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REACTIVATION APPLICATION: 
BROKER OF RECORD – CEMETERY BROKER OF RECORD – CORPORATE OFFICER – PARTNER  

STANDARD AND RECIPROCAL LICENSEES 
 

Make sure this is the most recent application by checking our website.  Failure to submit a current 
application could result in delays while processing your application. 

 
PLEASE READ THE FOLLOWING BEFORE PROCEEDING WITH THE APPLICATION PROCESS 

 
This application is for licensees that do not have a current expiration date.   

 
Failing to answer any questions or providing false answers may result in the refusal of a license or 
subsequent disciplinary action once the license is issued.   
 
Licensees who wish to use and advertise a nickname for their first name shall include the nickname on 
their licensure applications or biennial renewal applications. If you are using a nickname that was not 
previously reported, please provide this information now. 
 
If a pending application is older than one year from the date submitted and the applicant wishes to 
continue the application process, the Commission shall require the applicant to submit a new application 
including the required fee. 
  
In order to complete the application process, many of the supporting documents associated with the 
application cannot be more than six months from the date of issuance.  All background check documents 
cannot be older than 90 days from the date of issuance. 
 
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER DISCLOSURE:  NOTICE: Disclosing your Social Security Number on this 
application is mandatory in order for the State Boards to comply with the requirements of the Federal 
Social Security Act pertaining to Child Support Enforcement, as implemented in the Commonwealth of 
Pennsylvania at 23 Pa.C.S. § 4304.1(a). At the request of the Department of Human Services (DHS), the 
licensing boards must provide to DHS information prescribed by DHS about the licensee, including the 
social security number.  
 
Licenses are not forwarded.  Provide your current address to receive correspondence from the 
Commission.  It is the applicant’s responsibility to inform the Commission of an address or name change 
within ten (10) days of the change.  Refer to the “Name/Address Change” form located on our website. 
 
To qualify for a reciprocal license, you must meet both of the following requirements: 
 
1. Hold a current, active equivalent broker license in another state, having been so obtained by 

examination in a state that has entered into a reciprocal agreement with this Commission 
2. Your principle place of business is in another state 

 
Note:  You must maintain a current license in your primary state in order to renew your reciprocal 
Pennsylvania license.  You are required to notify the Commission within 30 days of any change to your 
primary license.  If your primary license is not active at the time of renewal, you cannot renew, and must 
apply for a standard license by passing the state portion of the Real Estate Examination (if applicable) 
and completing an application for initial licensure as a standard licensee. 

 
INSTRUCTIONS 

 
1. The application responses must either be typed or printed in blue or black ink. 

 

STATE REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 
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2. If you are applying for licensure as broker of record for a corporation or partnership that is already 
licensed in this Commonwealth: 

A. The corporation or partnership must obtain a resignation letter from the current broker of 
record, to be submitted with this application; AND 

B. The new broker of record must be identified as a signatory on the escrow account, replacing 
the former broker of record.  A letter from the bank confirming this change must be 
submitted with this application. 
 

3. If you changed your name for any reason, copies of legal documents supporting this change must 
be submitted.  Legal documents include marriage certificates, divorce decrees that state you are 
retaking a maiden name, or other court documents verifying the name change.  Driver’s licenses 
and social security cards are not acceptable to verify a name change.   

 
4. Use the name and license number exactly as it appears on the broker’s license. If the employing 

broker is a corporation or partnership, use that name, license number, and address. 
 

5. Employer Certification – The employer certification must be signed by the broker or broker of record 
if the employing broker is a corporation or partnership. 

 
APPLICATION CHECKLIST 

 
Attach the following documents to this application: 
 
 Check or money order made payable to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. 

• $146.00 + $5.00/MONTH LATE FEE (IF APPLICABLE) 
• The applicant must disclose whether he/she engaged in real estate activity while the 

license was expired.  An additional $5.00 per month must be paid for each month the 
applicant practiced on an expired license.   

• Application fees are NON-REFUNDABLE regardless of whether a license is issued.  A 
$20.00 processing fee will be charged for any returned unpaid check. 
 

 Continuing Education Transcripts – STANDARD LICENSEES ONLY – If your license 
was expired or inactive for less than 5 years, official transcripts must be submitted, 
showing 14 hours of Commission-approved continuing education courses taken within the 2 
years immediately prior to the date this application is submitted. 
*Courses used to reactivate a license may not be reused to renew the license at 
renewal time.  An additional 14 hours of continuing education will be required. 

