returned unpaid by your bank, regardless of the reason for non-payment.  Your 
cancelled check is your receipt of payment. 

 

2. 
 

Complete the legal questionnaire. 
 

3. 

 

 

If documents will be submitted to the Board under a name different from your present name, submit a copy of the legal 
document evidencing the name change (i.e., marriage license, divorce decree, etc.). 
 
 

4. 

 

 

Complete the Verification of Practice / Non-Practice form.   
 
 

5. 

 

 

AS APPLICABLE:  Attach a current Curriculum Vitae listing all periods of employment or unemployment (i.e., child rearing, 
research, etc.) from the expiration date of the license to present.  The list must be in chronological order, include the month 
and year, and indicate the state/territory in which the employment occurred. 
 

6. 
AS APPLICABLE:  Provide an official notification of information (Self Query) from the National Practitioner Data Bank.  

Please refer to the NPDB website for additional information.  When you receive the "Response to your Self Query," 

forward the entire report directly to the Board Office.  You should make a copy for your records. 
 

7. 

 

AS APPLICABLE:     Submit copies of your continuing education certificates/documentation.  Continuing education 
requirements can be found at www.dos.pa.gov/pod.  
 

8. 

 

ALL HEALTH-RELATED LICENSEES:   Act 31 of 2014 requires that licensees complete at least 2 hours of Board-
approved continuing education in child abuse recognition and reporting requirements.  Details can be found at 
www.dos.pa.gov   For a list of Board-approved providers, choose the “Act 31 Mandated Child Abuse Reporter Training” 
link.  Verification of completion must be sent electronically directly from the course provider.  Please note that it may take 7-
10 days for the provider to submit the records to the Board office. 

 

 

 

YOU MUST COMPLETE AND RETURN THIS PAGE OF THE APPLICATION 
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ACTIVE STATUS – REQUESTING ACTIVE-RETIRED STATUS 

 

 I am retired from practice but desire to keep my license active to treat immediate family members only.  I understand that I 
am exempt from the medical professional liability insurance and continuing education requirements. 
 

 Complete Sections A and B.   

 Return your “Active” wall and wallet licenses.  

 Submit a $5 check or money order made payable to the “Commonwealth of Pennsylvania.”  
 

 

ACTIVE/RETIRED STATUS – REQUESTING ACTIVE STATUS 

 

 I wish to reinstate my license to an active status.  I have completed the continuing education requirements and will 

hold medical professional liability insurance while practicing in Pennsylvania.   
 

 Complete Sections A, B, and C.   
 Attach a current curriculum vitae listing all periods of employment or unemployment (i.e. child rearing, research, 

etc.) from the expiration date of the license to present.  The list must be in chronological order, include the month 
and year and indicate the state/territory in which the employment occurred.   

 Provide an official notification of information (Self Query) from the National Practitioner Data Bank.  Please refer 

to the NPDB website for additional information.  When you receive the "Response to your Self Query," 

forward the entire report directly to the Board Office.  You should make a copy for your records. 
 Return your “Active-Retired” wall and wallet licenses.   
 Submit copies of your continuing education certificates/documentation.  

 Submit a $5 check or money order made payable to the “Commonwealth of Pennsylvania.”  
 

 

ACTIVE STATUS – REQUESTING INACTIVE STATUS 

 

 I do not wish to practice Podiatry in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and wish to place my license on an inactive 
status.  I understand that to reactivate my license, I will need to meet the continuing education requirements, obtain 
professional liability insurance, and meet any re-entry, clinical skills assessment as required by the Board.   
 

 Complete Sections A and B.   
 Return your “Active” wall and wallet licenses.   
 No fee is required.  

 

 

EXPIRED/INACTIVE STATUS – REQUESTING ACTIVE STATUS 

 

 I wish to reinstate my license to an active status.  I have completed the continuing education requirements and will hold 
professional liability insurance.    
 

 Complete Sections A, B, and C.   
 Attach a current curriculum vitae listing all periods of employment or unemployment (i.e. child rearing, research, 

etc.) from the expiration date of the license to present.  The list must be in chronological order, include the month 
and year and indicate the state/territory in which the employment occurred. 

