Begin Main Content Area

‚ÄčOccupational Therapist

Pennsylvania Licensure Requirements


Four-Year Educational Program in Occupational Therapy


1 Examination


6 Months of Experience


24 Hours of Continuing Education


30.00 Initial Fee


55.00 Renewal Fee


Licensed individuals who treat injured, ill, or disabled patients through the therapeutic use of everyday activities. 

Occupational therapists help patients develop, recover, improve, as well as maintain the skills needed for daily living and working.

Degree Requirement: 

Four-Year Educational Program in Occupational Therapy

Applicant has met the academic requirements of an educational program in occupational therapy approved by the Board.

Examination Requirement: 

1 Examination

Applicant has passed the Occupational Therapist Registered (OTR) licensure examination or has qualified for a waiver of the licensure examination administered by the National Board for Certification in Occupational Therapy (NBCOT).

Experience: 

6 Months Experience

An applicant must successfully complete 6 months of supervised fieldwork experience at a recognized educational institute or a training program approved by the educational institution. 

Professional Liability Insurance 

Evidence of professional liability insurance coverage in the minimum amount of $1,000,000 per occurrence or claims made.

Continuing Education:

24 Hours

24 hours of continued competency for licensure renewal.

Initial Licensing Fee: 

$30.00

Licensure Renewal Fee: 

$55.00

Biennial renewal of license.

Licensure by Act 41:

Act 41 allows for portability of out-of-state professional licensees coming to work in Pennsylvania. Act 41 does this by granting all boards and commissions within the Commonwealth the authority to endorse licensees from other states, territories or jurisdictions (with substantially equivalent licensing requirements) who are active, in good standing and without discipline against their license or criminal conviction.