 
If your license is currently inactive or expired, you have five years from the 
date of inactivity or expiration to reactivate your license without taking the 
licensing examinations.  Your completed application for reactivation must be 
received in our office before your five year deadline.  A completed application 
includes the reactivation fee, criminal background check, conviction documents 
(if applicable), and continuing education certificates.  Applications will not be 
considered complete if they are faxed or emailed, as a fee cannot be submitted 
in this manner 

 
 Examination results from the testing service (if applicable) – STANDARD LICENSEES 

ONLY – If this license has been expired or inactive for 5 or more years, and you do not hold 
another current Pennsylvania license, you must take and pass the licensure examination prior 
to applying for reactivation.  Attach the original notices dated within 3 years, evidencing a 
passing grade on both portions UNLESS you are licensed in another state.  In that case, you 
only need to submit evidence of passing the state portion of the examination. 
 

Per Section 501(b) of the Real Estate Licensing and Registration Act, “Any person 
who remains inactive for a period of five years without renewing his license shall, 
prior to having a license reissued to him, submit to and pass the examination 
pertinent to the license for which the person is reapplying”. 
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 Certification of Licensure/Letter of Good Standing – 
• RECIPROCAL LICENSEES – Accompanying this application must be a Certification of 

Licensure or Letter of Good Standing from the state where you passed the real estate 
salesperson licensure examination and that has a reciprocal agreement with this 
Commission. 

• STANDARD LICENSEES – If you hold a current license from another state, or have 
been licensed within the last 5 years in another state, a Certification of Licensure or 
Letter of Good Standing can be submitted in lieu of scores for the national portion of the 
examination, provided you passed the national portion of the examination in the other 
state.   

• The Certificate/Letter MUST be dated within 90 days of the date this application is 
received in the Commission office. 
 

 Criminal Background Check completed by the State Police where the applicant resides 
and dated within 90 days of the date this application is received in the Commission 
office. 

• IF YOU HAVE A CURRENT PENNSYLVANIA REAL ESTATE LICENSE, it is not 
necessary to obtain a criminal background check. 

• If you reside in Pennsylvania, background checks may be obtained online at: 
https://epatch.state.pa.us   

• If you reside outside the state of Pennsylvania, you must obtain a background check 
from the State Police in that state. 

• The background check must contain the Applicant’s date of birth and social security 
number. 

• The background check must either state “No Record” or “Record Exists.” Background 
checks that reflect “Pending”  “Under Review,” or “Under Request” cannot be 
submitted.  Questions regarding the status of a background check must be directed to 
the State Police. 

• If “Record Exists”—submit originals of the following for EACH conviction: 
o The conviction summary information provided by the State Police;  
o Certified copies of court documents; 
o Letter from the probation office, dated within 90 days, indicating current 

probationary status/completion date; 
o Police incident reports; 
o Detailed description (in applicant’s words) of the circumstances surrounding the 

conviction, the basis for the conviction, and the disposition of the conviction; 
o A signed and dated reference letter from the employing broker, on the company’s 

letterhead, indicating that the broker is aware of all conviction(s) and is willing to 
hire the applicant. 
 

 Resignation Letter (if applicable) 
 
 Bank Escrow Letter (if applicable) 

 
 Documentation regarding discipline (if applicable).   

 
 

PROCESSING INFORMATION 
 

• Licenses are mailed to the employing broker’s main office address. 
• Please see the Commission’s website www.dos.pa.gov/estate  for additional information about 

licensure and application requirements. 
• To check the status of your application or to apply online visit www.mylicense.state.pa.us  

 
 

YOU MAY NOT PRACTICE UNTIL THE COMMISSION ISSUES YOUR LICENSE  

3 
 

https://epatch.state.pa.us/
http://www.dos.pa.gov/estate
http://www.mylicense.state.pa.us/


4/2015 
 

 
 
 
 

REACTIVATION APPLICATION: 
BROKER OF RECORD – CEMETERY BROKER OF RECORD – CORPORATE OFFICER – PARTNER  

STANDARD AND RECIPROCAL LICENSEES 
 

1. Applicant’s Legal Name: 
 
2. Applicant’s Nickname (if applicable): 

 
3. Applicant’s License Number: 
 
4. Applicant’s Home Address: 

(Street) 
 

 
(City) (State) (Zip) 

 
5. Applicant’s Email Address: 

 Check here if you would like to receive communications regarding your application via 
email.  If you check this box, please be sure to add 
ra-realestate@pa.gov to your address book. 
 

