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STATE BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY 
P. O. BOX 2649 

HARRISBURG, PA  17105-2649 

717-783-7134 
www.dos.pa.gov/physther 

 
 
 

Application for PHYSICAL THERAPIST or 

PHYSICAL THERAPIST ASSISTANT LICENSURE by ENDORSEMENT 

 
 

 

REQUIREMENTS  - 
 

1. Graduation from a Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education (CAPTE) 
accredited Physical Therapist (bachelor's/master’s/doctoral) or PT Assistant (associate) 

program.   If you are a GRADUATE OF A  PT  SCHOOL OUTSIDE OF THE UNITED  

STATES and satisfy requirements # 2 & 3 below,  contact the board office for a  

“Foreign Educated" application.  Foreign  PTA  graduates are not eligible to apply. 
 

2. Must have obtained licensure by passing the national PT or PTA examination for a state  

other than Pennsylvania with a "scale" score of 600 or above as recommended by the  
Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy.  The 600 is a criterion-referenced score  
equivalent to the “converted”  passing score of 75 previously required. 

 

3. Must hold a valid, unexpired, "permanent" license from another state.  A temporary license 

does not satisfy this requirement of the Practice Act. 
 
 
 

 INSTRUCTIONS  -  (Check List) 

 
 _____1. Complete Pages 1 & 2 of the application and sign the Verification at bottom of page 2. 
 
 _____2. Contact  the FSBPT Score Transfer Service,  124 West Street S, 3rd Fl Alexandria, VA 22314 (703) 739-

9420 / Fax (703) 739-9421,   or   www.fsbpt.org   (click on “Quick Links – Score 
Transfer”).  Arrange that your examination score be provided to the Pennsylvania PT Board. 

 
 _____3. Complete the top section of Page 3 and forward the Verification of Education form to the Dean, 

Registrar or Chairperson of the CAPTE Physical Therapist or Physical Therapist Assistant program at 

the school from which you graduated.  The official must complete bottom section and affix school 

seal where indicated.  The ORIGINAL form is then sent in an official school envelope directly to 

the Pennsylvania board at the above address. 
 
______4. Request Letters of Good Standing from each state licensing board where you have held  

a license to practice as a Physical Therapist or PT Assistant, whether the license is current,  

expired or inactive.   Letters of Good Standing must be sent directly from the state  

licensing board(s) to the Pennsylvania board at the letterhead address. 
 
 
 
 
 

http://www.fsbpt.org/
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  _____5. Attach a curriculum vitae (resume) of all employment activities for the past three years 

to the date of application.  List the beginning / ending dates and name / address of each  

employment;  include your position titles, and specific details regarding your duties / 

responsibilities for each position which involved physical therapy.  Sign and date the CV. 
 

 _____6. If your name appears differently on the application or documents, submit evidence of  
legalized name change (i.e., a copy of marriage certificate or court action authorizing 
the change). 

 

 _____7. FEE: A check or money order in the amount of $30.00 (PT or PTA) payable to  

"Commonwealth of Pennsylvania" is submitted to the board office along with your  

completed, ORIGINAL application.  Attach application fee of $30.00.  Payment can be made by check or 

money order made payable to “Commonwealth of Pennsylvania”.  Do not send cash.  Please note:  a 
$20.00 processing fee will be assessed for any payment returned by your bank, regardless of the reason. 
 If a pending application is older than one year from the date submitted and the applicant wishes to 
continue the application process, the Board shall require the applicant to submit a new application 
including the required fee. 
In order to complete the application process, many of the supporting documents associated with the 
application cannot be more than six months from the date of issuance.  

 

 _____8. MAIL TO:  State Board of Physical Therapy, P.O. Box 2649, Harrisburg, PA  17105-2649   
OR for courier delivery:  2601 North Third Street, Harrisburg, PA  17110 

 

______9. The Bureau of Professional and Occupational Affairs (BPOA), in conjunction with the Department of 
Human Services (DHS), is providing notice to all health-related licensees and funeral directors that are 
considered “mandatory reporters” under section 6311 of the Child Protective Services Law (CPSL) (23 
P.S. § 6311), as amended, that EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2015, all persons applying for issuance of an 
initial license shall be required to complete 3 hours of DHS-approved training in child abuse recognition 
and reporting requirements as a condition of licensure.  Please review the Board website for further 
information on approved CE providers.  Once you have completed a course, the approved provider will 
electronically submit your name, date of attendance, etc., to the Board.   

