
Page 1 of 6 

Revised: 01/04/2016 

PENNSYLVANIA STATE BOARD OF NURSING PHONE (717)783-7142 

P.O. BOX 8411  FAX (717) 783-0822 www.dos.pa.gov/nurse 
HARRISBURG, PA 17105-8411 email: st-nurse@pa.gov

PAPER Application for Exam and/or Graduate Temporary Practice Permit (TPP) & Reexam 

Important Instructions: Read Carefully Prior to Any Application(s) Submission & Print/Retain for Reference 

1) PROHIBITION AGAINST PRACTICING NURSING WITHOUT AUTHORIZATION:

No person may practice nursing in Pennsylvania without a valid Pennsylvania TPP or license. Violations are prosecutable.  The RN and PN 
Laws and Regulations are included on the Board’s website (above) by clicking on Law and Rules and Regulations. 

2) FEES:

 Fees are not refundable and must be paid by personal check, cashier’s check or money order and made payable to the
“Commonwealth of Pennsylvania”. A $20.00 processing fee will be charged for a check/money order returned unpaid. Credit and
debit cards are not accepted.

 Check/money orders drawn on foreign banks are acceptable when “US funds” is identified on the check/money order.

 Applications will not be processed until the fee is received.

 Applications are valid for one year from the date the affidavit is signed.

3) STEPS TO APPLY:

STEP 1: Board Application(s) Submission – Applicant’s Legal Name Must Be Used

Submit an application for Exam/Graduate Temporary Practice Permit to the above address.
NOTE: All new graduates can apply ONLINE (https://www.mylicense.state.pa.us/PersonSearchResults.aspx) unless you are
RETAKING the exam or DO NOT have a social security number, then you CANNOT APPLY ONLINE and must submit this PAPER
application.

STEP 2: Pearson VUE Registration:

At the same time applicants submit their Board Application (Step1) they  MUST  register  and  pay  the  required  fee  ($200,  debit  or
credit  card  only)  to  take  the  exam at  www.pearsonvue.com/nclex.   An email address MUST BE provided with your registration.  If you do
not have one you will need to create one since all correspondence from Pearson VUE will occur via email.

IMPORTANT:  If you are not registered with Pearson VUE at the time we evaluate your application, you will receive a letter with instructions to
register with Pearson Vue and to contact the Board.

Pearson VUE will send you by email an Authorization to Test (ATT) ONCE the Board informs them that you are eligible to take the exam.
The ATT email contains important information including the authorization number, candidate identification number and its expiration date. It is
needed to schedule your test appointment. It is not necessary to take the ATT to the test center only acceptable identification:
https://www.ncsbn.org/1221.htm. Your Identification must have your correct legal name before you register with PearsonVue

4) ADDITIONAL INSTRUCTIONS:

a) Once the Board has received all of the complete and correct documents (listed below) and you have registered with Pearson VUE, allow
approximately 14 BUSINESS DAYS  from the date received for application processing and receipt of your  Authorization to  Test  from  Pearson.
These required documents include the following:

 Application and Fees

 Nursing Education Verification Form- must be sent DIRECTLY from nursing program (attached)

 Official Transcripts (if applicable)

 Testing Accommodation Form (if applicable)

 Court Documents (if applicable)

 Criminal history records check (if applicable)

b) Processing delays occur when application information is missing or required documentation is not provided. A discrepancy email/letter will be sent
from the Board identifying the missing information/documents.

c) Please refer to the resource document “Frequently Asked Questions about TPP, Exam and ATT” on the Board website.
d) The ATT validity dates CANNOT be extended for any reason. If you have not tested in these dates you must reregister and repay the exam fee.
e) Allow 30 days to receive exam results.  Candidates who pass the exam  will  only have a license mailed and it can be verified at

www.mylicense.state.pa.us. Candidates failing the exam are sent a Candidate Performance Report (CPR) with reexam application and instructions.