 Provide an official notification of information (Self Query) from the National Practitioner Data Bank.  Please refer 

to the NPDB website for additional information.  When you receive the "Response to your Self Query," 

forward the entire report directly to the Board Office.  You should make a copy for your records. 
 Submit copies of your continuing education certificates/documentation.   
 Act 31 of 2014 requires all licensees to complete 2 hours of Department of State approved continuing education in 

child abuse recognition and reporting requirements to reactivate a license.  

 Submit a check or money order made payable to the “Commonwealth of Pennsylvania” for $420 (which 
includes the $395 registration fee and $25 reactivation fee)   

 If practicing in Pennsylvania after the license expired, in addition to $420, submit $5 per month, or part of a 
month, since the license expired.    

 

 

YOU MUST COMPLETE AND RETURN THIS PAGE OF THE APPLICATION 
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EXPIRED/INACTIVE STATUS – REQUESTING ACTIVE-RETIRED STATUS 

 

 I wish to reinstate my license to an active-retired status to treat immediate family members only.  I understand that I am 
exempt from the medical professional liability insurance and continuing education requirements. 
 

 Complete Sections A, B, and C.   
 Attach a current curriculum vitae listing all periods of employment or unemployment (i.e. child rearing, research, 

etc.) from the expiration date of the license to present.  The list must be in chronological order, include the month 
and year and indicate the state/territory in which the employment occurred. 

 Act 31 of 2014 requires all licensees to complete 2 hours of Department of State approved continuing education in 
child abuse recognition and reporting requirements to reactivate a license.  

 Submit a check or money order made payable to the “Commonwealth of Pennsylvania” for $420 (which 
includes the $395 registration fee and $25 reactivation fee)   

 If practicing in Pennsylvania after the license expired, in addition to $420, submit $5 per month, or part of a 
month, since the license expired.    

 
 

PLEASE NOTE:  If this application is not completed within six months, updates of certain sections and/or supporting 
documents will be required. 

 

 

You are hereby reminded that in order to practice in Pennsylvania, you must comply with the professional liability insurance 

requirements of your profession as required by law and/or regulation. 
 

EFFECTIVE JAN. 1, 2017, Act 191 of 2014 requires all prescribers and dispensers to register for the Pennsylvania Prescription 
Drug Monitoring Program (PA PDMP). Prescribers are required to query the PA PDMP system for each patient the first time the 
patient is prescribed a controlled substance by the prescriber, when there is clinical concern that the patient may be abusing or 
diverting a controlled substance(s), and/or each time the patient is prescribed an opioid drug product or a benzodiazepine. To learn 
more and to register, please visit www.doh.pa.gov/PDMP. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

 

 

YOU MUST COMPLETE AND RETURN THIS PAGE OF THE APPLICATION 
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SECTION A – LEGAL QUESTIONS 
 

    THE FOLLOWING LICENSE REACTIVATION QUESTIONS MUST BE ANSWERED.  If you answer "YES" to #2 

through #12, provide complete details on a separate sheet as well as copies of relevant documents.  Sign and date below.    

 
 

Yes 
 

 No 

1. 

Do you hold or have you ever held a license, certificate, permit, registration or other authorization to practice 

any health-related profession or occupation in any state or jurisdiction?  If you answered yes, provide the 

profession and state or jurisdiction.   

LIST:  _______________________________________________________ 

  

2. 
Have you withdrawn an application for a professional or occupational license, certificate, permit or 
registration, had an application denied or refused, or for disciplinary reasons agreed not to apply or reapply 
for a professional or occupational license, certificate, permit or registration in any state or jurisdiction?  

  

3. 
Have you had disciplinary action taken against a professional or occupational license, certificate, permit, 
registration or other authorization to practice a profession or occupation issued to you in any state or 
jurisdiction or have you agreed to voluntary surrender in lieu of discipline?                                                          

  

4. 
Do you currently have any disciplinary charges pending against your professional or occupational license, 
certificate, permit or registration in any state or jurisdiction?                                                                              

  

5. 

