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STATE BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE 
P. O. BOX 2649 

HARRISBURG, PA 17105-2649 
(717) 783-7134 

www.dos.pa.gov/vet 
 

APPLICATION for CERTIFICATION as a VETERINARY TECHNICIAN 
DO NOT use this application to apply for the VTNE 

 

NOTE:   Practice as a veterinary technician in Pennsylvania may not begin until your license has been issued.  
 

INSTRUCTIONS  - Apply per requirements of A or B  
 

A.  LICENSURE BY EXAMINATION :  
 

 You are ineligible to apply without a Social Security Number 
 NO Pennsylvania-specific jurisprudence exam is required 

 

1. Complete pages 1 and 2 of this application; include $35 application fee (personal check or money order 

payable to “Commonwealth of PA”) and mail ORIGINAL application to letterhead address. 
 

2. Complete the top section of Page 3 and forward the "Verification of Graduation" to the Dean, Registrar, or 
Chairperson, of the AVMA accredited program in Veterinary Technology at the school from which you graduated, 

for completion of the bottom section.  The school seal MUST be affixed where indicated and the ORIGINAL 

form returned by the school directly to the Board office in an official school envelope.   The form must be 

completed AFTER you have received your degree; graduation may NOT be anticipated. 
 

3. Request the American Association of Veterinary State Boards (AAVSB),  www.aavsb.org, Veterinary Information 

Verifying Agency (VIVA), to forward your VTNE score (passing score is 425) directly to the PA Board office.  If you 

took the exam FOR Pennsylvania, your score should already have been forwarded to the Board Office. 
 
 

B.  LICENSURE BY ENDORSEMENT  
 

  You are ineligible to apply without a Social Security Number 
   NO Pennsylvania-specific jurisprudence exam is required 

 

1. Pages 1 and 2 must be completed and submitted together with $35 application fee payable to 

“Commonwealth of Pennsylvania”.   Mail ORIGINAL application to letterhead address. 

 

2. Complete the top section of Page 3 and forward the "Verification of Graduation" to the Dean, Registrar or 
Chairperson of the AVMA accredited program in Veterinary Technology at the school from which you 
graduated, for completion of the bottom section.  The school seal MUST be affixed where indicated and the 
ORIGINAL form returned by the school directly to the Board office in an official school envelope.  The form 
must be completed AFTER you have received your degree. 

 

3. Request each state in which you hold or have held a license as a veterinary technician to forward a 

Letter of Good Standing directly to the PA Board office. 

 

4. Request the American Association of Veterinary State Boards (AAVSB), www.aavsb.org, Veterinary 

Information Verifying Agency (VIVA), to forward your VTNE score (passing score is 425) directly to the PA 
Board office. 

 

NOTE:  If any of your documentation arrives in another name such as maiden or previous married name, 

include a copy of the legal document that changed your name (marriage certificate, divorce decree, 

court order) 
 The Practice Act and Rules/Regulations of the State Board are available from the Board office or online at 

www.dos.pa.gov/vet.    The continuing education requirement is detailed on the next page.

http://www.aavsb.org/
http://www.aavsb.org/
http://www.dos.pa.gov/vet
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CONTINUING EDUCATION 

 

 

In order to renew the certification, a Veterinary Technician shall complete 16 hours of 

continuing education (CE) courses approved by the Board during the 24 months preceding the 
expiration date (November 30 of each even year) of the license.  A one-time exemption from this 
requirement is allowed for persons renewing their veterinary technician certification for the first 
time.  Continuing education credit will not be given for courses in office management or practice 
building. 
 

Make certain your credit hours are from approved courses/providers and are verified with 

documentation as noted below. 
 
Approved courses are those provided by the  
 
(1) AVMA (including AVMA allied organizations/major regional veterinary organizations/specialty 

boards) 

(2) AVMA accredited schools 

(3) Allied organizations of the AVMA 

(4) Another state's veterinary medical association 

(5) Providers listed on the Registry of Approved Continuing Education (RACE) of the American 

Association of Veterinary State Boards (AAVSB) 

(6) Major regional veterinary organizations approved by the AVMA 

(7) Other states’ veterinary medical associations 

(8) The Veterinary Technicians and Assistants Association of Pennsylvania-(VTAAP) 

 

Courses from these providers are not required to have a Pennsylvania Board approval number.  

However, if you wish to use hours from courses of other providers, the course/provider must have 

applied to and received an approval number from the Pennsylvania Board. 
 
The provider must give you a Certificate (letter) of Attendance which must include the name of the 
provider, your name, the title and date of the course, the number of credit hours you attended and 

the signature of the person authenticating attendance.  If the provider is not one of those listed 

above, the certificate must also show an approval number issued by the Pennsylvania Board 
 

Certificates of Attendance must be maintained for three years for submission to the Board 

if you are selected for audit. 
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STATE BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE 
P.O. BOX 2649 

HARRISBURG, PA  17105-2649 
(717) 783-7134     www.dos.pa.gov/vet 

 

APPLICATION for CERTIFICATION as a VETERINARY TECHNICIAN 

APPLICATION IS FOR  (check one):     license by     license by  

EXAMINATION           ENDORSEMENT 
DO NOT use this application     (see part A of Instructions)          (see part B of Instructions) 

 to apply for the VTNE 
 

APPLICATION FEE  -  $35.00 Personal Check or Money Order payable to "Commonwealth of Pennsylvania."    Fees are not refundable.  NOTE: 

 A processing fee of $20.00 will be charged for any check or money order returned unpaid by your bank, regardless of the reason for non-payment. If 
a pending application is older than one year from the date submitted and the applicant wishes to continue the application process, the Board shall 
require the applicant to submit a new application including the required fee.  In order to complete the application process, many of the supporting 
documents associated with the application cannot be more than six months from the date of issuance. 