TESTING ACCOMMODATIONS 

 Candidates requesting testing accommodations, must  answer “YES”  to the question on the exam application, submit  a completed “Request for
Accommodation Form”, found on Board website and submit a copy of an evaluation completed by a licensed physician,  psychologist, certified
registered nurse practitioner, or physician assistant for the determination of accommodations dated within the last 5 years from  the date of the
application.

http://www.dos.pa.gov/nurse
mailto:st-nurse@pa.gov
mailto:st-nurse@pa.gov
https://www.mylicense.state.pa.us/PersonSearchResults.aspx
http://www.pearsonvue.com/nclex
https://www.ncsbn.org/1221.htm
http://www.mylicense.state.pa.us/
http://www.dos.pa.gov/ProfessionalLicensing/BoardsCommissions/Nursing/Documents/Applications%20and%20Forms/RequestForAccommodations.pdf
http://www.portal.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/document/1010419/requestforaccommodations_pdf
http://www.dos.pa.gov/ProfessionalLicensing/BoardsCommissions/Nursing/Documents/Applications%20and%20Forms/RequestForAccommodations.pdf
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SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER (SSN) 
 

 A  SSN must be provided on this application. If you do not have one complete a Waiver of SSN Form. 

 Disclosing your Social Security Number on this application is mandatory in order for the State Boards to comply with the requirements of the Federal 
Social Security Act pertaining to Child Support Enforcement, as implemented in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania at 23 Pa.C.S. § 4304.1(a). At 
the request of the Department of Human Services (DHS), the licensing boards must provide to DHS information prescribed by DHS about the 
licensee, including the social security number. In addition, Social Security Numbers are required in order for the Board to comply with the reporting 
requirements of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, National Practitioner Data Bank. 

 

REEXAM APPLICANT INSTRUCTIONS (Instate or Out-of State Applicants): 
 

 Mail the completed application and fee to the Board. 

 Completion of the NEV is not required as your education information has already been received. 

 Register at the same time with Pearson VUE, an appointment can be scheduled 45 days from last test date. 

 IMPORTANT:  If you are not registered with Pearson VUE at the time we evaluate your application, you will receive a letter with 

instructions to register with Pearson Vue and to contact the Board 

 Accommodations: If applying for reexam the same accommodation(s) will be granted unless there is a modification to the original 

request, this requires a new form and evaluation to be submitted. 

 Reexam applicants previously answering yes to any Criminal/Disciplinary History questions must submit documentation that no 
additional actions have occurred. Any new actions must be accompanied by the documentation required as stated within the 
criminal/disciplinary history section below. 

 

OUT-OF STATE PROGRAM GRADUATES APPLYING FOR LICENSURE BY EXAM AND/OR TPP: 
 

 Request the nursing education program to submit an official transcript and NEV directly to the Board office 

 The transcript must be in English and state the type of degree, certificate or diploma awarded, total clock hours of education completed and 
the month, day and year the program was completed. 

 Section 5 of the Practical Nurse Law (PN Law) and Section 21.158 of the Board regulations require that practical nursing programs 
consist of at least 1500 hours of instruction. OUT-OF-STATE PRACTICAL NURSING PROGRAM GRADUATES: Graduates attending 
practical nursing education programs with less than 1500 clock hours are required to show evidence of additional clock hours 
achieved by completing other nursing related course work or clinical experience to obtain the additional hours. A copy of the 
certificate(s) of completion is acceptable documentation. If the coursework is documented in credit hours, please convert the 
credit hours to clock hours. Contact your course provider regarding this conversion. 

 
TEMPORARY PRACTICE PERMIT (TPP) INFORMATION: NOTE:  A Temporary Practice Permit does not allow you to sit for the NCLEX 
Exam.   

 

 Applications for a Graduate TPP can be submitted during the 1 year period from completion of an approved nursing education program. 

 The practice of nursing may begin after a TPP is issued by the Board. A TPP can be verified at www.mylicense.state.pa.us. 

