Skip Navigation LinksPennsylvania Department of State > Voting & Elections > Electoral College

The Electoral College 

The Electoral College is a group of citizens (known as electors) appointed by the voters in each state to cast votes for the President and Vice President of the United States on behalf of the state's citizens. It was created to ensure that each state has a role in selecting the President. In casting a vote for President, a Pennsylvania voter is actually voting for a candidate’s slate of Presidential electors. The winning candidate’s electors represent Pennsylvania at the meeting of the state’s Electoral College in December where the electors cast their votes for President and Vice President. In a presidential election, the President of the United States is elected by the Electoral College, not the popular vote. However, each vote for President helps decide which candidate’s electors are appointed to attend the Electoral College where they vote for President and Vice President.

Each state gets the same number of electoral votes as it has members of Congress. There is a total of 538 votes in the Electoral College and a candidate must win a simple majority (270) of those votes to win the election. Pennsylvania has 20 electoral votes. Most states have a winner-take-all system, meaning that all of the state's electoral votes are pledged to the person who won the state's popular vote. 




Pennsylvania Electors


The Pursuant to Chapter 1, Section 7 of Title 3, United States Code (62 Stat. 672 as amended), the Electoral College in Pennsylvania will convene on Monday, December 19, 2016, at 12:00 P.M. in the Chamber of the Pennsylvania House of Representatives, Main Capitol Building, Harrisburg.

Unofficial election returns indicate that on Tuesday, November 8, 2016, the following individuals were elected as Pennsylvania's Electors of President and Vice President: 


Robert Asher  
Montgomery County


Mary Barket 
Northampton County


Robert Bozzuto 
Cumberland County


Theodore Christian 
Bucks County


Michael Downing 
Cumberland County


Margaret Ferraro 
Northampton County


Christopher Gleason
Cambria County


Robert Gleason 
Cambria County


Joyce Haas 
Centre County


Ash Khare 
Warren County


James McErlane
Chester County


Elstina Pickett 
Bradford County


Patricia Poprik 
Bucks County


Andrew Reilly
Delaware County


Carol Sides 
Lycoming County


Gloria “Lee” Snover
Northampton County


Richard Stewart
Cumberland County


Lawrence Tabas
Philadelphia County


Christine Toretti 
Indiana County


Carolyn “Bunny” Welsh

Chester County




Commonwealth of Pennsylvania 

58th Electoral College


December 19, 2016

12:00 P.M.


Chamber of the House of Representatives

State Capitol Building

Harrisburg, PA