Education

- Q: What is the educational requirement to become licensed as a psychologist in Pennsylvania?
- A: The Board's regulations require completion of a doctoral program that is either accredited by the American Psychological Association (APA) or the Canadian Psychological Association (CPA) or is designated by the Association of State and Provincial Psychology Boards (ASPPB)/National Register Designation Project*. Listings of accredited/designated doctoral programs can be found at the following websites:
 - APA: <u>http://www.apa.org/ed/accreditation/programs/accred-professional.aspx</u>
 - ASPPB/National Register Designation Project: <u>http://www.nationalregister.org/desig_alphabetical_search.html</u>

*The activities of the Joint Designation Project of ASPPB and the National Register will be terminated by September 2019.

- Q: I am aware of a licensed psychologist in Pennsylvania who has a master's degree. How was this person able to obtain a license as a psychologist when the Board's regulations require a doctoral degree?
- A: There was a period of time in Pennsylvania when the educational requirement for licensure as a psychologist was a master's degree. When the Professional Psychologist Practice Act was amended to require a doctoral degree, psychologists licensed at the master's level were grandfathered.

Examinations

Q: Am I able to sit for the EPPP and the PPLE prior to the completion of post doctoral experience?

A: Yes. The Board's regulations allow applicants to apply to the Board for permission to sit for the EPPP and the PPLE after the applicant has been awarded a doctoral degree from an acceptable doctoral program. The application is submitted online at www.pals.pa.gov.

Q. I failed the EPPP/PPLE for the first time. When can I retake the exam?

A. The Professional Psychologists Practice Act was amended and the 6month wait period between a first and second examination is no longer required. Please be advised that there is a 60 day wait period between a second and third, or any subsequent examination. Once the Board receives and processes a failing exam score, you will receive an email with instruction on reapplying to the Board for permission to retake the EPPP/PPLE.

Frequently Asked Questions State Board of Psychology

Supervised Experience

Q: How much experience is required to obtain a PA psychology license?

A: A total of two years of supervised experience is required. The first year is satisfied by completing a predoctoral internship. The second year began after the completion of the predoctoral internship and must consist of at least 12 months and at least 1750 hours of acceptable supervised experience.

Q: Where can I find the requirements for supervised experience.

A: §41.32 of the Board's regulations provide the "Experience qualifications". §41.33 of the Board's regulations provide the requirements for supervisors. A copy of the regulations is available on the Board's website at <u>www.dos.pa.gov/psych</u> by clicking on "Board Laws & Regulations", followed by "Regulations".

Q: How many hours of supervised experience are required for licensure as a psychologist in Pennsylvania?

A: If the experience began on or before December 5, 2010, at least 1500 hours of supervised experience is required.

If the experience began on or after December 6, 2010, at least 12 months and at least 1750 hours of supervised experience is required.

Q: How many hours of individual supervision are required per week?

A: The Board regulations require psychology residents to receive at least 2 hours per week of individual face-to-face supervision.

Q: Can any part of the 2 hours per week of individual face-to-face supervision be done by telephone?

A: No. Only additional supervision beyond the required 2 hours per week of individual face-to-face supervision can be done by telephone.

Page 3 September 14, 2018

Regulations do change from time to time, so please review the latest version for any updates. The regulations can be found here: <u>http://www.pacode.com/secure/data/049/chapter41/chap41toc.html</u>

Q: What are the minimum and maximum numbers of hours of supervised experience that can be counted per week?

A: If the experience began on or before December 5, 2010, the minimum is 15 hours per week and the maximum is 40 hours per week.

If the experience began on or after December 6, 2010, the minimum is 15 hours per week and the maximum is 45 hours per week.

Q: How long must I be working at one entity in order for the experience to be considered?

A: If the experience is full-time, the psychology resident must work at an entity for at least 3 months. If the experience is part-time, the psychology resident must work at an entity for at least 6 months.

Frequently Asked Questions State Board of Psychology

Continuing Education

For specific information regarding the continuing education requirement, please review §41.59 of the Board's regulations. Additionally, please review the "Continuing Education Information" found on the Board's website at <u>www.dos.pa.gov/psych</u> - click on "General Board Information", followed by "Continuing Education Information".

- Q. I was licensed as a psychologist in Maryland in 2004 and was issued my Pennsylvania license on 1/7/2013. The license will expire on 11/30/2013. Do I need to complete continuing education to renew my license to 11/30/2015?
- A. Yes. The Board's regulations at §41.59(h)(2) states the following: "A psychologist who is licensed under § 41.52 (relating to persons licensed in other states) shall comply with the continuing education requirement, but the psychologist's contact hours will be prorated on a quarterly basis from the date of licensure in this Commonwealth to the next biennial renewal date. Each quarter will consist of 3 months. Beginning with the quarter immediately following licensure in this Commonwealth, at least 3.75 contact hours (.375 CEU) shall be earned for each quarter." Based on the regulations, this psychologist must complete 11.25 hours of acceptable continuing education, which includes 3 hours in ethics, in order to renew the license to 11/30/2015.

Q. I was issued my first psychology license in Pennsylvania on 4/12/12 and the license will expire on 11/30/2013. Do I need to complete continuing education to renew my license to 11/30/2015?

A. You are exempt from the continuing education requirement, WITH THE EXCEPTION OF the 2 hours of Child Abuse Recognition and Reporting Continuing Education. The Board's regulations at §41.59(h)(1) states the following: "The Board will exempt from the continuing education requirement a psychologist who received a license within 2 years of the psychologist's first application for biennial renewal." Therefore, this psychologist is exempt from the continuing education requirement.

Q. I have been ill and unable to meet my continuing education requirement. What are my options?

A. If you are not practicing as a psychologist in Pennsylvania, you may wish to consider placing your license on inactive status.

If you are practicing as a psychologist in Pennsylvania, you may submit a written request for an extension of time to complete the required continuing education. The Board must also receive a letter from a health care provider which documents your inability to meet the continuing education requirement. The Board considers these requests on a case-by-case basis.

Frequently Asked Questions State Board of Psychology

Telepsychology

Q: What are the guidelines for providing psychological services via telephone/online?

A: Please refer to the Board's Guideline Regarding Requirements for Provision of Psychological Services Regardless of Delivery Method found on the Board's website at <u>www.dos.pa.gov/psych</u> by clicking on "Announcements", followed by "Guideline for Requirements for Provision of Psychological Services, Regardless of Delivery Method".