 The permit expires if the applicant takes the licensing exam. Employment must cease IMMEDIATELY. 

 The graduate nurse who holds a TPP must practice under the supervision of an experienced, Pennsylvania registered nurse who is physically 
present in the unit or area where the graduate nurse is practicing. 

 A TPP may be extended for up to 1 year under certain circumstances, by submitting the application found at www.dos.pa.gov/nurse 

 If you decide to withdraw the application for TPP notify the Board office in writing of this request. 
 

EXAM RESULTS: 
 

 Exam results are mailed within 30 days of the test date. 

 Candidates who PASS the exam are issued a license. A license can be verified at www.mylicense.state.pa.us. 

 Candidates who FAIL the exam are sent a Candidate Performance Report (CPR) issued by the National Council of State Boards of Nursing. This 

report is ONLY intended to provide indications of a candidate’s strengths and weaknesses. The NCLEX is not graded in sections, only overall 

performance on the exam determines pass/fail status. 

 Additional information regarding the exam can be found at www.ncsbn.org. 
 

ADDRESS OR NAM E CHANGES: 
 

 Applicant’s legal name must be entered on the application. 

 Licenses are not forwarded. 

 Licensees are responsible to advise the Board of any address or name change within 10 days of the change. 

 Complete and submit the “Form to Request Change Name &/or Address …” located on the Board’s website, whenever there is a change of name 

&/or address. 

 
CRIMINAL/DISCIPLINARY HISTORY: If “Yes” was checked for any question in Section B, Submit: 

 

 A detailed, signed and dated personal explanation explaining the action, its background and any rehabilitation. 

 A Criminal History Records Check (CHRC) from a State Law Enforcement Authority in all states where you lived in the last five years. All 
background check documents cannot be older than 90 days from the date of issuance. (Applicable ONLY to #B5 and #B6) 

 Copies of criminal Court documents. (Applicable ONLY to #B5 and #B6) 

 Certified copies of all disciplinary actions from the Boards that imposed action (Applicable ONLY to #B2 ,#B3 and #B4). 

http://www.mylicense.state.pa.us/
www.dos.pa.gov/nurse
http://www.mylicense.state.pa.us/
http://www.ncsbn.org/
http://www.dos.pa.gov/ProfessionalLicensing/BoardsCommissions/Nursing/Documents/Applications%20and%20Forms/SSN%20Waiver%20Form.pdf
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Requirement for approved training in child abuse 
recognition and reporting 

The Bureau of Professional and Occupational Affairs (BPOA), in conjunction with 

the Department of Human Services (DHS), is providing notice to all health-related 

licensees and funeral directors that are considered “mandatory reporters” under 

section 6311 of the Child Protective Services Law (CPSL) (23 P.S. § 6311), as 

amended, that EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2015, all persons applying for issuance 

of an initial license shall be required to complete 3 hours of DHS-approved training 

in child abuse recognition and reporting requirements as a condition of licensure. 

Please review the Board website for further information on approved CE providers. 

Once you have completed a course, the approved provider will  electronically 

submit your name, date of attendance, etc., to the Board. Child Abuse Continuing  

Education Providers Information can be found here. 

http://www.dos.pa.gov/nurse
mailto:st-nurse@pa.gov
http://www.dos.pa.gov/ProfessionalLicensing/BoardsCommissions/Pages/Act-31-Mandated-Child-Abuse-Recognition-and-Reporting-Continuing-Education-Providers.aspx
http://www.dos.pa.gov/ProfessionalLicensing/BoardsCommissions/Pages/Act-31-Child-Abuse-Recognition-and-Reporting-Continuing-Education-Providers.aspx%23.VIclqjHF-k1
http://www.dos.pa.gov/ProfessionalLicensing/BoardsCommissions/Pages/Act-31-Mandated-Child-Abuse-Recognition-and-Reporting-Continuing-Education-Providers.aspx
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  Email: st-nurse@pa.gov 

