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Biennial Renewal of Licenses and 

Certificates in 2013; Now is the Time 

to Check Your Continuing Education 

Credits  

By: Col. Edmund D. Effort, D.D.S. 

If you are a licensed dental health professional you can 

be sure of three things . . . death, taxes, and continuing 

education requirements! No one can say for sure when 

the first will occur, but we all know that taxes are due 

every year and that a specific number and type of 

continuing education credits are required as a condition 

of the biennial renewal for your professional licenses, 

permits and certificates to practice in the Commonwealth 

of Pennsylvania. Credits must be completed during each 

biennial license period.      

The intent of this regulation is to assure that 

Pennsylvania’s dentists, dental hygienists and EFDAs 

maintain our skills, preserve our ethical and professional 

integrity, and keep abreast of the almost daily changes 

taking place in our beloved profession.  To achieve the 

goal of such regulations, the required CE credit hours 

must be completed in subjects that contribute directly to 

maintaining clinical competence in the fields of dentistry, 

dental hygiene, public health dental hygiene, and 

expanded function dental assisting.  Examples include: 

diagnosis and treatment of oral pathosis, clinical and 

technological subjects, emergency procedures 

(excluding hours required for CPR certification), infection 

control, abuse and neglect, medical and scientific 

subjects, laws and regulations pertinent to dentists, 

dental hygienists and EFDAs.  Courses in non-clinical 

subjects, which may be helpful in other aspects of 

practice, are excluded from the list of approved subject 

areas and will not count towards CE credit requirements 

for re-licensure.  Examples include: office management, 

billing and practice building, among others.      

Specific requirements for Dentists 

 Dentists must complete 30 hours of continuing 

education each biennial period to maintain their 

license to practice dentistry.   

Note:  Dentists who do not hold a permit to administer 

anesthesia who maintain offices where general 

anesthesia, deep sedation and/or conscious sedation is 

administered to their patients by a permit holder or 

another regulated practitioner, must complete 5 hours of 

continuing education in courses relating to general 

anesthesia, deep sedation and/or conscious sedation.  

Specific requirements for Dentists who hold an 
Anesthesia Unrestricted or Restricted Permit I  
 

 Dentists who hold an Anesthesia Unrestricted 

Permit must complete 15 of the required 30 

hours of continuing education in courses related 

to general anesthesia, deep sedation and/or 

conscious sedation.  

 Dentists who hold an Anesthesia Restricted 

Permit I must complete 15 of the required 30 

hours of continuing education in courses related 

to conscious sedation.  

Specific requirements for Dental Hygienists 

 Dental hygienists must complete 20 hours of 

continuing education each biennial period to 

maintain their license to practice dental hygiene.     

 Dental hygienists may complete no more than 3 

of the required 20 hours of continuing education 

in courses relating to communication skills.  

 Dental hygienists holding local anesthesia 

permits must complete 3 of the required 20 

hours of CE in courses related to the  
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administration of local anesthesia, including 

pharmacology or other related courses.  

 Public health dental hygiene practitioners must 

complete 5 of the required 20 hours of CE in 

public health-related courses.  

Specific requirements for Expanded Function Dental 

Assistants 

 Expanded function dental assistants must 

complete 10 hours of continuing education each 

biennial period to maintain their certification.  

 Unless an exemption applies, expanded function 

dental assistants must complete 3 of the 

required 10 required hours of continuing 

education in the area of coronal polishing.   

*Note:  These credits may not me met through 

video, online or distance education.   They must 

be completed by physical attendance at a 

hands-on clinical training course offered by an 

approved program sponsor or an approved 

EFDA education program.  

CPR requirements 

Under the Board’s Regulations, every licensee is 

required to maintain current Infant, Child and Adult CPR 

certification through the American Red Cross, American 

Heart Association or an agency substantially similar 

approved by the Board.   You are required to certify that 

you have met this requirement on your renewal 

application.   The Board also conducts a random audit 

requesting you to show compliance with this 

requirement.   Please be advised that online CPR is not 

accepted to fulfill this requirement nor may credits 

earned through CPR courses be applied to the 

continuing education credit requirements.  

Additionally, Anesthesia Unrestricted and Restricted 

Permit I holders are required to maintain current ACLS 

and/or PALS certification to maintain these anesthesia 

permits.   

Documenting, Submitting and Maintaining Records 

of Required Continuing Education 

At the time of licensure renewal, each licensee must 

certify that he or she has fulfilled the continuing 

education requirements in accordance with the Board’s  

 

Regulations.   If selected for participation in the Board’s 

random audit, the licensee will be requested to submit to 

the Board proof of completion of the required continuing 

education courses as outlined above.  Under the Board’s 

Regulations, you are required to maintain the 

appropriate documentation/certificates for a minimum of 

4 years.   Certificates must include, but are not limited to, 

your name, the date and title of the course, number of 

credit hours completed, the type of c.e. (live/home 

study), the name of the approved program sponsor, etc.   

For other methods such as serving as an instructor of a 

continuing education course through an approved 

program sponsor or professional writing, appropriate 

documentation will be required for verification in order to 

receive the appropriate credit.   

As a licensed practitioner, you have the responsibility of 

completing the required number  of credits each biennial 

period in accordance with the Board’s Regulations and 

for maintaining those records.   Failure to provide the 

Board with the acceptable documentation may result in 

disciplinary action.    

Additionally, any false statement made is subject to the 

penalties of 18 PA C.S. 4904 relating to unsworn 

falsification to authorities and may result in your license 

being disciplined.   Therefore, it is important that you 

verify that you completed the required continuing 

education prior to certification on your renewal 

application.   

For the Board’s Regulations relative to continuing 

education, please visit our website at 

www.dos.state.pa.us/dent and click on Rules and 

Regulations. 

Important Reminder for 

Pennsylvania Dentists 

By John F. Erhard, D.D.S. 

Licensed dentists in Pennsylvania are obligated to verify 

that all employees/associates who are required by law to 

hold active licenses in the Commonwealth (dentists, 

dental hygienists, and EFDAs) possess current, active 

licenses, and display those licenses openly in the office.   

Licensure can be verified electronically at 

www.licensepa.state.pa.us

http://www.dos.state.pa.us/dent
http://www.licensepa.state.pa.us/
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