 Child Abuse Continuing Education Providers Information can be found here. 
 

INFORMATION  - 


Make a copy of your completed application for your file. 
 

Allow 5-10 days for processing of your application AFTER receipt of all required information. 


You may not begin practicing in Pennsylvania until a license has been issued.   PT/PTA  
licenses in Pennsylvania expire on December 31 of each even year.  Renewal notices  
are mailed 60-90 days prior. 



There is a continuing education requirement to maintain your Pennsylvania 
PT/PTA license-refer to the regulations at www.dos.pa.gov/physther . 



Address/name changes must be reported in writing to the Board office within 10 days. 
A name change requires submission of the official authorizing document. 

 

The Practice Act and Rules/Regulations of the Pennsylvania State Board of Physical Therapy are available 

through the Board office or via the internet at  www.dos.state.pa.us/physther. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

http://www.dos.pa.gov/ProfessionalLicensing/BoardsCommissions/Pages/Act-31-Mandated-Child-Abuse-Recognition-and-Reporting-Continuing-Education-Providers.aspx
http://www.dos.pa.gov/physther
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STATE BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY                 (717) 783-7134 
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HARRISBURG, PA  17105-2649 

          

Application for 

PHYSICAL THERAPIST or  PHYSICAL THERAPIST ASSISTANT 

LICENSURE by ENDORSEMENT 
 

APPLICATION IS FOR (check one) :     PHYSICAL THERAPIST        P.T. ASSISTANT               
 

ENDORSEMENT  FEE  -   $30.00 Personal Check or Money Order made payable to "Commonwealth of Pennsylvania." 

Application fees are not refundable.  NOTE:  A processing fee of $20.00 will be charged for any check or money 
order returned unpaid by your bank, regardless of the reason for non-payment.  If a pending application is older than one year 
from the date submitted and the applicant wishes to continue the application process, the Board shall require the applicant to 
submit a new application including the required fee. 
In order to complete the application process, many of the supporting documents associated with the application cannot be more 
than six months from the date of issuance. 

 
 
 

PART ONE     PT  / PTA exam taken previously for Pennsylvania?  (Yes or No) _________ 

 
 
NAME_________________________________________________________________DAYTIME PHONE _______________ 

Last    First   Middl    Maiden 

 
ADDRESS __________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Street   City    State    Zip Code 

 
SOCIAL SECURITY #_____________________BIRTH DATE___________________EMAIL_________________________ 
 
 
 

PART TWO  -  Other state licensures 
 

List  state(s) where you have held a license to practice as a Physical Therapist or PT Assistant and request a letter of good 

standing from each state licensing board whether the license is current, expired or inactive.  These Letters of Good 

Standing are to be sent directly from the state licensing boards to the PA State Board of Physical Therapy. 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 

EXAM DATA:    State for which national PT/PTA exam was passed_______________  Date passed_____________ 
 
 
 

PART THREE  -  Professional education 

Include in chronological order all colleges, physical therapy schools and universities attended. 
 

 
                                    INSTITUTION AND LOCATION  
                                        (Include city and state) 

 
         DATES ATTENDED 

 
     DEGREE 

 
           MAJOR 

 
 

 
From                 To 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
From                 To 

 
 

 
 

 
 

 
From                 To 

 
 

 
                         

 
Note that disclosing your social security number on this application is mandatory in order for the State Board of Physical Therapy to comply 

with the requirements of the federal Social Security Act pertaining to child support enforcement, as implemented in the Commonwealth of 

Pennsylvania at 23 Pa. C.S. § 4304.1(a).  In order to enforce domestic child support orders, the Commonwealth’s licensing boards must provide 

to the Department of Human Services information prescribed by DHS about the licensee, including the social security number.  Additionally, 

disclosing the number is mandatory in order for this board to comply with the reporting requirements of the federal Healthcare Integrity and 

Protection Data Bank.  Reports to the HIPDB must include the licensee’s social security  number. 
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PART FOUR  -  see Instruction #5 
 

Attach a curriculum vitae (resume) of all employment for the last three years to date.  Include 

your position titles and duties/responsibilities for each position.  Sign and date the CV.  
 

