Nursing Home Administrator Board Frequently Asked Questions (Updated 11/4/2022)

Q: How many hours of continuing education are required in order to renew a nursing home administrator license?

A: 48 hours of PA Board approved or NAB approved continuing education programs or courses, which includes 2 hours in child abuse recognition and reporting and 12 hours in subject areas of emergency preparedness and infection control. Any combination of hours completed in emergency preparedness and infection control that totals 12 hours is acceptable. Please click here to review specific information regarding the continuing education requirement.

Q: Is there a limit on the number of hours of continuing education taken by homestudy?

A: No.

Q: This is my first renewal, am I exempt from the continuing education requirement?

A: Yes.

Q: Am I required to use the NAB CE Registry to track my continuing education.

A: The Board's regulations do not require a licensee to participate in the CE Registry offered by NAB. However, upon audit, the Board will accept the CE Registry to document completion of NAB approved continuing education. The Board cannot accept the CE Registry to very any non-NAB-approved continuing education.

Q: Where can I find a listing of the approved providers for the 120 hour program?

A: The listing of the approved providers for the 120 hour program is available on the Board's website at www.dos.pa.gov/nursinghome by clicking on "General Board Information", followed by "Approved Providers of 120-Hour Programs".

Q: What are the requirements to sit for the licensing examinations?

A: The regulations offer 11 options for an individual to become qualified to sit for the examinations. The 11 options are outlined at §39.5(b) of the Board's regulations – regulations are available online at www.dos.pa.gov/nursinghome by clicking on "Board Laws & Regulations", followed by "Regulations".

Q: Is there a time limit on how long my nursing home administrator license can remain on inactive/expired status?

- A: Yes. If a license is inactive/expired for 5 years or more, the licensee must meet one of the following:
 - Retake the licensing examinations.
 - Recently recompleted a Board approved 120 hour program.
 - Have practiced as a nursing home administrator in another jurisdiction for at least 2 years within the last 5 years under a current license in that jurisdiction (may be required to personally appear before the Board).
 - Been employed in a nursing home in a supervisory or consultant capacity for at least 3 years within the last 5 years (may be required to personally appear before the Board).
 - Have taught long-term care subject matter for a continuing education provider approved by the Board to offer the 120-hour program or an accredited college/university for at least 3 years within the last 5 years (may be required to personally appear before the Board).

Q: Do you have a list of nursing homes where I could complete an Administrator In Training (AIT) program?

A: No. It is the responsibility of the applicant to find a nursing home and a nursing home administrator who is willing to train the applicant in an AIT program.

Q: Can I get approval from the Pennsylvania Board to complete an Administrator In Training (AIT) program in another state?

A: No. The Pennsylvania Board only has the authority to grant approval for an AIT program to be completed in a nursing home located in Pennsylvania.

Q: Can I submit an Administrator In Training (AIT) application online?

A: Yes. Please login to your account at www.pals.pa.gov and click on the option to apply for a new license. Please select State Board of Examiners of Nursing Home Administrators, followed by Administrator In Training. You will be required to provide the license number of the NHA who will be supervising your AIT program – please be sure to enter the license number correctly – no spaces and no dashes. The supervising NHA will need to complete his/her portion of the application before the application can be submitted.