State Board of Barber Examiners
GUIDANCE FOR BARBER SHOPS PERMITTED TO OPERATE DURING MITIGATION MEASURES TO ENSURE THE SAFETY AND HEALTH OF EMPLOYEES AND THE PUBLIC
ISSUED 06/14/2020; UPDATED 10/15/2020;
LAST UPDATED 05/25/2021
On 5/13/21, the CDC provided guidance that fully vaccinated individuals can resume activities that they did prior to the pandemic without wearing a mask or physically distancing except where required by law, rule, and regulations, including local business and workplace guidance. Therefore, businesses are to follow CDC guidance, and the previous “Guidance for Barber Shops and Barber School Clinics Permitted to Operate During the Green Phase to Ensure the Safety and Health of Employees and the Public” has been rescinded.
PLEASE NOTE WITH REGARD TO MASKING: The masking requirement will still be in place for unvaccinated individuals until 70 percent of Pennsylvanians age 18 and older are fully vaccinated. Read more
Content Editor 
UPDATED 06/11/2021 (ORIGINALLY POSTED: 05/17/2021) - BPOA has received many questions from licensed professionals about what happens to licensing waivers if the COVID-19 emergency disaster declaration is ended. With the Governor's signing of HB 854 (now Act 21 of 2021), licensing waivers will remain active until September 30, 2021, unless ended sooner. We will provide additional updates as more information becomes available.
POSTED: 05/14/2021 - On 5/13/21, the CDC provided guidance that fully vaccinated individuals can resume activities that they did prior to the pandemic without wearing a mask or physically distancing except where required by law, rule, and regulations, including local business and workplace guidance. Masking requirement will still be in place for unvaccinated individuals until 70 percent of Pennsylvanians age 18 and older are fully vaccinated.
For more information please read the CDC guidance and the DOH press release.
The Department's offices in the North Office Building remain closed to the public. The Department of State continues to serve the public during the COVID-19 disaster declaration.
The processing of licenses and permits for health care practitioners continues to be a priority. Please refer to www.pals.pa.gov/verify to check the status of a license or permit.
For more details visit:
If you are a member of the immigrant, refugee, or asylee community and you:
- have worked in a licensed profession or applied for a professional license in PA; OR
- moved to PA in the last 5 years.
Please help us improve the licensure process for new Pennsylvanians by taking our survey, which is available in: English, Arabic, Chinese, French, Hindi, Korean, Russian, Spanish and Vietnamese.
The State Board of Barber Examiners regulates the licensure and practice of the barbering profession in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. The Board has jurisdiction over the procedures for obtaining a license to become a barber, manager-barber or barber-teacher. Through its agents, the Board inspects, approves and registers all barber shops and schools of barbering and prescribes the sanitary requirements for the individual establishment. By performing these functions, the Board protects the public from gross incompetence, unethical or dishonest practice or conduct, and the spread of contagious and infectious disease.
Information on the Governor’s Plan to Reopen Pennsylvania
The plan for Pennsylvania can be found
More information on the full process to Reopen Pennsylvania can be found
Pearson Vue testing site closure information
The best method for candidates to register for an exam is to log into their Pearson VUE account, via the web at: https://home.pearsonvue.com/pa/bpoa, and search for an exam date & time; candidates can then enter different zip codes and a mile radius as well for alternate options.
Visit our COVID Webpage: https://home.pearsonvue.com/coronavirus-update
Click on the FAQ Hyperlink for questions and answers regarding scheduling and rescheduling.
Learn more about the coronavirus (COVID-19) outbreak
For updated guidance regarding online education during the COVID-19 outbreak:
IF YOUR LICENSE IS EXPIRED
If your license has been expired for less than 5 years, please visit www.pals.pa.gov to reactivate your license. Upon logging in to PALS, scroll down until you see your license number. To the left of your license number, you will see a green pencil icon. Click on the green pencil and a pop up window will appear. You will then see the word "reactivate"; click on it and follow the directions to reactivate your license. Payment is by credit or debit card only. After successful reactivation of your license, it will be mailed to you. Please ensure that you maintain a valid mailing address so that your license is not returned to the Board. Also, please allow seven to ten business days to receive your renewed license in the mail.
If your license has been expired for more than 5 years, the Barber Law states that you must retake the examination in order to reactivate the license. Please contact Dasher, Inc., at 1-866-474-1148 or email: firstname.lastname@example.org and ask for a reinstatement application. Dasher, Inc., processes all exam applications for the exam administrator, Pearson VUE. To view a copy of the Law and Regulations, please visit: www.dos.pa.gov/barber
Please note that neither the Board/Commission, nor its staff or counsel, are permitted to provide
legal advice or
advisory opinions, including
interpretations of the law or regulations, or any indication as to how the Board would vote on any given case or scenario. You are invited to contact a private attorney or professional organization for advice or guidance.