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PENNSYLVANIA STATE BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

P.O. BOX 2649 

HARRISBURG, PA  17105-2649 
 

 

APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION AS A PUBLIC HEALTH DENTAL 

HYGIENE PRACTITIONER 
 

Instructions and Application Form 
 

Introduction: 

 
Please read the following instructions in their entirety.  These instructions will assist in the application 

process for certification as a public health dental hygiene practitioner in Pennsylvania.  The checklist format 

will assist you in requesting and submitting the appropriate documentation necessary to meet the licensure 

requirements.   

 

A public health dental hygiene practitioner is defined as a licensed dental hygienist who is certified by the 

Board as having met the requirements of Section 11.9 of the Act (63 P.S. § 33.205b (relating to practice as a 

public health dental hygiene practitioner) without the authorization, assignment or examination of a dentist.   

 

Candidates for certification as a public health dental hygiene practitioner must: 

 

1) Hold an ACTIVE license in good standing to practice as a dental hygienist in this Commonwealth. 

 

2) Provide to the Board documentation demonstrating that the dental hygienist has obtained 

professional liability insurance, or is a named insured covered by a group policy in the minimum 

amount of $1,000,000 per occurrence and $3,000,000 per annual aggregate.     

 

3) Provide to the Board a certification statement signed by a licensed dentist verifying that the dental 

hygienist has completed a minimum of 3,600 hours of practice as a licensed dental hygienist under the 

supervision of a licensed dentist. 

 

 

Practice Settings 

 

A public health dental hygiene practitioner may perform dental hygiene services without the supervision of a 

dentist in the following practice settings (Please refer to the regulations at www.dos.state.pa.us/dent for 

complete information on practice settings.): 

 

1) All public and private educational institutions that provide elementary and secondary instruction 

to school aged children. 

2) Correctional facilities 

3) Healthcare facilities 

4) Personal care homes 

5) Domiciliary care facilities 

6) Older adult daily living centers 

7) Continuing-care provider facilities 

8) Federally qualified health centers 

9) Public or private institutions under the jurisdiction of a Federal, State or Local Agency 

10) Free and reduced-fee nonprofit health clinics 

 

 

 

http://www.dos.state.pa.us/dent
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Instructions 
 
The following documents are required for a permit to practice as a public health dental hygiene practitioner: 

 

A.        Application Forms – Pages 1 & 2  
 

Page 1 – Application Fee 
 

Submit a check or money order in the amount of $20.00, made payable to “Commonwealth of 

Pennsylvania”.  (Do not send cash.)  All application fees are non-refundable.  Check or money order must 

be drawn on a U.S. bank.  Note:  A processing fee of $20.00 will be charged for any check or money 

order returned unpaid by your bank, regardless of the reason for non-payment.  
   

 

 Page 1 – Applicant Information   
 

 Verification of Name:  
 

If any document required for licensure is in a name other than the name under which you applied, a 

photocopy of the appropriate name change document must be attached.  Documentation accepted by the 

Board is a marriage certificate, divorce decree that reflects the retake of a maiden name or court issued 

legal name change document.   

 

Social Security Number: 
   

A U.S. Individual Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN) or a Canadian Social Insurance Number (SIN) 

cannot be accepted.  A license will not be issued without a valid U.S. Social Security Number.    

 

Disclosing your Social Security Number on this application is mandatory in order for State Boards to 

comply with the requirements of the Federal Social Security Act pertaining to Child Support Enforcement, 

as implemented in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania at 23 Pa. C.S. § 4304.1(a).  At the request of the 

Department of Human Services (DHS), the licensing boards must provide to DHS information prescribed 

by DHS about the licensee, including the social security number.   In addition, Social Security numbers 

are required in order for the Board to comply with the reporting requirements of the U.S. Department of 

Health and Human Services, National Practitioner Data Bank.   
 

 

Page 1 – Practice Activity 
 

 

You must submit a curriculum vitae (resumė) of your practice activities since graduation from dental 

hygiene school through the present.  Practice activities should be listed in chronological order, include the 

name, city and state of the employer, dates of employment (month and year) and a description of the practice 

activity.   If you did not practice during a specific time period, the timeframe should be documented as “no 

practice in dental hygiene”.   
 

 

          

 Page 2 – Personal History Information 

 

If you respond “YES” to any of the personal history questions, you must submit the following: 

 

 A written letter of explanation must be submitted to the Board outlining the details of 

the “Yes” response(s).  

 

 Certified copies of the record relating to the action taken.  It is your responsibility to 

request and submit certified copies of court documents to submit directly to the Board 

office.  If you have been disciplined by another state licensing board, certified copies of 

the disciplinary record must be submitted directly to the Board office in a sealed official 

state board envelope.  
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Page 2 - Verification Statement  
 

Please read the certification statement in its entirety, sign, and date. 

 

 

B. Certification of Proof of Professional Liability Insurance – Page 3 
 

Complete the Certification Statement by certifying that you have obtained professional liability insurance or that 

you are a named insured covered by a group policy with a minimum amount of $1,000,000 per occurrence and 

$3,000,000 per annual aggregate.  Additionally, you must attach either a copy of the insurance issued by the 

insurer or a copy of the declaration page of the professional liability insurance policy.   

