Begin Main Content Area

​Prosthetist

Pennsylvania Licensure Requirements


Bachelor's Degree


1 Examination


3,800 Hours of Experience


3 Hours of Continuing Education


50.00 Initial Fee


75.00 Renewal Fee

An individual who is licensed by the State Board to practice prosthetics. Prosthetics is the practice of evaluating, measuring, designing, fabricating, assembling, fitting, adjusting or servicing a prosthesis pursuant to a written prescription of a licensed prescribing practitioner.

Degree Requirement: 

Bachelor's Degree

An applicant must have earned a bachelor's degree, post-baccalaureate certificate or higher degree from a Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs (CAAHEP) -accredited education program with a major in prosthetics or prosthetics/orthotics.

Examination Requirement: 

1 Examination
An applicant must receive a passing grade on the National Certification Examination and provide proof that they have met the qualifications and have received certification from the American Board for Certification in Orthotics, Prosthetics & Pedorthics (ABC) or, the Board of Certification/Accreditation (BOC).

Experience: 

3,800 Hours
The applicant must have completed a minimum of 3,800 hours of experience in providing direct patient care services in prosthetics or in prosthetics and orthotics over a 2-year period. In addition, the applicant must hold a current certification as a prosthetist, or as a prosthetist and orthotist, from ABC, BOC or another prosthetic credentialing organization whose certification program approved by the State Board of Medicine. 

Continuing Education: 

3 Hours (for initial licensure) 

Applicants must complete 3 hours of Board-approved continuing education in child abuse recognition and reporting for initial licensure. 

24 Hours (when renewing license)  

As a condition for biennial renewal, a prosthetist shall complete at least 24 hours of ABC-approved or BOC-approved continuing education. 2 hours of Board-approved continuing education in child abuse recognition and reporting requirements must be completed for renewal or reactivation of a license.

Initial Licensing Fee: 

$50.00

Licensure Renewal Fee: 

$75.00
Biennial renewal of license.

Licensure by Act 41:

Act 41 allows for portability of out-of-state professional licensees coming to work in Pennsylvania. Act 41 does this by granting all boards and commissions within the Commonwealth the authority to endorse licensees from other states, territories or jurisdictions (with substantially equivalent licensing requirements) who are active, in good standing and without discipline against their license or criminal conviction.


 Content Editor ‭[2]‬