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Professional Liability (Malpractice) Insurance 
 
Professional Liability (Malpractice) Insurance:  
Act 138 of 2012 took effect on September 10, 2012 
and requires that ALL occupational therapists in 
Pennsylvania obtain and maintain professional 
liability insurance as a condition of licensure 
effective July 1, 2013. Currently, this requirement 
does not apply to occupational therapy assistants. 
The requirement applies to ALL licensed OTs, 
regardless of the number of hours spent in direct 
patient care. 
 
The italicized text below is verbatim from the 
application for licensure. The Practice Act (Law) 
can be found on the website for the licensure board 
at 
http://www.portal.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/
state_board_of_occupational_therapy  
  

“Under the Occupational Therapy Law, in 
order to hold an occupational therapy 
license in the Commonwealth of 
Pennsylvania, you are required to have 
professional liability insurance in the 
minimum of one million dollars 
($1,000,000) per occurrence or claims 
made.” 

Therapists renewing their licenses will need to 
attest to having insurance by checking the box 
when they renew. Proof of malpractice insurance 
does not need to be sent to the State Board by 
those renewing their licenses. The State Board of 
Occupational Therapy Education and Licensure will 
randomly audit renewed licensees and request 
they submit insurance documentation. Failure to 
provide verification when audited will result in 
automatic suspension of the license by law. 

Therapists applying for new licenses 
(temporary or permanent) and those re-
activating a license will need to obtain 
coverage as part of the application process:  
 
Acceptable coverage shall include:  

1) Personally purchased medical 
professional liability insurance;  
2) Self-insurance;  
3) Medical professional liability insurance 
coverage provided by the occupational 
therapist’s employer.  
  

For new licensees and those re-activating a 
license, you have 30 days from the date 
your license is issued to provide proof of 
acceptable coverage which may include a 
certificate of insurance issued by the insurer 
or a copy of the declarations page of the 
professional liability insurance policy or a 
letter from the applicant’s professional liability 
insurance carrier indicating that the applicant 
will be covered against professional liability in 
the required amounts effective upon the 
issuance of the applicant’s license to practice 
occupational therapy in this Commonwealth. 
For professional liability insurance coverage 
through the occupational therapist’s 
employer, documentation must reflect you as 
a named insured.  

Failure to do so shall result in automatic 
suspension of your professional 
license.For questions about professional 
liability requirements contact the board at ST-
OCCUPATIONAL@pa.gov. 
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Board members – Denise Chisholm, PhD, OTR/L, 
FAOTA and Christine L. Hischmann, MS, OTR/L, 
FAOTA – joined over 6,000 attendees at the 
AOTA’s 93rd Annual Conference and Expo in San 
Diego, Calif., April 25-28.  As representatives of the 
Pennsylvania State Occupational Therapy 
Education and Licensure Board, Dr. Chisholm and 
Ms. Hischmann attended education sessions and 
viewed posters on professional development plans; 
predictive factors for the National Board for 
Certification of Occupational Therapy (NBCOT) 
exam; professional practice preparation; ethical and 
legal issues in occupational therapy practice; 
federal legislative updates; advocacy for the 
profession in today’s competitive healthcare 
marketplace; quality of care in the era of Health 
Care Reform; the Occupational Therapy Mental 
Health Act; update on ACOTE standards and 
accreditation trends;  and patient-centered medical 
homes.   

 

Professional conferences offer occupational 
therapy professionals opportunities to attend 
focused educational sessions, make valuable 
mentoring connections, and learn about state of the 
art products and services . . . all of which 
contributes to YOUR continued competency as a 
licensed occupational therapist or occupational 
therapy assistant in Pennsylvania.   

By attending state and national conferences you 
gain valuable benefits through professional learning 
while earning contact hours for licensure renewal 
and NBCOT re-certification.  The Pennsylvania 
State Occupational Therapy Education and 
Licensure Board encourages all licensees to 
participate in professional development 
opportunities – doing so advances YOUR 
knowledge and skills that contribute to the quality of 
occupational therapy services YOU provide. 

 

Continued Competency Regulations are EFFECTIVE as of June 22, 2013 

All licensed occupational therapists will need to verify completion of a minimum of 24 contact hours of 
acceptable continued competency activities when the license is renewed in 2015!   While all 24 hours may be 
completed using approved continuing education activities, licensees are reminded that continued competence 
is different than continuing education.   For a complete explanation of methods for documenting 24 hours, 
licensees are encouraged to read the complete regulation via the following official link: 

http://www.pabulletin.com/secure/data/vol43/43-25/1117.html 

At this time the regulation pertains to occupational therapists, not occupational therapy assistants. Further 
information will be posted on the board website: 
http://www.portal.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/state_board_of_occupational_therapy/12518 

More information will also be shared at the Pennsylvania Occupational Therapy Association conference in 
November of 2013. All questions should be directed to the licensure board via their website or phone, (717) 
783-1389.  
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