Have you been convicted (found guilty, pled guilty or pled nolo contendere), received probation without 
verdict or accelerated rehabilitative disposition (ARD), as to any criminal charges, felony or misdemeanor, 
including any drug law violations?  Note: You are not required to disclose any ARD or other criminal matter 
that has been expunged by order of a court.                                                                       

  

6. Do you currently have any criminal charges pending and unresolved in any state or jurisdiction?   

7. 
Have you ever had practice privileges denied, revoked, suspended, or restricted by a hospital or any health 
care facility?                                                                            

  

8. Have you had your DEA registration denied, revoked or restricted?                                                                              

9. 
Have you had provider privileges denied, revoked, suspended or restricted by a Medical Assistance agency, 
Medicare, third party payor or another authority? 

  

10. 
Have you been charged by a hospital, university, or research facility with violating research protocols, 
falsifying research, or engaging in other research misconduct? 

  

11. 
Have you engaged in, the intemperate or habitual use or abuse of alcohol or narcotics, hallucinogenics or 
other drugs or substances that may impair judgment or coordination?                                                                 

  

12. 

Since May 19, 2002, have you been the subject of a civil malpractice lawsuit?  If yes, please submit a copy 

of the entire Civil Complaint, which must include the filing date and the date you were served.  Submit 

a statement which includes complete details of the complaints that have been filed against you. 

**If you previously reported the complaint to the Board provide the docket number ________________ 

  

13. 
I am aware, pursuant to § 29.52 of the Pennsylvania Code, if I practice in Pennsylvania, I must maintain the 
required amount of professional liability insurance.  Failure to do so will result in suspension or revocation of 
my license. 

  

 

SECTION B – VERIFICATION OF INFORMATION 
 

I verify that this application is in the original format as supplied by the Department of State and has not been altered or  otherwise 
modified in any way. I am aware of the criminal penalties for tampering with public records or information under 18 Pa. C.S. § 4911. I 
verify that the statements in this application are true and correct to the best of my knowledge, information and belief. I understand 
that false statements are made subject to the penalties of 18 Pa C.S. § 4904 (relating to unsworn falsification to authorities) and may 
result in the suspension, revocation, or denial of my license, certificate, permit or registration.   
 

 

 
Full Name 
 

Last First Middle 

 

 
Social Security # 
 

 
 

 
Date of Birth 
 

Month Day Year 

 

Name of 
University or  
School 
 

 
 

 
 
Year of Graduation 
 

 

 
Signature   
(Mandatory) 
 

 

 
                                                                                                         
 

 

 

 

 

Date 

 

 

YOU MUST COMPLETE AND RETURN THIS PAGE OF THE APPLICATION 
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SECTION C – VERIFICATION OF PRACTICE/NON-PRACTICE 
 

 

  

VVEERRIIFFIICCAATTIIOONN  OOFF  PPRRAACCTTIICCEE  //  NNOONN--PPRRAACCTTIICCEE  
  

******  YYoouurr  rreeaaccttiivvaattiioonn  ccaannnnoott  bbee  pprroocceesssseedd  uunnlleessss  tthhiiss  ppaaggee  iiss  ccoommpplleetteedd  ******  

 
 

 
Full Name 
 

Last First Middle 

 

 
License No. 
 

  

 

 
 

 

Be sure that you are familiar with the definition of your profession from the licensing law 

which pertains to the license you are reactivating.  THEN, answer the following questions. 
 

Yes No 

1. 

 

Have you engaged in or practiced in your profession in Pennsylvania since your license lapsed or since 
you placed it on inactive status?    
 

  

2. 

 

Have you been employed by the federal government in the practice of your profession since your 
Pennsylvania license lapsed or since you placed it on inactive status?   

                                                                             

  

 

 

I verify that this application is in the original format as supplied by the Department of State and has not been altered or otherwise 
modified in any way.  I am aware of the criminal penalties for tampering with public records or information under 18 Pa. C.S. § 4911.  
I verify that the statements in this application are true and correct to the best of my knowledge, information and belief.   I understand 
that false statements are made subject to the penalties of 18 Pa C.S. § 4904 (relating to unsworn falsification to authorities) and may 
result in the suspension, revocation, or denial of my license, certificate, permit or registration.   
 
 
 

 

Signature of Licensee                                                                                                                                Date 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 

 
 

YOU MUST COMPLETE AND RETURN THIS PAGE OF THE APPLICATION 
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