Pennsylvania Licensure Requirements
Completion of an Approved Athletic Training Program
No Experience Requirement
3 Hours of Continuing Education
20.00 Initial Fee
37.00 Renewal Fee
A person who is licensed to perform athletic training services by the State Board of Medicine. Athletic training includes the rendering of emergency care, development of injury prevention programs and providing appropriate preventive and supportive devices for the physically active person.
Completion of an Approved Athletic Training program
An applicant must be a graduate of an approved athletic training education program.
No Experience Requirement for Licensure
An applicant must complete clinical training as part of education program.
3 Hours (for initial licensure)
Applicants must complete 3 hours of Board-approved continuing education in child abuse recognition and reporting for initial licensure.
Maintain BOC (Board of Certification) Certification (for renewal of license)
Licensee must hold current BOC certification and complete 2 hours of Board-approved continuing education in child abuse recognition and reporting requirements must be completed for renewal or reactivation of a license.
Initial Licensing Fee:
Licensure Renewal Fee:
Biennial renewal of license.
Licensure by Act 41:
Act 41 allows for portability of out-of-state professional licensees coming to work in Pennsylvania. Act 41 does this by granting all boards and commissions within the Commonwealth the authority to endorse licensees from other states, territories or jurisdictions (with substantially equivalent licensing requirements) who are active, in good standing and without discipline against their license or criminal conviction.