 
PART FIVE - 

 
ANSWER THE FOLLOWING:      If you answer "YES" to  question(s) 3-8, give details on a separate sheet       

                                                                AND provide a certified copy of all related official documentation. 

 
 YES 

 
  NO 

 
1.   Do you hold or have you ever held a license, certificate, permit, registration or other 

authorization to practice a profession or occupation in any state or jurisdiction? 

 
 

 
 

2.   If you answered yes to the above question, please provide the profession and state or 
jurisdiction_____________________________________________________________. 

  

3.   Have you had disciplinary action taken against a professional or occupational license, 
certificate, permit, registration or other authorization to practice a profession or occupation 
issued o you in any state or jurisdiction or have you agreed to voluntary surrender in lieu of 
discipline? 

 
 

 
 

4.   Do you currently have any disciplinary charges pending against your professional or 
occupational license, certificate, permit, or registration in any state or jurisdiction? 

  

5.   Have you withdrawn an application for a professional or occupational license, certificate, 
permit, or registration, had an application for a license denied or refused, or agreed not to 
apply or reapply for a professional or occupational license, certificate, permit or registration 
in any state or jurisdiction? 

 
 

 
 

6.   Have you ever been convicted (found guilty, pled guilty, or pled nolo contendere), received 
probation without verdict or accelerated rehabilitative disposition (ARD), as to any criminal 
charges, felony or misdemeanor, including any drug law violations?  Note:  You are not 
required to disclose any ARD or other criminal matter that has been expunged by order of a 
court. 

  

7.  Do you currently have any criminal charges pending and unresolved in any state or 
jurisdiction? 

 
 
 

8.   Do you currently engage in, or have you ever engaged in, the intemperate or habitual use or 
abuse of alcohol or narcotics, hallucinogenics, or other drugs or substances that may impair 
judgment or coordination? 

 
 

 
 

 

  
 

 VERIFICATION 
 
I verify that the  statements in this  application  are  true  and  correct to the best of my knowledge, 

information and belief.  I understand that false statements are made subject to the penalties of 18 PA C.S.§ 
4904 relating to unsworn falsification to authorities and may result in the suspension or revocation of my 

license or registration.  I verify that I have read and am familiar with the content of the Pennsylvania  

Physical  Therapy  Practice Act and regulations of the State Board of Physical Therapy 

(see www.dos.pa.gov/physther).  I also verify that this form is in the original format as supplied by the 

Department of State and has not been altered or otherwise modified in any way.  I am aware of the criminal 

penalties for tampering with public records or information pursuant to 18 Pa. C.S. §4911. 
 
__________________________  _________________________  _________________ 
               Printed Name of Applicant                                           Signature of Applicant                                                Date 
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   STATE BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY 
 P. O. BOX 2649 

 HARRISBURG, PA  17105-2649 

 

 

 

 VERIFICATION OF PHYSICAL THERAPY EDUCATION 
Applicant by  ENDORSEMENT 

 
 

Applicant:    Complete  top section and send form to school of graduation. 
 
 
NAME:__________________________________________________________________________ 

Last                                 First                                    M.I.                                                       Maiden 
 

ADDRESS: ______________________________________________________________________ 
Street 

 
 

City                                 State                            Zip Code 
 
 

SOCIAL SECURITY #   _____________________    DATE OF BIRTH ________________________ 
 
 
 
 
 
 This section to be completed by Dean, Registrar, or Chairperson of the CAPTE accredited Physical Therapist / 

Physical Therapist Assistant Program at the school from which the applicant graduated. 

 
 
I certify that_______________________________has successfully completed all required courses, 

(Name of Applicant) 

 
clinical experience and examinations and graduated on  ______________________________   from 
           (Date of Graduation)  
                    

_____________________________   with a ____________________degree in Physical Therapy. 
(Name of Institution)    (Associate/Bachelor's/Master's/Doctoral) 

_____________________________  This degree is from a program accredited by the Commission 

   (City and State)     on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education (CAPTE). 

    
 
____________________________________________      

(Signature of Dean/Registrar/Chairperson of PT/PTA Program)    SCHOOL SEAL 
(Mandatory)  

________________________________________ 
(Date) 

 
 

School must return completed ORIGINAL form directly to Board office in official sealed school 

envelope  (DO NOT send copy or use envelope if provided by applicant) 
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