
This notification is being sent as a reminder regarding the Current PA Employer 
Form and the 2 hours of mandated Act 31 Child Abuse Reporter Training that are 
required in order to renew your license that will expire on July 31, 2016.  Renewal 
notices will be sent approximately 60-90 days in advance of the expiration date.  

Notification of Current Pennsylvania Employment Requirement: 

Sections 16 and 17 of the Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists Licensure Act, 63 
P.S. §§ 1716 and 1717, require that EMPLOYEES of corporations, partnerships, trusts, 
associations or companies that engage in the practice of audiology or speech-language 
pathology in this Commonwealth register their employment with the Board.  In order to make the 
renewal process more efficient, please follow the directions applicable to your employment 
situation: 

(1) If you have CHANGED employers since your last application to the Board (initial 
licensure or renewal) print the Pennsylvania Employer Form from the Board’s 
website, fill out the top of the form, have your employer complete the bottom and 
return the Employer Form to the Board.  (Click on the Board's website at 
www.dos.pa.gov/speech, then click on General Board Information and then click on 
Applications and Forms.)  

(2) If you are unsure whether your employment information on file with the Board is 
accurate, please submit a new Employer Form by following the directions above.   

(3) If you work for a school district, DO NOTHING as there is no documentation to 
submit.   

(4)  If you do not have a current Pennsylvania employer, DO NOTHING as there is no 
documentation to submit.   

 

ACT 31 OF 2014 –CHILD ABUSE RECOGNITION AND REPORTING 
REQUIREMENTS 

EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2015, all speech-language pathologists and audiologists MUST have 
documented the completion of 2 hours of Department of Human Services (DHS)-approved 
continuing education in child abuse recognition and reporting requirements (Child Abuse Training) 
in order to renew a license. There are NO general exemptions to this requirement. 

 
The Board CANNOT renew your license until it receives verification of completion 

electronically FROM THE PROVIDER.  

A list of approved providers as well as additional information about this requirement can be found 
at www.dos.pa.gov under the heading “TRENDING Mandated Child Abuse Reporter Training 
Under Act 31.” 

If you have not already completed the Child Abuse continuing education please do so at least two 
weeks prior to renewing you license.  Providers may take up to 7 business days to electronically 
transmit verification of your completion to the Board. DO NOT submit a paper copy of your 
certificate of completion, as proof of completion must be transmitted directly from the provider.   
 
If you have any questions, you may e-mail the Board at st-speech@pa.gov 
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