Begin Main Content Area

​Orthotic Fitter

Pennsylvania Licensure Requirements


Completion of Board Approved Education Program


1 Examination


1,000 Hours of Experience


3 Hours of Continuing Education


25.00 Initial Fee


75.00 Renewal Fee

An individual who is licensed to properly fit, dispense and adjust prefabricated orthotic devices pursuant to a written prescription of a physician, podiatrist, certified registered nurse practitioner or physician assistant.

Degree Requirement: 

Completion of Board Approved Education Program
An applicant must obtain at least a high school diploma and successfully complete an American Board for Certification in Orthotics, Prosthetics & Pedorthics, Inc. (ABC)-approved or Board of Certification (BOC)approved orthotic fitter precertification education program.

Examination Requirement: 

1 Exam
An applicant must hold certification with the ABC or BOC exam in orthotic fitting.

Experience: 

1,000 Hours
An applicant must have completed a minimum of 1,000 of documented, supervised orthotic fitting care experience.

Continuing Education: 

3 Hours (for initial licensure) 

Applicants must complete 3 hours of Board-approved continuing education in child abuse recognition and reporting for initial licensure. 


13 Hours (when renewing license)
A minimum of 13 hours of ABC-approved or BOC-approved continuing education applicable to the practice of orthotic fitting must be completed within the biennial renewal period. 2 hours of Board-approved continuing education in child abuse recognition and reporting requirements must be completed for renewal or reactivation of a license.

Initial Licensing Fee: 

$25.00

Licensure Renewal Fee: 

$75.00
Biennial renewal of license. 

Licensure by Credential & Licensure By Act 41:

To apply for licensure by credentials, an applicant must hold a current certification as an orthotic fitter from ABC, BOC or another orthotic fitter credentialing organization whose program is approved by the State Board of Medicine.

Act 41 allows for portability of out-of-state professional licensees coming to work in Pennsylvania. Act 41 does this by granting all boards and commissions within the Commonwealth the authority to endorse licensees from other states, territories or jurisdictions (with substantially equivalent licensing requirements) who are active, in good standing and without discipline against their license or criminal conviction.


 Content Editor ‭[2]‬