 
 
 

PART ONE        DAYTIME PHONE #  (_______)______________ 
 

NAME  ___________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
Last     First    Middle   Maiden 

 

ADDRESS ________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 Street      City     State  Zip Code 

 

SOCIAL SECURITY #_______________________*BIRTH DATE ___________________ EMAIL ___________________________ 

(You are ineligible to apply without a Social Security Number.  See information at bottom of page 2.) 
 

  

PART TWO 
 

ANSWER THE FOLLOWING:   

If you answer "YES" to question(s) 3-8, give details on a separate sheet AND provide a certified copy of 

all related official documentation. 
YES NO 

 
1.   Do you hold or have you ever held a license, certificate, permit, registration or other authorization to 

practice a profession or occupation in any state or jurisdiction? 
  

2.   If you answered yes to the above question, please provide the profession and state or jurisdiction. 

 

_____________________________________________________________ 

  

3.   Have you had disciplinary action taken against a professional or occupational license, certificate, 
permit, registration or other authorization to practice a profession or occupation issued o you in any 
state or jurisdiction or have you agreed to voluntary surrender in lieu of discipline? 

  

4.   Do you currently have any disciplinary charges pending against your professional or occupational 
license, certificate, permit, or registration in any state or jurisdiction?   

5.   Have you withdrawn an application for a professional or occupational license, certificate, permit, or 
registration, had an application for a license denied or refused, or agreed not to apply or reapply for a 
professional or occupational license, certificate, permit or registration in any state or jurisdiction? 

  

6.   Have you ever been convicted (found guilty, pled guilty, or pled nolo contendere), received probation 
without verdict or accelerated rehabilitative disposition (ARD), as to any criminal charges, felony or 
misdemeanor, including any drug law violations?  Note:  You are not required to disclose any ARD or 
other criminal matter that has been expunged by order of a court. 

  

7.  Do you currently have any criminal charges pending and unresolved in any state or jurisdiction?   
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PART THREE: 
 
1. Veterinary technology school and location________________________________________________________ 
 
2. Date of degree_____________________________________________________________________________ 

 
3. Date, and State for which you passed the VTNE___________________________________________________ 

 
4. List all states in which you hold or have held a license/certification to practice veterinary technology.    You must 

request that a Letter of Good Standing be sent from each State Board Office directly to the Pennsylvania Board 
Office. 
_________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_________________________________________________________________________________________ 

5. Name and address of the veterinary facility in which you will practice in Pennsylvania (if known). 
_________________________________________________________________________________________ 

_________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 _________________________________________________________________________ 

 _________________________________________________________________________ 

 

 

 

PART FOUR 
 
 

VERIFICATION 

 
I verify that the statements in this application are true and correct to the best of my knowledge, information and belief. I 
understand that false statements are made subject to the penalties of 18 PA C.S. Section 4904 relating to unsworn 
falsification to authorities and may result in the suspension or revocation of my licensure or registration.    I am aware 

of the criminal penalties for tampering with public records or information pursuant to 18 Pa. C.S. Section 4911.  I 

verify that I have read and am familiar with the provisions of the Pennsylvania Veterinary Medicine Practice 

Act and regulations of the State Board of Veterinary Medicine (see www.dos.pa.gov/vet).    I also verify that this 
form is in the original format as supplied by the  Department of State  and has not been altered or otherwise modified 
in any way. 

 
_____________________________ ______________________________ ______________ 
Printed Name of Applicant     Signature of Applicant     Date 

 
 

DO NOT use this application to apply for the VTNE--Apply at  www.aavsb.org. 
 
 

Note that disclosing your social security number on this application is mandatory in order for the State Board of 

Veterinary Medicine to comply with the requirements of the federal Social Security Act pertaining to child support 

enforcement, as implemented in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania at 23 Pa. C.S. § 4304.1(a).  In order to enforce 

domestic child support orders, the Commonwealth’s licensing boards must provide to the Department of Human 

Services information prescribed by DHS about the licensee, including the social security number. 

 
 

 

http://www.dos.pa.gov/vet
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STATE BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE 
P O BOX 2649 
HARRISBURG, PA  17105 

 

VERIFICATION OF GRADUATION 

Applicant for EXAMINATION OR ENDORSEMENT 

 

 

Applicant:    Complete top section and send form to school of graduation. 
 
NAME _____________________________________________________________________ 

Last     First    M.I.   Maiden 

 

ADDRESS __________________________________________________________________ 
     Street 

 
____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
City        State   Zip Code 

 

 

SOCIAL SECURITY # __________________________DATE OF BIRTH _________________ 
 
 
 
 
This section to be completed by the Dean, Registrar, or Chairperson of the AVMA accredited Veterinary 

Technology program at the school from which the applicant HAS GRADUATED.     DO NOT complete this 

form in anticipation of graduation. 

 

 

I certify that _______________________________ has successfully completed all required courses, 
(Name of Applicant)

 

 
 and examinations and graduated on _____________________________________________ from 

(Date of Graduation)  

 

_________________________________ with a _____________ degree in Veterinary Technology. 
(Name of Institution) (Associate/Bachelor's) 

 

______________________________________ This degree is from a program accredited by the 
(City and State)

 American Veterinary Medical Association 

 
 
 

______________________________     SCHOOL SEAL  
 (Signature of Dean/Registrar/Chairperson of Program)

 
(Mandatory)

  
 

______________________________ 
(Date) 

 
 

SCHOOL SHALL RETURN AN ORIGINAL COMPLETED FORM DIRECTLY TO THE BOARD OFFICE IN 

AN OFFICIAL ENVELOPE.  (DO NOT send a copy of this form or use envelope if provided by 

applicant) 


