Pennsylvania Licensure Requirements
High School diploma or the Equivalent
Completion of 600-Hour Program
3 Hours of Continuing Education
100.00 Initial Fee
175.00 Renewal Fee
Massage therapists apply a system of structured touch, pressure, movement, holding and treatment of the soft tissue manifestations of the human body in which the primary intent is to enhance the health and well-being of the client.
High School diploma or the Equivalent - Applicant must complete a massage therapy program of at least 600 hours of in-class postsecondary education instruction approved by the Board.
1 Examination - The Board adopts the Massage and Bodywork Licensure Examination (MBLEx) as the approved examination for initial licensure.
600 Hours - An applicant must have completed at least 600 hours of in-class, postsecondary education instruction approved by the board at a regionally accredited college or university, Pennsylvania private licensed school or its equivalent as determined by the board. To qualify for licensure, an applicant must have completed:
- 175 hours of anatomy/physiology/kinesiology/pathology;
- 250 hours of massage therapy including hygiene;
- 25 hours of professional ethics;- 150 hours in related courses.
3 Hours (for initial licensure)
Applicants must complete 3 hours of Board-approved continuing education in child abuse recognition and reporting for initial licensure.
24 Hours (when renewing license)
24 hours of continuing education is required for biennial renewal of license. Of those 24 hours, 2 hours must be Board-approved continuing education in child abuse recognition and reporting.
Initial Licensing Fee:
Licensure Renewal Fee:
$175.00 - Biennial renewal fee for biennial period February 1, 2023—January 31, 2025, and each biennial renewal period thereafter
Licensure by Act 41:
Act 41 allows for portability of out-of-state professional licensees coming to work in Pennsylvania. Act 41 does this by granting all boards and commissions within the Commonwealth the authority to endorse licensees from other states, territories or jurisdictions (with substantially equivalent licensing requirements) who are active, in good standing and without discipline against their license or criminal conviction.