
Rev 4/15   

 
 

STATE BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY 
P. O. BOX 2649 

HARRISBURG, PA  17105-2649 
717-783-7134 

www.dos.pa.gov/physther 

 
 

APPLICATION  FOR  PHYSICAL THERAPIST 

CERTIFICATE OF AUTHORIZATION  TO TREAT BY  DIRECT ACCESS 

 

 

 

REQUIREMENTS  - 
 

1. Applicant holds a current license to practice physical therapy in Pennsylvania and such 

license has been (and must continue to be) maintained in good standing. 
 

2. Applicant has passed the national physical therapy examination.  If applicant passed  

the examination prior to 1990, a board approved course of at least 10 hours must be  
completed on the appropriate evaluative procedures to treat a person without a referral.   
The course must be completed within the 24 months immediately preceding the date of  
application.  Complete Part Four of the application and submit the required documentation. 

 

3. Applicant has practiced physical therapy in the delivery of patient care on a continuous 

basis for at least the two years (24 months) immediately preceding submission of this  
application. At least 200 hours of direct patient care in each 12 month period are required. 

 

4. Applicant is covered by professional liability insurance in the minimum amount required 
Section 9(b)(4)(iii.1)of the Physical Therapy Practice Act and Section 40.69 of the Board’s 

regulations.  See information on next page.  Coverage shall remain in effect as long as 

licensee has the certificate. 

 

INSTRUCTIONS  -   
 
 1. Print information requested in PARTS ONE through FOUR of the application and sign/date the 

“Verification” at bottom of page 2. 
 
 2. If your name appears differently on the application or documents, submit a copy of the 

official document which authorized the change. 
 

 3.  FEE: Submit a check or money order in the amount of $30.00 payable to  

"Commonwealth of Pennsylvania" with your completed, ORIGINAL application.  
Please Note:  If a pending application is older than one year from the date submitted and the 
applicant wishes to continue the application process, the Board shall require the applicant to 
submit a new application including the required fee. 
In order to complete the application process, many of the supporting documents associated 
with the application cannot be more than six months from the date of issuance.   

 

 4. ENCLOSURES:  Include documentation per instruction 2 and/or PART FOUR, if applicable. 
 

 5. MAIL TO:   State Board of Physical Therapy, P.O. Box 2649, Harrisburg, PA  17105-2649   
        OR for overnight delivery …..2601 North Third Street, Harrisburg, PA  17110.


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INFORMATION  - 
 

YOU MUST MAINTAIN A CURRENT PT LICENSE IN ORDER TO PRACTICE UNDER 

THE CERTIFICATE.  THE CERTIFICATE DOES NOT REPLACE YOUR PT LICENSE.
 

Required amounts of Professional Liability Insurance in the amount of $1,000,000 per 
occurrence/claim.  See Section 40.69 of the board’s regulations.

 

 

You may not begin practicing by direct access in Pennsylvania until a Certificate of 
Authorization has been issued.   Certificates expire on December 31 of each even year, as 

does your PT license.  Renewal notices are mailed 60-90 days prior to December 31. 
 

Separate renewals are mailed for the certificate and PT license, however the certificate cannot be renewed unless 

the PT license of the certificate holder is concurrently renewed.  As a condition of certificate renewal,  a PT shall   
have  completed  during the  preceding  biennium  (January 1 of odd year through December 31 of next even year),  a 

minimum of 30 contact (instructional) hours of physical therapy  CONTINUING EDUCATION (CE)  related to keeping  
the  certificate  holder  apprised  of  advancements  and  new  developments  in  the  practice  of the  physical  therapy  
profession.  At least 10 of the 30 hours shall be in evaluative procedures to treat a person without a referral.    

NOTE:  CE is NOT required as part of this application nor for the FIRST renewal of a certificate.   

The continuing education requirement must be completed by each certificate holder  

during the 24 months preceding the second and subsequent renewals of the certificate.   


 

 The Practice Act and Rules/Regulations of the Pennsylvania State Board of Physical 
Therapy are available through the Board office or on the board’s website at 
www.dos.pa.gov/physther.  See section 9 of the Practice Act for “direct access” provisions; 
(b) and (e) below are excerpts.  See sections 40.61-63 of the regulations. 

 

(b) Licensees who meet the standards set forth in this subsection may apply to the board for a certificate of 

authorization to practice physical therapy under this act without the required referral under subsection (a). A 

certificate of authorization to practice physical therapy without a referral under subsection (a) shall not authorize a 
physical therapist either to treat a condition in any person which is a nonneurologic, nonmuscular or nonskeletal condition 
or to treat a person who has an acute cardiac or acute pulmonary condition unless the physical therapist has consulted 
with the person's licensed physician, licensed physician assistant practicing under a written agreement, a certified 
registered nurse practitioner practicing under a collaborative agreement, a licensed dentist or licensed podiatrist 
regarding the person's condition and the physical therapy treatment plan or has referred the person to a licensed 
physician, physician assistant, nurse practitioner, dentist or podiatrist for diagnosis and referral. The certificate of 

authorization shall be issued only to licensed physical therapists practicing physical therapy. The certificate of 

authorization shall be displayed by the certificate holder in a manner conspicuous to the public. The renewal of 
the certificate of authorization shall coincide with the renewal of the license of the licensee.  
                      (e) A physical therapist may treat a person without a 

(c) A physical therapist may treat a person without a referral as provided for in subsection (b) for up to 30 days from 
the date of the first treatment. A physical therapist shall not treat a person beyond 30 days from the date of the first 
treatment unless he or she has obtained a referral from a licensed physician, physician assistant, nurse practitioner,  
dentist or podiatrist. The date of the first treatment for purposes of this subsection is the date the person is treated by any 
physical therapist treating without a referral. 