 

C.        Certification of Active Practice – Page 4  
 

Section A – Complete Section A and forward the form to the supervising dentist(s) for completion of Section B.   

 

Section B – To be completed by the supervising licensed dentist(s).  This section may not be completed by the 

applicant.  This form may be duplicated if the required 3,600 hours were completed under the supervision of 

multiple licensed dentists.   The form must be submitted to the Board in the official business envelope of the 

supervising dentist.  If the supervising dentist does not have official business stationary, a statement to that effect 

must be included with the certification, and the dentist must sign the sealed flap of the envelope being submitted.  

 

D.        Board Office  
 

Mail your fee, pages 1, 2 and 3 of your application and a copy of your name change document (if applicable) 

directly to the Board office: 

 

 Mailing Address     Street Address (Courier Delivery) 

 State Board of Dentistry     State Board of Dentistry 

 P.O. Box 2649      One Penn Center 

 Harrisburg, PA  17105-2649    2601 North Third Street 

        Harrisburg, PA  17110 

 

 Page 4 must be submitted directly from each supervising dentist in an official sealed envelope of the employer(s).  

 

IMPORTANT INFORMATION 
 

 

 You may not practice as a public health dental hygiene practitioner in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania 

until the Pennsylvania State Board of Dentistry has issued your certification.   

 

 The Board office does not verify receipt of mail.  Processing time varies depending upon the workload.  

Average processing time upon receipt of all required documentation is approximately 10-15 business days.   

However, during busy periods (i.e. renewal, graduation, etc.) and for applications that require Board review, 

processing times may exceed the 10-15 business days.  

 

 Once your application has been processed, you may check on the status of your application and/or issuance of 

your permit through the Board’s website at www.mylicense.state.pa.us.   

 

 Should the application not be completed within six months, updated documentation may be required.  

Additionally, if the application process has not been completed within one year from the date it was received, 

applicants will be required to submit an updated application-processing fee.   

 

 All licenses, certificates and/or permits, regardless of the date of issuance, expire on March 31st of odd-

numbered years.   

 

 The Board’s Regulations require dental hygienists to complete 20 credit hours each biennial period.  To 

maintain this certification, five (5) of the required 20 hours of continuing education must be in public health-

related courses.  The specific regulations pertaining to continuing education are available at 

www.dos.state.pa.us/dent.   

 

 

 

 

http://www.mylicense.state.pa.us/
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/dent
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PENNSYLVANIA STATE BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

P.O. BOX 2649 

HARRISBURG, PA  17105-2649 
Telephone:  717-783-7162                                               Website:  www.dos.state.pa.us/dent  

Facsimile:  717-787-7769                                                  Email:    st-dentistry@pa.gov  

 

APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION AS A PUBLIC HEALTH DENTAL 

HYGIENE PRACTITIONER 
 

GENERAL INFORMATION 

Application Fee $20.00 

 

Pennsylvania Dental Hygiene License Number: 

 
D H        

APPLICANT INFORMATION  
  
 

NAME*:     
                                  LAST                                                                        FIRST                                                                 MIDDLE          

                  

 

ADDRESS*:    
                                  STREET 

  
 

 

                                  CITY                                                                                             STATE                                                ZIP CODE 
 

 

*Check here if the name and/or address on this application has changed since your dental hygiene license was issued or    

renewed, whichever is later.  If the address you provide on this application is different than the address the Board has on file 

for your Dental Hygiene license, then your change of address will be reflected on your Dental Hygiene record, as well as, with 

this application.  

 

 

U.S. Social Security Number:                     –                    –                                  *ETIN or SIN cannot be accepted. 

 

 

 
Date of Birth:                                                                                    Telephone Number:  

 

Email Address:                                                                                                                                                                

 

If any document required for 

licensure is in a name other 

than above, please indicate 

the name(s).   

 

 
(You must provide a copy of the appropriate name change document.  Acceptable documents are a marriage 

certificate, a divorce decree showing the retaking of a maiden name, or a court document showing a legal name 

change.) 

PRACTICE ACTIVITY  
 

You must submit a curriculum vitae (resumė) of your practice activities since graduation from dental hygiene 

school through the present.  Practice activities should be listed in chronological order, include the name, city and 

state of the employer, dates of employment (month and year) and a description of the practice activity.   If you did 

not practice during a specific time period, the timeframe should be documented as “no practice in dental hygiene”.   

 

  
 

1 

 

http://www.dos.state.pa.us/dent
mailto:st-dentistry@pa.gov
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PERSONAL HISTORY INFORMATION 

 
 

Please check Yes or No to each of the following questions:  

 

1) Have you had disciplinary action taken against a professional or occupational 

license, certificate, permit, registration or other authorization to practice a 

profession or occupation issued to you in any state or jurisdiction or have you agreed 

to voluntary surrender in lieu of discipline?  

 

 

YES 

 

 

 

NO 

2) Do you currently have any disciplinary charges pending against your professional or 

occupational license, certificate, permit or registration in any state or jurisdiction?  

