Begin Main Content Area
  • The limited license category of esthetics includes the application of cosmetic preparations (make-up), as well as dyeing and perming eyelashes.  Lash extensions and the application thereof are sufficiently analogous in composition and application to traditional false eyelashes and other "lash work" such that lash extensions fall into the category of esthetics and can be applied by licensed estheticians or licensed cosmetologists.
Recent Lavatory Decision
Over the past two years the State Board of Cosmetology (Board) has been involved in discussions and litigation, regarding the Board’s authority to require a lavatory and the Board’s issuance of variances to that requirement. On August 14, 2017, the Commonwealth Court of Pennsylvania issued an opinion in the case of Eleven Eleven Pennsylvania, LLC v. State Board of Cosmetology, declaring that Board regulation section 7.79, 49 Pa. Code § 7.79, is preempted by section 104(d) of the Pennsylvania Construction Code Act, 35 P.S. § 7210.104(d)(1), to the extent it requires a lavatory within the square footage of the salon. The Board has been permanently restrained from enforcing the preempted language of the lavatory regulation.
As a result of this decision, the Board will no longer be considering lavatories, or their location, when reviewing applications for salon licensure. Applications will be updated in the near future to reflect this change. Additionally, the Board will begin the process of promulgating a regulation to address the decision of the Commonwealth Court.
SUBJECT: SCAM ALERT—BEI will not call you asking for credit card info
The Bureau of Professional and Occupational Affairs received a report that a person pretending to be an inspector from BEI (Bureau of Enforcement and Investigation) is calling nail salons about inspections.  The scammer asks for a $3.00 credit card payment to proceed with the inspection and threatens a $1,500 fine if the fee is not paid immediately. This is a scam!
Licensees for all types of salons are urged to consider the following:
·         The Department of State/BEI will not contact you by telephone requesting credit card information. 
·         The Department of State/BEI does not charge for routine inspections of existing salons.
·         Do NOT give your personal or financial information over the phone.
·         If you get a call from someone asking for your credit card information, hang up and call your local police department.


ACT 6 OF 2018 Notice to All Licensees, Registrants, Certificate Holders & Permit Holders (PDF)

Criminal History Record Check Information (PDF)