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The Department of State (Department) submits this report to the General Assembly pursuant to 
51 Pa.C.S. § 9611(e), which requires the Department to annually  report to the chair and minority 
chair of the Veterans Affairs and Emergency Preparedness Committee of the Pennsylvania 
Senate and the chair and minority chair of the Veterans Affairs and Emergency Preparedness 
Committee of the Pennsylvania House of Representatives the total number of  business fee 
exemptions applied for and issued to veteran- and reservist-owned small businesses and the 
total dollar amount of the exemptions issued.   

 
By way of background, Act 135 of 2016 exempts veterans and reservists starting a small business 
in the Commonwealth from the payment of a business fee. The law became effective       on January 
3, 2017. 

 
A business fee is any fee required to be paid to the Commonwealth or a political subdivision for 
starting or opening a business within Pennsylvania.1 The term does not include a fee for 
maintaining licensure or other requirement for continuing to operate a business.2 A small business 
must be independently owned, not dominant in its field of operation and employ 100 or  fewer 
employees.3 A veteran- or reservist-owned small business must be owned and controlled by a 
veteran/veterans or reservist/reservists.4 

 

A veteran is an individual who served in the United States Armed Forces, including a reserve 
component or the National Guard, and who was discharged or released from service under 
conditions other than dishonorable.5 A reservist is a member of a United States Armed Forces 
reserve component or the National Guard.6 

 
The filing fees for the following documents are waived by the Department’s Bureau of 
Corporations and Charitable Organizations (“Bureau”) when the documents are signed by the 
veteran or reservist and submitted with proof of the veteran’s or reservist’s status: 

 

• Articles of Incorporation (for profit) - $125 

• Articles of incorporation (nonprofit) - $125 

• Certificate of Organization - $125 

• Certificate of Limited Partnership - $125 

• Registration – Domestic Registered Limited Liability Partnership - $125 

• Foreign Registration Statement - $250 

• Registration of Fictitious Name - $70 



7 51 Pa.C.S. § 9611(b). 

The above-listed business formation documents may be submitted directly by the veteran or   
reservist or submitted through a law firm or service company. All formation/registration 
documents must be signed by the veteran or reservist seeking the fee exemption and must be 
accompanied by proof of the veteran’s or reservist’s status. 
 
A veteran or reservist must provide the Bureau with proof of the veteran’s or reservist’s status at 
the time the business application is submitted. Such proof includes a legible photocopy of: 

 

• A federal DD-214 form 

• A federal NGB-22 form 

• A valid federal Veterans’ Administration card or 

• A valid Department of Defense-issued military identification card7
 

 

Formation filings and proof of veteran/reservist status may be submitted to the Bureau online 
through PENN File, by mail or via personal delivery. 

 
The following table   displays the total number of business fee exemptions applied for and issued 
to veteran- or reservist-owned small businesses in the prior calendar year and the total dollar 
amount of these exemptions. 
 

 
2021 

 

Number of 
Applications 

Submitted 

Number of 
Applications 

Accepted 

 
Fees Waived 

January 397 283 $32,470.00 

February 506 367 $43,220.00 

March 553 403 $46,745.00 

April 463 350 $40,175.00 

May 362 259 $29,465.00 

June 391 281 $32,155.00 

July 364 273 $31,300.00 

August 369 291 $34,240.00 

September 380 278 $33,045.00 

October 409 288 $34,075.00 

November 318 222 $26,120.00 

December 366 245 $28,750.00 

Totals 4878 3540 $411,760.00 

The Department averages 295 accepted applications per month, with a 24 percent rejection rate. The 
rejections are primarily due to missing docketing statements and failure to provide proof of veteran or 
reservist status. 

 
Respectfully submitted,  
 
 

 
Leigh M. Chapman 
Acting Secretary of the Commonwealth 
Pennsylvania Department of State 