 

  

3) Have you withdrawn an application for a professional or occupational license, 

certificate, permit or registration, had an application denied or refused, or for 

disciplinary reasons, agreed not to apply or reapply for a professional or 

occupational license, certificate, permit or registration in any state or jurisdiction? 

 

  

4) Have you been convicted (found guilty or pleaded guilty or entered a plea of nolo 

contendere), received probation without verdict or accelerated rehabilitative 

disposition (ARD), as to any criminal charges, felony or misdemeanor, including any 

drug law violations?   Note:   You are not required to disclose any ARD or other 

criminal matter that has been expunged by order of the court.  

 

 

 

 

 

 

5) Do you currently have any criminal charges pending and unresolved in any state or 

jurisdiction? 

 

 

 

 

 

6) Do you currently engage in, or have you ever engaged in, the intemperate or 

habitual use or abuse of alcohol or narcotics, hallucinogenics or other drugs or 

substances that may impair judgment or coordination?  

 

  

7) If yes, are you currently participating in the Pennsylvania Health Monitoring 

Program?  

 

  

 

VERIFICATION STATEMENT 

 
 

By signing below, I verify that this form is in the original format as supplied by the Department of State and has not 

been altered or otherwise modified in any way.  I am aware of the criminal penalties for tampering with public 

records or information pursuant to 18 Pa. C.S.§4911.   

 

Additionally, I verify that the statements in this application are true and correct to the best of my knowledge, 

information and belief.  I understand that any false statement made is subject to the penalties of 18 Pa. C.S.§4904 

(relating to unsworn falsification to authorities) and may result in the suspension, revocation or denial of my license, 

certificate, permit or registration.  

 

 
Signature of Applicant:  _______________________________________________________  Date:  _____________________  
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STATE BOARD OF DENTISTRY                                                        

P.O. BOX 2649  

HARRISBURG, PA  17105-2649                                                                                                  

APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION AS A PUBLIC 

HEALTH DENTAL HYGIENE PRACTITIONER 

 

CERTIFICATION OF PROOF OF PROFESSIONAL LIABILITY INSURANCE 
 

CERTIFICATION STATEMENT 
 

I hereby certify that (check one): 

 

 

     I have obtained professional liability insurance   

                                                                                                              

                                            

 

Insurer Name and Policy Number 

 

 

OR 

 

 

                I am a Named Insured covered by a group policy   

                                                                                                              

 

 

Insurer Name and Policy Number 

 

                  

                in the minimum amount of $1,000,000 per occurrence and $3,000,000 per annual aggregate.   

           

  

 

I have included a copy of (check one):  

  

 

     A certificate of insurance issued by the insurer 

 

                                OR 

 

                A copy of the declarations page of the professional liability insurance policy. 

 

 

 

By signing below, I verify that this form is in the original format as supplied by the Department of State and has not 

been altered or otherwise modified in any way.  I am aware of the criminal penalties for tampering with public 

records or information pursuant to 18 Pa. C.S.§4911.   

 

Additionally, I certify that the statements in this application are true and correct to the best of my knowledge, 

information and belief, and that I am of good moral character.  I understand that any false statement made is 

subject to the penalties of 18 Pa. C.S.§4904 relating to unsworn falsification to authorities and may result in the 

suspension or revocation of my license, permit or certificate.  

 
Signature of Applicant:  _______________________________________________________  Date:  _____________________  
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STATE BOARD OF DENTISTRY                                                        

P.O. BOX 2649  

HARRISBURG, PA  17105-2649                                                                                                  

APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATION AS A PUBLIC 

HEALTH DENTAL HYGIENE PRACTITIONER 

 

CERTIFICATION OF ACTIVE PRACTICE   
 

 

Section A – To be completed by the applicant: 
 

    

NAME:    _________________________________________________________________________________________________  
                                  LAST                                                                        FIRST                                                                 MIDDLE                           

 

ADDRESS:   ______________________________________________________________________________________________  
                                  STREET 

                          
                      ____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
                                 CITY                                                                                             STATE                                                ZIP CODE 

 
 

Section B – To be completed by each SUPERVISING DENTIST: 
 

**Applicants may not complete this section of the certification form** 
 

 

I certify that           has practiced as a dental hygienist  
                                                                      Name of Applicant  

 

under my supervision for __________________________ hours.  I further certify that the dates of employment  
                                                                              Number of hours  

 

as a dental hygienist under my supervision for the above named individual are as follows:  
 

 

From          to         
   Month   Day  Year  Month  Day  Year 
 

 

 

Supervising Dentist:   

                                               (Print Name)                                                                            (License Number) 

 

Jurisdiction of License: 

 

Address:             
 

 

City/State/Zip:      
 
 

 

                                                                                                   ________________________________________________ ______  

                                                                                                                         Signature of Supervising Dentist 
 

                                                                                                  _______________________________________________________ 

                                                                                                 Date 
      

*FORM MUST BE RETURNED DIRECTLY TO THE BOARD OFFICE IN A SEALED OFFICIAL ENVELOPE OF EMPLOYER 

This form may be duplicated as needed. 
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