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STATE BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY 

P. O. BOX 2649 
HARRISBURG, PA  17105-2649 

(717)783-7134  www.dos.pa.gov/physther 
 

APPLICATION FOR PHYSICAL THERAPIST ASSISTANT 
TO PRACTICE WITH INDIRECT SUPERVSION 

 

INTRODUCTION: 
 

The Pennsylvania State Board of Physical Therapy would like to remind all practitioners that it is your 
responsibility to be familiar with the law and the regulations that govern your profession.  You can 
access that information through our website at www.dos.pa.gov/physther or by calling the Board office 
and requesting a copy be sent to you.  With the changes put in place by Act 38, the Board would also 
like to remind supervising Physical Therapists that Physical Therapy Assistants working with indirect 
supervision should be able to recognize common emergent situations.  Current training in CPR is also 
suggested.   

 

INSTRUCTIONS: 
 

1.  Attach application fee of $30.00.  Payment can be made by check or money order made payable to 
“Commonwealth of Pennsylvania”.  Do not send cash.  Please note:  a $20.00 processing fee will be 
assessed for any payment returned by your bank, regardless of the reason.  If a pending application is 
older than one year from the date submitted and the applicant wishes to continue the application 
process, the Board shall require the applicant to submit a new application including the required fee. 
In order to complete the application process, many of the supporting documents associated with the 
application cannot be more than six months from the date of issuance.  

 

2. Part One - all applicants must complete.  Please note that all signatures must be original. 
 

3. Part Two –  
 

a. For those applicants that have at least 3 years of full time experience in the five years 
immediately preceding October 2, 2008, complete section A.  Sign and date the application 
in the presence of a notary.  Attach a curriculum vitae detailing your work experience.  
Include beginning and ending dates of employment, name of employer, and your specific job 
duties at that location.  You must have a total of 36 months of experience that took place after 
October 2, 2003. 

 

b. For those applicants that have 2,000 hours of supervised experience, complete section B.  
Sign and date your application.  Attach a curriculum vitae detailing your work experience.  
Include beginning and ending dates of employment, name of employer, and your specific job 
duties at that location.  Have your supervisor complete Part Three.  If you have had more than 
one supervisor for your 2,000 hours, complete a separate form for each supervisor. 

 

4. Part Three – Only for those applicants who choose option b in part two.  Have your supervisor fill in the 
number of hours that they supervised you, sign, date, and fill in their license number.  You must verify 
2,000 hours of supervision under a licensed supervising physical therapist.  Please note that all 
signatures must be original. 
 

5. The Bureau of Professional and Occupational Affairs (BPOA), in conjunction with the Department of 
Human Services (DHS), is providing notice to all health-related licensees and funeral directors that are 
considered “mandatory reporters” under section 6311 of the Child Protective Services Law (CPSL) (23 
P.S. § 6311), as amended, that EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2015, all persons applying for issuance of an 
initial license shall be required to complete 3 hours of DHS-approved training in child abuse recognition 
and reporting requirements as a condition of licensure.  Please review the Board website for further 
information on approved CE providers.  Once you have completed a course, the approved provider will 
electronically submit your name, date of attendance, etc., to the Board.  

Child Abuse Continuing Education Providers Information can be found here. 
 

http://www.dos.pa.gov/physther
http://www.dos.pa.gov/physther
http://www.dos.pa.gov/ProfessionalLicensing/BoardsCommissions/Pages/Act-31-Mandated-Child-Abuse-Recognition-and-Reporting-Continuing-Education-Providers.aspx
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APPLICATION  FOR  PHYSICAL THERAPIST ASSISTANT 
TO PRACTICE WITH INDIRECT SUPERVISION 

 
 
                   

PART ONE  - To be completed by applicant                               
  

PHYSICAL THERAPIST ASSISTANT LICENSE NUMBER:  _____________________________ 
      
 
NAME                                                                                                                                   DAYTIME PHONE _______________                          

       Last                                  First                                Middle                               Maiden 

 
ADDRESS __________________________________________________________________________________________                                                                              

Street                                                                                       City                                                         State         Zip Code 

 
SOCIAL SECURITY #                                          BIRTH DATE    _______________   _  EMAIL _______________________  
 

 
  

PART TWO  - To be completed by applicant 
 

A.  At Least 3 years of Practice as a Physical Therapist Assistant      
 

I have been employed full-time as a physical therapist assistant for at least three of the five years immediately preceding 
October 2, 2008.  I verify that the statements in this verification of experience/employment are true and correct to the best of my 

knowledge, information and belief. I understand that false statements are made subject to the penalties of 18 Pa. C.S. §4904 (relating 
to unsworn falsification to authorities) and may result in the suspension or revocation of my license. 

 
_____________________________________________________________________________________ 
Signature        Date 
 
          
  
           (Notary Seal) 
             

OR 
 

B. 2000 hours of experience (use multiple forms if more than one supervisor) 
 

I have at least 2,000 hours of experience providing patient-related acts and services.   I verify that the statements in this 

verification of experience/employment are true and correct to the best of my knowledge, information and belief. I understand that false 
statements are made subject to the penalties of 18 Pa. C.S. §4904 (relating to unsworn falsification to authorities) and may result in the 
suspension or revocation of my license. 

 
 ______________________________________________________________________________________ 
 Signature        Date 

 
PART THREE – Verification of experience for 2000 hours – To be completed by supervisor  

(must be completed for option B above) 
 

I have supervised the above physical therapist assistant and certify that he/she has completed at least ________ __hours of 
experience providing patient-related acts and services.  I verify that the statements in this verification of experience/employment are 
true and correct to the best of my knowledge, information and belief. I understand that false statements are made subject to the 
penalties of 18 Pa. C.S. § 4904 (relating to unsworn falsification to authorities) and may result in the suspension or revocation of my 
license.  
 
_________________________________________________________ _________________________________________________  
Signature of Supervisor     License Number      Date 
 
 

 

Printed name      State in which licensed 


