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STATE BOARD OF NURSING  
Mailing Address:            Telephone:  717-783-7142 
State Board of Nursing              Fax:  717-783-0822 
P.O. Box 2649              Email:  st-nurse@pa.gov 
Harrisburg, PA  17105               www.dos.pa.gov/nurse 

 
  Application for Reactivation of a Registered Nurse License that has been Expired or Inactive for Less Than 5 Years 

**This application cannot be used for the purpose of renewing a current license.** 
 

Notice: Fee was increased 
on July 27, 2019. 

         
The non-refundable fee must be 
submitted in the form of a personal 
check, cashier’s check, or money 
order made payable to the 
Commonwealth of Pennsylvania.   
 
A processing fee of $20.00 will be 
charged for a check or money order 
returned unpaid.   
      
Note: For reactivation, all 
registered nurse licensees are 
required to complete 2 hours of 
continuing education in child 
abuse recognition and reporting. 
For the list of approved providers 
go to www.dos.pa.gov.  
 
Warning: Practicing on an expired 
license may result in disciplinary 
actions and additional monetary 
penalties. 

 
Name _________________________________________________________________ 
                                 (Last)                                     (First)                                         (Middle)                                   
Maiden Name ___________________________________________________________ 
 
All last names you have used _______________________________________________ 
 

Notice:  Licenses cannot be forwarded by post office. 

 
Current Address _________________________________________________________ 
 
City ________________________________ State ______________ Zip ____________ 
 
Telephone #_______________________     Date of Birth _________________________ 
                           (Include the area code)                                   ( Month)        (Day)          (Year) 
 
Email Address ________________________________________________________ 
 
U.S. Social Security Number ____________________________________________ 
 
PA License #:  RN ________________________  
 
Expiration date: ________/________/________  
 

Check the appropriate statement below. 
[     ]   I have not practiced as a registered nurse in Pennsylvania at any time after my expiration date, and I want to reactivate 
           my license at this time.  Submit payment in the amount of $122.00. 
[     ]   I have practiced as a registered nurse in Pennsylvania after my expiration date, and I want to reactivate my license at    
          this time.   
          Submit payment in the amount of $122.00 for each biennial renewal cycle since your expiration date plus a late fee of  
          $5.00 per month for each month after your expiration date.            

 

   YES NO 
1. Are you submitting a name change with this reactivation?   

Change name to: 
You must submit a copy of a legal document verifying the name(s). The following are acceptable name change verification documents: 

• Marriage Certificate 
• Divorce decree which indicates the retaking of your maiden name 
• Other "legal" document indicating the retaking of a maiden name 
• For a "legal" name change, a copy of the court document must be provided 

  

http://www.dos.pa.gov/


    Print your NAME:  _____________________________________________________         PA License #_____________________________ 
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 YES NO 
2. With the exception of the one you are currently reactivating, do you hold, or have you ever held, a license, 

certificate, permit, registration or other authorization to practice a profession or occupation in any state or 
jurisdiction? 

  

       Please provide the profession and state or jurisdiction. 

                                                            

If you answer yes to questions 3, 4 and/or 5, provide copies of all disciplinary actions from the Boards that imposed actions and a 
personal detailed statement.  If you answer yes to questions 6, 7, 8 and/or 9, provide copies of pertinent documents and a personal 
detailed statement. 

3. Since your initial application or last renewal, whichever is later, have you had disciplinary action taken against a 
professional or occupational license, certificate, permit, registration or other authorization to practice a profession 
or occupation issued to you in any state or jurisdiction or have you agreed to voluntary surrender in lieu of 
discipline?  
  

  

4. Do you currently have any disciplinary charges pending against your professional or occupational license, 
certificate, permit or registration in any state or jurisdiction? 
 

  

5. Since your initial application or last renewal, whichever is later, have you withdrawn an application for a 
professional or occupational license, certificate, permit or registration, had an application denied or refused, or for 
disciplinary reasons agreed not to apply or reapply for a professional or occupational license, certificate, permit or 
registration in any state or jurisdiction? 
 

  

6. Since your initial application or your last renewal, whichever is later, have you had provider privileges denied, 
revoked, suspended or restricted by a Medical Assistance agency, Medicare, third party payor or another authority? 
 

  

7. Since your initial application or your last renewal, whichever is later, have you ever had practice privileges denied, 
revoked, suspended, or restricted by a hospital or any health care facility? 
 

  

8. Since your initial application or your last renewal, whichever is later, have you been charged by a hospital, 
university, or research facility with violating research protocols, falsifying research, or engaging in other research 
misconduct? 
 

  

9. Since your initial application or last renewal, whichever is later, have you engaged in the intemperate or habitual use 
or abuse of alcohol or narcotics, hallucinogenics or other drugs or substances that may impair judgment or 
coordination? 
 

  

10. Have you completed a minimum of 30 hours of Board-approved continuing education within the last 2 years? To 
reactivate the license, you are required to complete at least 30 hours of Board-approved continuing education within 
the past two years.  

  

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



    Print your NAME:  _____________________________________________________         PA License #_____________________________ 
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ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF DUTY TO SELF-REPORT DISCIPLINARY CONDUCT AND CERTAIN CRIMINAL ACTIVITY 

 

I, ___________________________________________, hereby acknowledge that in addition to any existing reporting requirement 
required by a specific board or commission, I am REQUIRED pursuant to Act 6 of 2018 to NOTIFY the Bureau of Professional and 
Occupational Affairs WITHIN 30 DAYS of the occurrence of any of the following: (1) A disciplinary action taken against me by a 
licensing board or agency in another jurisdiction; (2) A finding or verdict of guilt, an admission of guilt, a plea of nolo contendere, 
probation without verdict, a disposition in lieu of trial or an Accelerated Rehabilitative Disposition (ARD) of any felony or misdemeanor 
offense in a criminal proceeding.  I further acknowledge that failure to comply with these mandatory reporting requirements may 
subject me to disciplinary action by the Board.  I acknowledge my understanding that to self-report a disciplinary action or criminal 
matter as set forth above, I may log in to the Pennsylvania Licensing System (PALS) at www.pals.pa.gov and select “Mandatory 
Reporting by Licensee” under the heading “Your Licenses.” 
 
_____________________________________________________________________                      __________________________ 
Licensee Signature                                                                                                                                               Date 
 
 
I verify that this application is in the original format as supplied by the Department of State and has not been altered or otherwise 
modified in any way.  I am aware of the criminal penalties for tampering with public records or information under 18 Pa. C.S. §4911.  I 
verify that the statements in this application are true and correct to the best of my knowledge, information and belief.  I understand 
that false statements are made subject to the penalties of 18 Pa. C.S. §4904 (relating to unsworn falsification to authorities) and may 
result in the suspension, revocation or denial of my license, certificate, permit or registration. 
 
 
_____________________________________________________________________                      __________________________ 
Licensee Signature                                                                                                                                               Date 
 
 
 

This application is valid for one (1) year from the date the application was signed.  The process must be 
completed within this timeframe or you will be required to submit a new application and repay the reactivation fee. 

 
 

http://www.pals.pa.gov/
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