Begin Main Content Area

​Physical Therapy Assistant

Pennsylvania Licensure Requirements


Associates Degree


1 Examination


2,000 Clinical Hours


30 Hours of Continuing Education


30.00 Initial Fee


45.00 Renewal Fee

An individual certified by the state board to work under the direction and supervision of physical therapists.

Degree Requirement: 

Associates Degree
An applicant must have graduated from a physical therapist assistant program which has been approved by the Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education.

Examination Requirement: 

1 Examination
An applicant must pass the National Physical Therapy Examination.

Experience: 

2,000 Hours
An applicant must complete 2,000 clinical practice hours.  In all practice settings, a physical therapist assistant shall be under the direct on-premises supervision of a licensed physical therapist until the physical therapist assistant submits for approval evidence satisfactory to the board of at least 2,000 hours of experience providing patient-related acts and services verified by a supervising licensed physical therapist.

Continuing Education: 

30 Hours   
During each biennial renewal period, a certified physical therapist assistant shall complete qualifying continuing education equal to at least 30 contact hours of continuing physical therapy education, including at least 4 contact hours in identifying and responding to emergency health conditions and at least 2 contact hours in law or ethics applicable to the practice of physical therapy.

Initial Licensing Fee: 

$30.00

Licensure Renewal Fee: 

$45.00
Biennial renewal of license.

Licensure by Endorsement & Licensure by Act 41:

An applicant for licensure by endorsement who is educated in another state or territory of the United States is required to submit their professional credentials to the State Board of Physical Therapy for review.

Act 41 allows for portability of out-of-state professional licensees coming to work in Pennsylvania. Act 41 does this by granting all boards and commissions within the Commonwealth the authority to immediately endorse licensees from other states, territories or jurisdictions (with substantially equivalent licensing requirements) who are active, in good standing and without discipline against their license or criminal conviction.