APPLICATION FOR GRADUATE TEMPORARY PRACTICE PERMIT / EXAM / REEXAM 

CHECK ALL ITEMS THAT APPLY: (ALL FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE) 

PA Program Graduates ONLY: 

_____ Graduate RN Permit ($35.00) ______ RN Initial Licensure Exam ($35.00) 

_____ Graduate PN Permit ($35.00) ______ PN Initial Licensure Exam ($35.00) 

Out-of-State Program Graduates: 

Graduate of an Out-of-State Program applying for Initial Licensure Exam   ($100.00)   ___RN ___PN 

Graduate of an Out-of-State Program applying for Permit                                               ($35.00)       ___RN ___PN

Reexam Applicants: 
_____ Reexam RN Licensure ($30.00) _____ Reexam PN Licensure ($30.00) 

SECTION A: APPLICANT INFORMATION: (Print clearly in Blue or Black Ink Only.) 

Name: 
Last First Middle Maiden 

(List any other names you have used. If none enter “None) 

Date of Birth: U.S. Social Security Number:  
Month Day Year 

Address: 
Street 

City State Zip 

( ) Email Address: 
Daytime Phone # 

SECTION B: CRIMINAL/DISCIPLINARY HISTORY: ANSWER THE FOLLOWING QUESTIONS: 

YES NO 

1. 
Are you requesting testing with accommodations? 
Candidates requesting testing accommodations, must submit a completed Request for Accommodation Form, 
found on Board website 

2. Have you had disciplinary action taken against a professional or occupational license, 
certificate, permit, registration or other authorization to practice a profession or 
occupation issued to you in any state or jurisdiction or have you agreed to voluntary 
surrender in lieu of discipline? 

3. 
Do you currently have any disciplinary charges pending against your 

professional or occupational license, certificate, permit or registration in any 

state or jurisdiction? 

4. 
Have you withdrawn an application for a professional or occupational license, certificate, 

permit or registration, had an application denied or refused, or for disciplinary reasons 

agreed not to apply or reapply for a professional or occupational license, certificate, 

permit or registration in any state or jurisdiction? 

http://www.dos.pa.gov/nurse
mailto:st-nurse@pa.gov
http://www.dos.pa.gov/ProfessionalLicensing/BoardsCommissions/Nursing/Documents/Applications%20and%20Forms/RequestForAccommodations.pdf
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Name:  SSN:    
 

             YES                    NO 

5. 
Have you been convicted (found guilty, pled guilty or pled nolo contendere), received 

probation without verdict or accelerated rehabilitative disposition (ARD), as to any 

criminal charges, felony or misdemeanor, including any drug law violations? Note: You 

are not required to disclose any ARD or other criminal matter that has been expunged 

by order of a court. 

  

6. 
Do you currently have any criminal charges pending and unresolved in any 

state or jurisdiction? 

  

7. 
Do you currently engage in, or have you ever engaged in, the intemperate or habitual 

use or abuse of alcohol or narcotics, hallucinogenics or other drugs or substances that 

may impair judgment or coordination? 

  

8. 
Have you ever had your DEA registration denied, revoked or restricted?   

9. 
Have you ever had provider privileges denied, revoked, suspended or restricted by a 
Medical Assistance agency, Medicare, third party payor or another authority? 

  

10. 
Have you ever had practice privileges denied, revoked, suspended or restricted by a 
hospital or any health care facility? 

  

11. 
Have you ever been charged by a hospital, university, or research facility with 

violating research protocols, falsifying research, or engaging in other research 

misconduct? 

  

 
 

SECTION C: PROFESSIONAL INFORMATION: 
 

             YES                  NO 

1. 
Do you hold, or have you ever held, a license, certificate, permit, registration or 

other authorization to practice a profession or occupation in any state or 

jurisdiction? 

  

If you answered yes to the above question, please provide the profession and state or jurisdiction. Please 
do not abbreviate the profession. 