6. Applicant’s Social Security Number:  __ __ __ - __ __ - __ __ __ __ 
 
7. Applicant’s Date of Birth:  __ __ / __ __ / __ __ __ __ 
 
8. Applicant’s Phone Number:  (__ __ __) __ __ __ - __ __ __ __ 

 
9. Have you provided real estate services while the license was expired? 

 No  Yes – When: __ __ / __ __ / __ __ __ __  to  __ __ / __ __ / __ __ __ __ 
 

BROKER’S INFORMATION AS IT APPEARS ON THEIR LICENSE 
 
10. Employing Broker’s Office Name: 
 
11. Employing Broker’s License Number: 
 
APPLICANT BACKGROUND INFORMATION: 
 
12. Do you hold, or have you ever held, a license, certificate, permit, registration or other authorization 

to practice a profession or occupation in any state or jurisdiction?    No     Yes 
 

13. If you answered yes to the above question, please provide the profession_______________ and 
state or jurisdiction _______________.  Please do not abbreviate. 
 

14. Since your initial application or last renewal, whichever is later, have you had disciplinary action 
taken against a professional or occupational license, certificate, permit, registration or other 
authorization to practice a profession or occupation issued to you in any state or jurisdiction or have 
you agreed to voluntary surrender in lieu of discipline?   No  Yes 
 

15. Do you currently have any disciplinary charges pending against your professional or occupational 
license, certificate, permit or registration in any state or jurisdiction?   No  Yes 
 

  

 

STATE REAL ESTATE COMMISSION 
PO Box 2649 
Harrisburg PA 17105-2649 

Phone Number 717-783-3658 
Fax Number: 717-787-0250 

www.dos.pa.gov/estate 
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16. Since your initial application or last renewal, whichever is later, have you withdrawn an application 
for a professional or occupational license, certificate, permit or registration, had an application 
denied or refused, or for disciplinary reasons agreed not to apply or reapply for a professional or 
occupational license, certificate, permit or registration in any state or jurisdiction?   No    Yes 
 

17. Since your initial application or last renewal, whichever is later, have you been convicted (found 
guilty, pled guilty or pled nolo contendere), received probation without verdict or accelerated 
rehabilitative disposition (ARD), as to any criminal charges, felony or misdemeanor, including any 
drug law violations?  Note: You are not required to disclose any ARD or other criminal matter that 
has been expunged by order of a court.   No  Yes 
 

18. Do you currently have any criminal charges pending and unresolved in any state or jurisdiction?  
    No  Yes 

 
Disciplinary action includes any revocation, suspension, voluntary surrender, reprimand, probation, civil 
penalty or any restriction in practice.  If any disciplinary action has been taken against any license in any 
state, submit all documentation about the disciplinary action.  
 
Conviction includes a finding or verdict of guilt, an admission of guilt, a plea of nolo contendere or 
receiving probation without verdict, disposition in lieu of trial or an Accelerated Rehabilitation Disposition 
in the disposition of criminal charges. Only felony and misdemeanor convictions must be reported to the 
Commission.  If a conviction has occurred in any state that has not yet been reported to the Commission, 
submit all documentation about the conviction. If you answered “Yes” to any of the disciplinary or 
conviction questions, provide complete details as well as certified copies of relevant documents. 

 
  
 
EMPLOYER’S CERTIFICATION (not applicable for Broker of Record applicants) 
 
I do hereby request that a license be granted to ___________________________________________ to 
provide real estate services at this office.  I certify that the above applicant bears a good reputation for 
honesty, trustworthiness, integrity and competence and I will actively train and supervise the applicant 
as required by Real Estate Licensing and Registration Act and the Commission’s Regulations. 
 
 
(Broker’s Signature) (License Number) (Date) 
 
 

APPLICANT’S CERTIFICATION 
 
By submitting this information, I verify that this application is in the original format as supplied by the 
Department of State and has not been altered or otherwise modified in any way.  I am aware of the 
criminal penalties for tampering with public records or information under 18 Pa.C.S. § 4911. I verify that 
the statements in this application are true and correct to the best of my knowledge, information and 
belief.   I understand that false statements are made subject to the penalties of 18 Pa.C.S. § 4904 
(relating to unsworn falsification to authorities) and may result in the suspension, revocation or denial of 
my license, certificate, permit or registration. 
 
 
(Applicant’s Signature) (Date) 
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