
 

 

 

 
 
 

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA 
DEPARTMENT OF STATE 

BUREAU OF PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL AFFAIRS 
STATE BOARD OF OSTEOPATHIC MEDICINE 

 
               Telephone:  (717)-783-4858 

       Fax:   (717)-787-7769 
                                                    www.dos.pa.gov/ost 

Email:  ST-Osteopathic@pa.gov   
 

January 4, 2016 

 
 
TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN: 
 
 This letter is in response to your letter requesting information on the requirements for licensure of physicians and 
other allied health professions and how primary verification of credentials is conducted by the Board.  The following is 
provided: 

 
 

Medical Education - Form in the application must be completed by the medical school and sent directly from the 
school to the Board in an official school envelope. 

 
Completion of AOA Approved Internship – A form in the application must be completed by the hospital(s) and sent 
directly from the hospital to the Board in an official hospital envelope. 

 
Licensure examination - Scores must be sent directly from the examination agency to the board. 

 
Other state licensure - Applicant requests written verification be sent directly from all states where an applicant 
has ever held a license to practice. 

 
A query of the Federation of State Medical Boards is done by the Board on all initial licensure applications. 
 
 

 
       Sincerely, 
 
 
 

Pennsylvania State Board of Osteopathic Medicine 
      
 

 

http://www.dos.pa.gov/ost
mailto:ST-Osteopathic@pa.gov


 

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA 
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PENNSYLVANIA STATE BOARD OF OSTEOPATHIC MEDICINE  
Licensure Verification & Application Information 

 

What licenses does the Board issue? 
 

OS(Physician), PA-C(Physician Assistant), RT(Respiratory Therapist),  
AK(Acupuncturist), ATC(Athletic Trainer), PERF(Perfusionist), and GC (Genetic Counselors)  

What is the period of time a license is valid in Pennsylvania? 
 

2 Years—All licenses expire on the same date 

What is the biennial period? 
 

Physicians, Physician Assistants, and Acupuncturists - November 1, EVEN to October  31, EVEN 
All other license classes – January 1, ODD to December 31, EVEN 

Does the Board provide a grace period to its licensed practitioners when their license expires? 
 

No 

Is Continuing Education required by the Board?                                                                                                              Yes 
 
*Effective January 1, 2015, all licensees regulated by the Board must complete 2 hours of Board-approved continuing 
education in child abuse recognition and reporting.   
 
Additional Continuing Education is required for the following license classes:  

OS – Physician and Surgeons 
RCP – Respiratory Care Practitioners 

ATC- Athletic Trainers  
PERF- Perfusionists 

GC – Genetic Counselors 
*Specific requirements per license class are posted on the Board’s website at www.dos.pa.gov/ost. 
 

Can a license be renewed/reactivated prior to completion of continuing education? 
 

No 

Does the Board have a web site where license information can be verified? 
 

Yes 
www.licensepa.state.pa.us  

How often is the information on your web site updated? 
 

Daily 

Is there a fee to obtain written verification of a license with issue date, expiration date, current status and possible 
disciplinary information and what is the fee? 
 

Yes 
Certification/Verification of Licensure - $15 

Is the information on the web site the same information that would be provided in a verification of licensure? 
 

Yes 

Are disciplinary actions available on the Board’s web site? 
 

Yes 

http://www.dos.pa.gov/ost
http://www.licensepa.state.pa.us/


 

Is the information provided on the Board’s web site considered electronically secure as well as a primary source for 
license verification? 
 

Yes 

Is the Board’s web site considered a secure site? 
 

Yes 

How often is information regarding verification of licensure on the Board’s web site updated? 
 

24-48 hours 

Is the Board’s current Newsletter as well as previous versions available on the web site? 
 

Yes 

If the applicant has a license in another state, do you verify current status (primary source verification directly from the 
licensing board to the PA Board) prior to issuing a license? 
 

Yes  

Does the Board verify all education/graduation (primary source verification directly from the school to the Board) prior to 
issuing a license? 
 

Yes 

Does the Board accept the Federation of State Medical Boards FCVS credentials verification service? 
 

Yes 
However, additional documents are required. 

Does the Board conduct a query of the Federation of State Medical Boards on all initial applications? 
 

Yes 

Does the Board verify examination scores (primary source verification directly from the examination agency to the Board) 
prior to issuing a license? 
 

Yes 

Does the Board verify an AOA approved internship (primary source verification directly from the training facility to the 
Board) prior to issuing a license? 
 

Yes 

Can we obtain a list of all licensed practitioners on a CD/Disk/Emailed?  Is there a fee? 
 

Yes – Contact RA-listrequest@pa.gov 

Is disciplinary information available? 
 

Yes – This information is available on the Board’s website – www.dos.pa.gov/ost  
For copies of an action(s), contact the Prothonotary’s Office at 717-772-2686 

 

 

 

State Board of Osteopathic Medicine 
 
January 4, 2016 
 

Telephone:  717-783-4858 
Fax:  717-787-7769 

st-osteopathic@pa.gov  
www.dos.pa.gov/ost 

 
 

 

 

 

 

mailto:RA-listrequest@pa.gov
http://www.dos.pa.gov/ost

