Begin Main Content Area

​Pedorthist

Pennsylvania Licensure Requirements


Board Approved Program


1 Examination


1,000 Hours of Experience


3 Hours of Continuing Education


25.00 Initial Fee


75.00 Renewal Fee

An individual who is licensed by the State Board of Medicine to practice pedorthics. Pedorthics is the practice of evaluating, measuring, designing, fabricating, assembling, fitting, adjusting or servicing necessary to accomplish the application of a pedorthic device for the prevention or amelioration of painful or disabling conditions related to the lower extremities pursuant to a written prescription of a licensed prescribing practitioner.

Education Requirement: 

Complete Board-Approved program

An applicant must complete a National Commission on Orthotic and Prosthetic Education (NCOPE) approved education program.

Examination Requirement: 

1 Examination
An applicant must provide proof that they have met the qualifications and have received certification from the American Board for Certification in Orthotics, Prosthetics & Pedorthics (ABC) or, the Board of Certification/Accreditation (BOC).

Experience: 

1,000 Hours
The applicant must have completed a minimum of 1,000 hours of supervised patient fitting experience providing direct patient care in pedorthics.

Continuing Education: 

3 Hours (for initial licensure) 

Applicants must complete 3 hours of Board-approved continuing education in child abuse recognition and reporting for initial licensure. 

13 Hours (when renwing license)

As a condition for biennial renewal, a pedorthist shall complete at least 13 hours of ABC-approved or BOC approved continuing education applicable to the practice of pedorthics. 2 hours of Board-approved continuing education in child abuse recognition and reporting requirements must be completed for renewal or reactivation of a license.

Initial Licensing Fee: 

$25.00

Licensure Renewal Fee: 

$75.00
Biennial renewal of license.

Licensure by Act 41:

Act 41 allows for portability of out-of-state professional licensees coming to work in Pennsylvania. Act 41 does this by granting all boards and commissions within the Commonwealth the authority to endorse licensees from other states, territories or jurisdictions (with substantially equivalent licensing requirements) who are active, in good standing and without discipline against their license or criminal conviction.


 Content Editor ‭[2]‬