 

STATE/ COUNTRY PROFESSION 

  

  

  

  

  

 

If necessary, please attach a page with additional licensure information. 
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Name:  SSN:    

 

 
SECTION D: BASIC NURSING EDUCATION: 

 

Type of Program RN    Degree: AD BS DIP OTHER    
Check One:                                                                                                                (Specify) 

PN  Name appearing on Transcript:    
 

Full Name of Nursing Program (No abbreviations): 
 

 
 

 
 

 

City State 

 

Program Completion Date:     
Month Day Year 

 

Note: Failure to complete all program requirements renders the applicant ineligible for Licensure, 
Temporary Practice Permit or the National Council Licensure Examination (NCLEX). 

 
 
 
 

SECTION E: AFFIDAVIT: READ, SIGN AND DATE. ALL APPLICANTS MUST COMPLETE THIS SECTION. 
 

I verify that this application is in the original format as supplied by the Department of State and has not been altered or 
otherwise modified in any way.  I am aware of the criminal penalties for tampering with public records or information under 
18 Pa.C.S. § 4911. 

I verify that the statements in this application are true and correct to the best of my knowledge, information and belief. I 
understand that false statements are made subject to the penalties of 18 Pa.C.S. § 4904 (relating to unsworn falsification to 
authorities) and may result in the suspension, revocation or denial of my license, certificate, permit or registration. 

 

 
Applicant’s Full Legal Signature Date    
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Note: If the Graduate is applying for both Graduate TPP and Exam, only 1 Nursing Education Verification Form is 

required. 

TO BE COMPLETED BY THE NURSING EDUCATION PROGRAM ONLY 
 

Student Name:      Date of Birth: -   - _ 
First Middle Last 

Last 4 numbers of the student’s social security # XXX-XX-   
 

Nursing Education Program Name          
 

Program Location City:                                                                                                 State:                                                              
 

Program Code:  Type of Program:     
(RN/PN) 

 

Date student completed the nursing education program: -          - Award:    

(MM/DD/YY)  RN: BSN, ADN, Diploma, Other-

indicate PN: Certificate, Diploma, 
Other-indicate 

 

 
 

I certify that all of the above information is correct. I understand that any false statement made is subject to the penalties of 18 Pa. C.S. §4904 
relating to unsworn falsification to authorities and may result in sanctions of my license or certificate and/or disposition of civil penalties. I verify 
that this form is in the original format as supplied by the Department of State and has not been altered or otherwise modified in any way. I am 
aware of the criminal penalties for tampering with public records or information pursuant to 18 Pa. C.S. §4911. 

 

X   
Signature of Nurse Administrator 

(Name stamp or electronic signature is not acceptable.) [Seal of Program or Hospital] 
 

If there is no seal for the school, 

Nurse Administrator Name:  attach affidavit. 
 

Phone Number:  ( )   
 

Date:     
(Valid for one (1) year) 

 

MAIL DIRECTLY TO THE BOARD IN AN OFFICIAL SCHOOL ENVELOPE. 
Mail Form To: Physical Address: 
PA State Board of Nursing PA State Board of Nursing 
P.O. Box 8411 2601 North Third Street 
Harrisburg, PA 17105-8411 Harrisburg, PA 17110 

    (717)783-7142 

For Out-of-State Practical Nursing Education Programs Only: 

If the program is NOT a Pennsylvania Nursing Education program, identify the following program hours: 

Theory hours , Clinical hours _  , Total combined program hours , Program length in months: . 

 (Note: All hours are to be reported as “clock” hours and must be reflected on the official transcript. Graduates attending practical nursing 

education programs with less than 1500 clock hours are required to show evidence of additional clock hours achieved by completing other 

nursing related course work or clinical experience to obtain the additional hours.) 

NURSING EDUCATION VERIFICATION FORM 

This form is to be completed in its entirety by the Nurse Administrator of the Nursing Education program 

AFTER ALL PROGRAM REQUIREMENTS HAVE BEEN MET. 