 
 

 Processing of your application may take in excess of 30 days following receipt by  

board office.  Certain applications may require review by the full Board. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

http://www.dos.pa.gov/physther
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STATE BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY 
P.O. BOX 2649 

HARRISBURG, PA  17105-2649 
(717) 783-7134  www.dos.pa.gov/physther 

 

APPLICATION FOR PHYSICAL THERAPIST 

CERTIFICATE OF AUTHORIZATION TO TREAT BY  DIRECT ACCESS 

 
APPLICATION  FEE  -  $30.00 Personal Check or Money Order made payable to "Commonwealth of Pennsylvania." 

Application fees are not refundable.  NOTE:  A processing fee of $20.00 will be charged for any check or money order 
returned unpaid by your bank, regardless of the reason for non-payment. If a pending application is older than one year from the 
date submitted online and the applicant wishes to continue the application process, the Board shall require the applicant to 
submit a new application including the required fee. 
In order to complete the application process, many of the supporting documents associated with the application cannot be more 
than six months from the date of issuance.  All background check documents cannot be older than 90 days from the date of 
issuance. 

 
 
 

PART ONE  - 
 

PHYSICAL THERAPIST LICENSE NUMBER:   
(PT license must be current/unexpired; NOT expired or inactive) 

 
 
NAME________________________________________________________________DAYTIME PHONE _______________ 

  Last  First  Middle  Maiden 

 
ADDRESS __________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Street      City    State  Zip Code 

 
SOCIAL SECURITY#______________________BIRTHDATE______________________EMAIL______________________ 
 
 

 

PART TWO  -  Practice of Physical Therapy in the Delivery of Patient Care      
 

 
My signature here _____________________ certifies that I have practiced physical therapy in the delivery 

of patient care on a continuous basis for at least the two years (24 months) immediately preceding this 

application.  I have delivered a minimum of 200 hours of direct patient care during each 12 month period. 

 
Below, provide dates of employment, name and ADDRESS of employer, position title and duties/responsibilities 

of each employment for the immediate past two years, to date.  Show experience for at least the 24 months 
immediately preceding submission of this application. 

 
Dates 

From / To 

Employer Name and ADDRESS Position Title Duties and Responsibilities of Direct Patient Care 

Mo. & Yr.    

 
Mo. & Yr.    

 

 

1 

     P T  0      
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PART THREE  -  Professional Liability Insurance   (See “Information” for required amounts) 
 

 

My signature here ________________________ certifies that I am covered by professional 

liability insurance in the minimum amount required by Section 9(b)(4)(iii.1)of the Physical Therapy 

Practice Act .  I will ensure that such coverage is maintained as long as I have the certificate. 

 
Provide information below. 

                                                                                           

   Name of  Carrier and POLICY / CERTIFICATE NO. 
                                                                 

               Period of Coverage 

                                                          

           Amount of Coverage 

 From:   

 

To: 

 

 

 

 
 

 

PART FOUR   -  I passed the national physical therapy examination in:  Month _____  Year_____  State _____ 
 

If you passed the examination prior to 1990, a course of at least 10 hours on appropriate evaluative 

procedures to treat a person without a referral, must have been completed during the 24 months immediately 

preceding the date of application.  Give details below and submit documentation showing course 

outline/objectives and a transcript/certificate verifying course completion.  
 

 

Name of  Provider Name of Course #  Hours  Date Completed 

    

 

 

 

 

VERIFICATION 
 
I verify that the statements in this application are true and  correct to the best of my knowledge, information 
and belief.  I understand that false statements are made subject to the penalties of 18 PA C.S.§ 4904 
relating to unsworn falsification to authorities and may result in the suspension or revocation of my certificate 

of authorization.  I verify that I have read and am familiar with the  Pennsylvania Physical Therapy 

Practice Act and regulations of the State Board of Physical Therapy (see www.dos.pa.gov/physther).  I 
will comply with all provisions of Section 9 of the Practice Act and Board regulations §40.61, 40.62 and 40.63 

regarding “direct access”.  I verify that this form is in the original format as supplied by the Department of 
State and has not been altered or otherwise modified in any way.  I am aware of the criminal penalties for 

tampering with public records or information pursuant to 18 Pa. C.S. section 4911. 
 
__________________________  _________________________  _________________ 

Printed Name of Applicant  Signature of Applicant   Date 
 

 

- 2 - 

 

http://www.dos.pa.gov/physther

